重要演辞、资料及新闻稿



立法会十四题:规管个人护理产品和化妆品的成分及标签

   以下是今日(六月二十七日)在立法会会议上蒋丽芸议员的提问和商务及经济发展局局长邱腾华的书面答复:

问题:

   据报,有一些在本港出售的洁面乳产品含有欧盟已禁用的色素,而过往有防晒霜及染发剂被分别验出含有致癌的类雌激素和致敏成分。另一方面,现时在本港出售的个人护理产品和化妆品只须符合《消费品安全条例》(第456章)的「一般安全规定」。就此,政府可否告知本会:

(一)当局会否参考欧盟或国际通用的相关做法,制订适用于个人护理产品及化妆品的产品安全标准,以加强保障消费者;如会,详情为何;如否,原因为何;及

(二)鉴于市面上有一些个人护理产品及化妆品没有标示成分或只以原产地语言(非中文或英文)标示成分,而该等产品可能含有可引致过敏甚至致命的成分,当局会否修改法例,规定该等产品必须附有中英文成分标签,以加强保障消费者?

答复:

主席:

   就问题的两个部分,经谘询食物及卫生局,现回复如下:

(一)一般在香港市面出售供私人使用的消费品,包括个人护理产品及化妆品,如不受其他法例规管,其产品安全均受《消费品安全条例》(第456章)(《条例》)及其附属法例《消费品安全规例》(第456A章)(《规例》)所监管。根据《条例》,制造商、入口商及供应商必须确保有关消费品符合「一般安全规定」。所谓「一般安全规定」,即消费品的制造商、进口商及供应商有责任确保有关消费品达到合理的安全程度;而确定消费品是否达到合理的安全程度,须考虑所有情况,包括就该消费品所采用的任何标记,及就该消费品的存放、使用或耗用所给予的指示或警告;和由标准检定机构或类似机构就该消费品所属的消费品类别,或就与该类别的消费品有关事宜所公布的合理安全标准。

   香港海关(海关)负责《条例》的执法工作。就个人护理产品及化妆品安全的规管,海关会按照《条例》考虑相关的合理安全标准,当中包括由欧盟、美国及内地发布的标准或规定,以确定产品是否达到合理的安全程度。如发现有不安全的产品,海关会采取适当的执法行动,以保障消费者。

(二)欧盟、美国及内地发布的有关标准或规定均有规定个人护理产品及化妆品须标示有关有碍健康成分的警告标签。另外,《规例》订明,所有标记或标签上载有关于货品的安全存放、使用、耗用或处置的警告或警诫字句必须以中文及英文表达,且须是清楚可读的。

   为确保在市面上出售的个人护理产品及化妆品符合《条例》及《规例》的相关规定,海关除了积极调查投诉外,亦会主动巡查批发及零售商,试购产品进行测试,并会密切留意相关报道以及由有关产品安全组织所发出的警示,在有需要时会寻求卫生署的意见,研究有关货品对人体健康的影响程度及所涉及的风险,以采取适当的执法行动,包括发出禁制通知书或回收通知书,以及作出检控等。

   此外,如个人护理产品及化妆品符合《药剂业及毒药条例》(第138章)中所订明的「药剂制品」的定义,有关产品必须符合有关安全、品质及成效方面的要求,并获药剂业及毒药管理局注册,才可以合法在本港销售。

   另外,含有苯二胺、甲苯二胺或其他烷化苯二胺或其盐类的染发制剂,则属《药剂业及毒药条例》下的第2部毒药,只可在「获授权毒药销售商」(俗称注册药房)及「列载毒药销售商」(俗称药行)的注册处所销售,在销售时有关染发制剂亦须遵从《药剂业及毒药条例》中的相关标签要求,包括在容器上展示毒药的名称及其在该制剂全部成分中所占比例,以及附有「注意:此药可使某些人士皮肤严重发炎,须照专家指示使用。」的警告字句等。

   如产品符合《中医药条例》(第549章)定义的「中成药」,必须先经香港中医药管理委员会辖下中药组注册,方可进口、在本港制造和销售。中成药要获得注册,必须符合该委员会订定有关安全、品质及成效方面的要求。

   卫生署为确保药剂制品及中成药的安全及品质,设有恒常监测机制,从市面抽取样本进行化验。卫生署亦设有药物不良事件呈报系统,并对呈报的事件进行风险分析、管理及通报。对于不合规格的药剂制品或中成药,卫生署可能采取的行动包括要求药商回收药品、对药商作出检控及转介相关委员会作跟进,以及发出新闻公告。

2018年6月27日(星期三)
香港时间14时30分

Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases



LCQ14: Regulation of ingredients and labelling of personal care products and cosmetics

     Following is a question by the Dr Hon Chiang Lai-wan and a written reply by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau, in the Legislative Council today (June 27):

Question:

