重要演辭、資料及新聞稿



購買知識產權資本開支的利得稅扣稅範圍擴闊

   《2018年稅務(修訂)(第5號)條例》(《修訂條例》)今日(六月二十九日)刊憲並即日生效。《修訂條例》把企業購買知識產權的資本開支的利得稅扣稅範圍,由五類知識產權增至八類,適用於二○一八/一九起的課稅年度。

   有關措施涉及的新增三類知識產權是集成電路的布圖設計(拓樸圖)、植物品種和表演的權利。原有就購買知識產權資本開支可獲扣稅的五類知識產權類別為專利、工業知識、版權、註冊外觀設計和註冊商標。

   商務及經濟發展局的發言人說:「擴闊利得稅扣稅範圍是我們採取的多項措施之一,以鼓勵企業投入發展知識產權貿易相關業務,以及推動香港成為亞太區內知識產權貿易中心。透過《修訂條例》落實上述措施,將為我們的有關工作注入新動力。」

   此外,《修訂條例》亦把知識產權註冊開支的扣稅範圍,由原有只涵蓋商標、設計及專利,擴闊至包括植物品種權利。

   《修訂條例》於六月二十日獲立法會通過。扣稅範圍是次擴闊後,企業購買各主要類別的知識產權所招致的資本開支,以及根據相關適用制度註冊知識產權的開支,均可按《稅務條例》(第112章)獲得扣稅。

2018年6月29日(星期五)
香港時間11時00分

Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases



Scope of tax deductions for capital expenditure incurred for purchase of intellectual property rights expanded

     The Inland Revenue (Amendment) (No. 5) Ordinance 2018 (the Amendment Ordinance) was gazetted and came into operation today (June 29) to expand the scope of profits tax deductions for capital expenditure incurred by enterprises for the purchase of intellectual property (IP) rights from five types to eight with effect from the year of tax assessment 2018/19.

     The additional three types of IP rights involved are rights in layout design (topography) of integrated circuits, plant varieties and performances. The original five types of IP rights for which profits tax deductions have already been provided for the capital expenditure incurred for their purchase are patents, know-how, copyright, registered designs and registered trade marks.

     "The expansion of the scope of profits tax deductions is one of our initiatives to encourage enterprises to engage in the development of IP trading business and promote Hong Kong as an IP trading hub in the Asia-Pacific region. Implementation of this initiative through the Amendment Ordinance would add new impetus to our efforts," a spokesman for the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau said.

     The Amendment Bill also expands the scope of tax deductions originally provided for the registration expenses for trade marks, designs and patents, to cover plant variety rights as well.

     The Amendment Ordinance was passed by the Legislative Council on June 20. With the expansion in the scope of tax deductions provided therein, capital expenditure incurred by enterprises for the purchase of various major types of IP rights, as well as the expenses for the registration of IP rights under applicable regimes, would be deductible under the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112).

Ends/Friday, June 29, 2018
Issued at HKT 11:00