重要演辭、資料及新聞稿



第二階段《廣播條例》及《電訊條例》檢討公眾諮詢今日展開

   政府今日(十一月二十八日)公布就《廣播條例》及《電訊條例》第二階段檢討展開為期三個月的公眾諮詢。是次檢討旨在就改善電訊規管架構提出建議,為第五代流動通訊(5G)及物聯網科技的來臨作好準備,進一步便利電訊業在香港發展。

   商務及經濟發展局(商經局)發言人說:「5G的來臨將為電訊業帶來新一浪的革新,大大促進物聯網和智能通訊平台的大規模應用。我們必須及早準備就緒,確保相關規管架構能夠配合。」

   他續說:「我們在進行檢討時,參考了一些運作經驗,以及營辦商和其他持份者的回應和意見。總體而言,我們認為自電訊市場於二○○三年全面開放以來,現行規管各類電訊服務的架構大致有效,無須就相關法例作出重大修訂。儘管如此,仍有空間推行措施,配合電訊科技的最新發展。」

   政府在諮詢文件中,在「迎接5G及物聯網科技的來臨」及「便利業界營商」兩個主題下提出以下四項建議措施:

迎接5G及物聯網科技的來臨
-------------

1. 規管5G及物聯網時代下裝置的電訊功能

   在不久將來,除了專門的電訊設備及裝置(例如固網電話、傳真機及流動電話),其他日常生活物件均可配備電訊功能。它們可以互相連接及通訊,因此有需要就各種物聯網裝置的電訊功能進行規管。經檢討後,政府認為物聯網裝置的電訊功能應繼續由《電訊條例》規管,並建議將通訊事務管理局(通訊局)的規管權力及職責集中在電訊設備和5G及物聯網裝置的電訊功能(即電訊網絡的完整性及兼容性,以及管制非電離電磁輻射的水平);這些設備及裝置的非電訊功能(例如電力及其他安全範疇)則由其他適當的相關專項法例規管。

2. 保護地下電訊基建設施   

   香港的地下空間滿布電話線和光纖電纜,是組成電訊網絡基建設施的重要一員;隨着5G服務即將來臨和各式智慧城市應用的普及,電訊基建設施的完整性倍加重要。因此,政府建議在《電訊條例》訂立新的刑事法律責任,以阻遏因疏忽而導致地下電訊設施損毀。如有關人士遵守通訊局公布的相關業務守則或指引,可以作為被控觸犯擬議罪行的免責辯護。

便利業界營商
------

3. 簡化發出非傳送者牌照

   為便利業界在5G時代盡快推出創新服務,政府建議簡化在現行法例下發出非傳送者牌照的機制,即賦權商務及經濟發展局局長透過在憲報刊登公告,而無須透過在《電訊條例》附表1指明該等非傳送者牌照。在新機制下,發出非傳送者牌照將不涉及修訂附屬法例。新措施有利電訊市場迅速發展,以迎接新科技和新應用服務的來臨。

4. 改善《電訊條例》下的上訴機制

   現時的電訊市場日趨複雜和活躍、發展亦更為快速,電訊營辦商期望有更具成本效益和更有效的途徑,表達他們對某些規管決定的不滿。政府經檢討後,建議改善《電訊條例》下的上訴安排,成立獨立上訴委員會,處理通訊局所作出的某些決定。政府將參考現行的電訊(競爭條文)上訴委員會,制訂擬議上訴委員會的組成和運作細節。

   有關以上修訂建議的詳情,可參考公眾諮詢文件(www.cedb.gov.hk/ccib/chi/paper/pdf/BOTOReview_2(chi).pdf)。

   《廣播條例》及《電訊條例》的檢討分兩階段進行。第一階段有關廣播規管架構檢討的公眾諮詢已於二○一八年五月完成,持份者大致上支持更新規管架構的建議方向,政府的目標是在二○一九年向立法會提交修訂條例草案,以落實放寬建議。

   第二階段檢討有關電訊規管架構的公眾諮詢將於二○一九年二月二十七日結束,政府的目標是在二○一九年向立法會提交修訂條例草案。

   市民可透過電郵BOTOReview2@cedb.gov.hk、傳真(2351 2791)或郵寄(香港添馬添美道2號政府總部西翼21樓)向商經局(通訊及創意產業科)條例檢討小組提交意見。

2018年11月28日(星期三)
香港時間14時06分

Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases



Public consultation on phase two of review on Broadcasting Ordinance and Telecommunications Ordinance launched

   The Government today (November 28) launched a three-month public consultation on phase two of the review on the Broadcasting Ordinance (BO) and the Telecommunications Ordinance (TO). The review aims to set out proposals pertaining to the improvement of the telecommunications regulatory framework to prepare for the arrival of Fifth Generation Mobile Communications (5G) and Internet of Things (IoT) technologies, and to facilitate the development of the telecommunications industry in Hong Kong.