     It has been reported that some facial cleansing products available for sale in Hong Kong contain dyes that have been banned by the European Union (EU). In the past, some sunscreen lotions and hair dye products were found after tests to contain estrogenic endocrine disruptors which were carcinogenic and allergens respectively. On the other hand, personal care products and cosmetics for sale in Hong Kong are now required to comply only with "the general safety requirement" in the Consumer Goods Safety Ordinance (Cap 456). In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(1) whether the authorities will, by making reference to the relevant practices applied in EU or internationally, formulate product safety standards applicable to personal care products and cosmetics, so as to enhance the protection for consumers; if so, of the details; if not, the reasons for that; and

(2) as some personal care products and cosmetics available in the market either do not have their ingredients labelled or have their ingredients labelled only in the language of the place of origin (neither Chinese nor English), and those products may contain ingredients that may cause allergies or even deaths, whether the authorities will amend the legislation to require that those products must have their ingredients labelled in both Chinese and English, so as to enhance the protection for consumers?

Reply:

President,

     Having consulted the Food and Health Bureau, my reply to the two parts of the question is as follows:

(1) The safety of consumer goods which are ordinarily supplied for private use or consumption in Hong Kong, including personal care products and cosmetics, if not covered by other legislation, is subject to the regulation of the Consumer Goods Safety Ordinance (Cap 456) (CGSO) and its subsidiary legislation, Consumer Goods Safety Regulation (Cap 456A) (CGSR). According to the CGSO, manufacturers, importers and suppliers should ensure that the consumer goods comply with the "general safety requirement", which means that they are reasonably safe. In determining whether consumers goods are reasonably safe, one should have regard to all of the circumstances, including the use of any mark in relation to the consumer goods and instructions or warnings given for the keeping, use or consumption of the consumer goods; and reasonable safety standards published by a standards institute or similar body for consumer goods of the description which applies to the consumer goods or for matters relating to consumer goods of that description.

     Customs and Excise Department (C&ED) is responsible for enforcing the CGSO. For regulating the safety of personal care products and cosmetics, C&ED will, in accordance with the CGSO, consider relevant reasonable safety standards, including the standards or requirements published by the European Union, the United States and the Mainland to determine whether a product is reasonably safe. If unsafe products are found, C&ED will take appropriate enforcement actions to protect consumers.

(2) The relevant standards or regulations published by the European Union, the United States and the Mainland all require that personal care products and cosmetics be marked with precautions if they contain ingredients with health hazards. Besides, CGSR stipulates that, where consumer goods are marked with any warning or caution with respect to their safe keeping, use, consumption or disposal, such warning or caution should be in both the English and the Chinese languages, as well as legible and conspicuous.

     To ensure that personal care products and cosmetics available for sale in the market comply with relevant requirements under the CGSO and CGSR, in addition to investigating into complaints, C&ED will proactively conduct spot checks on wholesalers and retailers and test-purchase products for testing. C&ED will also monitor relevant reports as well as alerts issued by organisations related to product safety. When necessary, C&ED will seek advice from the Department of Health (DH) to examine the products' impact on human health and the risks involved in order to take appropriate enforcement actions, including the issue of prohibition notices or recall notices and initiating prosecution.

     Moreover, personal care products and cosmetics which fall within the definition of "pharmaceutical products" under the Pharmacy and Poisons Ordinance (Cap 138) (PPO), must satisfy the criteria of safety, quality and efficacy and be registered with the Pharmacy and Poisons Board before they can be legally sold in Hong Kong.

     In addition, hair dye preparations containing phenylne diamines, toluene diamines or other alkylated benezene diamines or their salts are Part 2 poisons under the PPO and should only be sold at registered premises of Authorized Sellers of Poisons (commonly known as pharmacies or dispensaries) or Listed Sellers of Poisons (commonly known as medicine companies). When selling these hair dye preparations, they are also required to comply with the relevant labelling requirements under the PPO including displaying the name of the poison on the container and its proportion in the total composition of the preparation, together with the text of "Caution. This preparation may cause serious inflammation of the skin in certain persons and should be used only in accordance with expert advice.", etc.

     Products which fall within the definition of proprietary Chinese medicines under the Chinese Medicine Ordinance (Cap 549) must fulfil the requirements set by the Chinese Medicine Council of Hong Kong (CMCHK) in terms of safety, quality and efficacy, and be registered with the Chinese Medicines Board under the CMCHK before they can be imported, locally manufactured and sold.

     To ensure the safety and quality of pharmaceutical products and proprietary Chinese medicines, DH has put in place a regular market surveillance system under which samples of these products are regularly collected from the market for testing. DH has also established a mechanism for adverse incident reporting relating to drugs and Chinese medicines, so as to conduct risk assessment, management and reporting. If substandard pharmaceutical products or proprietary Chinese medicines are found, DH may take actions such as requesting the traders concerned to recall the products, prosecuting the traders concerned and referring the cases to the relevant board/council for follow-up actions, and issuing relevant press statements.

Ends/Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Issued at HKT 14:30