   "The next big wave of telecommunications evolution is the arrival of 5G, which empowers massive adoption of IoT and smart communication platforms. We need to ensure that our regulatory framework is 5G-ready," a spokesman for the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau said.

   "In conducting the review, we have made reference to our operational experience, as well as feedback and comments received from operators and other stakeholders. We are satisfied that overall, the existing framework is generally effective in regulating various services since the full liberalisation of the telecommunications market in 2003. While fundamental changes to our legislation are not required, there is room to introduce measures to keep pace with the latest developments in telecommunications technologies," the spokesman added.

   In the consultation document, the Government proposes the following four measures under two themes, namely, "Embracing the Arrival of 5G and IoT Technologies" and "Trade Facilitation":

Embracing the arrival of 5G and IoT technologies
-------------------------------------------------------

1. Regulation of telecommunications functions of devices in the 5G and IoT era

   In the near future, in addition to dedicated telecommunications equipment and devices (e.g. land-line telephones, fax machines and mobile handsets), other things in our daily life can potentially be equipped with telecommunications functions. They can be connected to and communicate with one another. There is a need to regulate the telecommunications functions of various IoT devices. After review, the Government considers that the telecommunications functions of IoT devices should continue to be regulated by the TO and proposes that the Communications Authority (CA)'s regulatory powers and duties should focus on the telecommunications functions of telecommunications equipment and 5G and IoT devices (i.e. integrity of and compatibility with telecommunications networks and the level of non-ionising electromagnetic radiation), whereas the non-telecommunications functions of such equipment and devices (e.g. electrical and other general safety aspects) should be regulated by their respective dedicated legislation as appropriate.

2. Protection of underground telecommunications infrastructure

   In Hong Kong, underground spaces are packed with telephone lines and optical fibre cables that constitute essential infrastructure of our telecommunications network. With the imminent arrival of 5G services and more extensive use of smart city applications, the integrity of our telecommunications infrastructure will become even more crucial. In this connection, the Government proposes to create new criminal offences under the TO against negligent damage to underground telecommunications facilities. Compliance with relevant codes of practice or guidelines promulgated by the CA shall constitute a defence to a charge under the proposed offences.

Trade facilitation
-------------------------------------------------------

3. Simplifying the issue of non-carrier licences

   To facilitate the timely introduction of innovative services in the 5G era, the Government proposes to simplify the existing mechanism for issuing non-carrier licences by empowering the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development to publish a notice in the Gazette to specify non-carrier licences instead of specifying these non-carrier licences under Schedule 1 to the TO. Under the new mechanism, the issue of non-carrier licences will not involve subsidiary legislation amendment procedures. The new measure will be conducive to the rapid development of the telecommunications industry in embracing new technologies and new applications.

4. Improving the appeal mechanism under the TO

   In today's increasingly complex, vibrant and fast-developing telecommunications market, telecommunications operators would expect more cost-effective and efficient means to redress their grievances against certain regulatory decisions. After the review, the Government proposes to improve the appeal functions under the TO by establishing an independent appeal board to deal with certain decisions by the CA. Reference will be made to the existing Telecommunications (Competition Provisions) Appeal Board in mapping out the composition and modus operandi of the proposed appeal board.

   For details of the above legislative amendment proposals, please refer to the consultation document (www.cedb.gov.hk/ccib/eng/paper/pdf/BOTOReview_2(eng).pdf).

   The review on the BO and the TO is being conducted in two phases. The public consultation on phase one on the review of the broadcasting regulatory framework was completed in May 2018. Stakeholders in general supported the direction of the proposals to update the regulatory framework. The Government aims to introduce an amendment bill into the Legislative Council (LegCo) in 2019 to give effect to the relaxation proposals presented in the public consultation.

   The public consultation on phase two on the review of the telecommunications regulatory framework will close on February 27, 2019. The Government aims to introduce an amendment bill into the LegCo in 2019.

   Members of the public may send in their views direct by email to BOTOReview2@cedb.gov.hk, by fax to 2351 2791 or by post to the Ordinance Review Team, Commerce and Economic Development Bureau (Communications and Creative Industries Branch), 21/F, West Wing, Central Government Offices, 2 Tim Mei Avenue, Tamar, Hong Kong.

Ends/Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Issued at HKT 14:06