重要演辞、资料及新闻稿



26吉赫及28吉赫频带内频谱指配安排公众谘询展开

   商务及经济发展局(商经局)局长连同通讯事务管理局(通讯局)今日(七月二十六日)就以行政方式指配26吉赫(24.25 - 27.5吉赫)及28吉赫(27.5 - 28.35吉赫)频带内4 100兆赫的频谱以提供包括第五代(5G)流动服务的公共流动服务的建议,以及就征收频谱使用费的建议安排,展开公众谘询。

   通讯局同时公布二○一八至二○二○年频谱供应表的最新版本,当中包括额外供应在6吉赫以下200兆赫的频谱以提供5G服务。

   通讯局发言人说:「连同早前公布在3.5吉赫频带内200兆赫的频谱,我们会于二○一九/二○二○年在多条频带提供合共4 500兆赫的新频谱,用以提供5G服务。这将会是现时指配作提供公共流动服务的552兆赫频谱的八倍,使香港成为全球首个释出这般大量频谱支持5G服务发展的经济体系。香港将可推出新一代的电讯服务,抓紧新的市场机遇,并能利便各项由5G服务推动的创新智慧城市发展。」

26吉赫及28吉赫频带
—————————

   发言人续说:「考虑到在26吉赫及28吉赫频带的频谱供应充足、这些高频带的技术特性,以及业界较早前就提交意向书邀请所给予的回应,我们认为这两条频带的频谱很可能没有竞争性的需求。因此,以行政方式指配相关频谱是适当的做法。」

   发言人补充:「新频谱可提供足够频宽,支援速度高达每秒20吉比特的极高速流动数据传输,并可在本港任何地点使用和提供服务。」

   26吉赫及28吉赫频带是上月公布的5G标准所支援的最低频毫米波频带。适合在这两个频带内操作并符合5G标准的设备和装置预计会于明年陆续在市场推出。为尽早在香港推出5G服务,通讯局建议由二○一九年四月一日起,把整条26吉赫及28吉赫频带编配予流动服务,与该频带内的固定服务及固定卫星服务(地对空)一同作为主要用途。届时,26吉赫频带内的现有频谱指配将已腾空。

   通讯局亦建议在26吉赫及28吉赫频带内的4 100兆赫频谱中,指配3 300兆赫至3 700兆赫的频谱作在本港提供大规模的公共5G服务,而每家营办商最多可获指配800兆赫的频谱。该两条频带内余下的400兆赫至800兆赫的频谱,则建议指配予有兴趣在指定地点(例如大学校园、工业邨、科技园或机场)提供5G服务的机构以共用模式使用有关频谱,而每家营办商最多可获指配400兆赫的频谱。此项共用安排旨在扩阔5G服务的范畴,增加可供选择的服务供应商,以及促进创新5G应用的发展。

   频谱使用费方面,商经局发言人表示:「因应通讯局建议以行政方式指配26吉赫及28吉赫频带频谱,商经局局长建议若有关频谱少于百分之七十五被指配或占用,无须征收频谱使用费。」

   「只有在有关频带出现拥挤(即有百分之七十五或以上被占用),并预期将会变得更为拥挤的情况下,方须征收频谱使用费。」

   参考现行以行政方法指配的频谱征收频谱使用费计划下征收的其他频谱使用费,商经局局长建议,倘达到上述百分之七十五的门槛,指配作大规模公共5G服务的频谱使用费为每年每兆赫二万一千六百元,而指配作提供指定地点服务的频谱使用费则为每年每兆赫一千零八十元。

   谘询文件可经以下连结于通讯局和商经局网站下载:
www.coms-auth.hk/filemanager/en/content_711/cp20180726_e.pdf(只提供英文版本)
www.cedb.gov.hk/ccib/chi/paper/pdf/cp20180726_e.pdf

   欢迎业界及其他持份者在二○一八年八月二十二日或之前提供意见。经考虑公众谘询所收到的看法和意见后,商经局局长和通讯局的目标,是在二○一八年年底或之前分别作出决定,并邀请有关人士提交指配26吉赫及28吉赫频带频谱的申请,以期由二○一九年四月一日起开始使用上述频谱提供5G服务。

在6吉赫以下的新增5G频谱
—————————

   通讯局同时公布,将会额外释出200兆赫的频谱作公共流动服务用途。上述频谱位于4.9吉赫频带(4.83 - 4.93吉赫)(可在全港使用)和3.3吉赫频带(3.3 - 3.4吉赫)(只供室内使用)。两条频带均适合在香港提供大范围复盖的公共流动服务,当中包括5G服务。

   二○一八至二○二○年最新频谱供应表可于通讯局网站下载:www.coms-auth.hk/filemanager/tc/content_613/spectrum_plan2018_c.pdf

   同时,商经局局长与通讯局计划在二○一八年第三季就3.3吉赫和4.9吉赫频带频谱的编配和指配建议,以及征收频谱使用费的建议安排进行另一次公众谘询。这些新频带内的频谱预计约于二○一九年年中进行指配。

2018年7月26日(星期四)
香港时间14时50分

Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases



Public consultation on assignment arrangements of spectrum in 26 GHz and 28 GHz bands launched

     The Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (SCED) and the Communications Authority (CA) today (July 26) jointly launched a public consultation on the proposal to administratively assign 4 100 MHz of spectrum in the 26 GHz (24.25 - 27.5 GHz) and 28 GHz (27.5 - 28.35 GHz) bands for the provision of public mobile services including fifth generation (5G) mobile services, and the proposed arrangements for charging spectrum utilisation fee (SUF).

     The CA also announced an updated Spectrum Release Plan for 2018 - 2020 where an additional 200 MHz of spectrum below 6 GHz would be made available for the provision of 5G services.

     "Together with the 200 MHz of spectrum in the 3.5 GHz band announced earlier, a total of 4 500 MHz of new spectrum in multiple frequency bands will be made available for use in 2019/2020 for the provision of 5G services, which amounts to eight times the existing 552 MHz of spectrum assigned for the provision of public mobile services. This makes Hong Kong the first economy in the world to release such a significant amount of spectrum to support the development of 5G services. Hong Kong will be well placed to launch a new generation of telecommunications services, to capture new market opportunities and to facilitate innovative smart city applications powered by 5G services," a spokesman for the CA said.

26 GHz and 28 GHz bands
—————————

     "Taking into account the ample supply of spectrum in the 26 GHz and 28 GHz bands, the technical characteristics of these high frequency bands and the feedback from the industry in response to an earlier invitation for expression of interest, we take the view that there are unlikely to be competing demands for spectrum in these bands. We consider it appropriate to assign the spectrum concerned administratively," the spokesman continued.

     "The new spectrum can provide sufficient bandwidth for delivery of ultra high speed mobile data transmission up to 20 gigabits per second and be deployed for service provision in any locations in Hong Kong," the spokesman added.

     The 26 GHz and 28 GHz bands are the lowest millimetre-wave bands supported by the 5G standard announced last month. It is expected that 5G standard compliant equipment and devices operating in these bands will gradually be available in the market next year. To enable early launch of 5G services in Hong Kong, the CA proposes to allocate the entire 26 GHz and 28 GHz bands to mobile service on a co-primary basis with fixed service and fixed satellite service (Earth-to-space) with effect from April 1, 2019, by which time the existing assignments in the 26 GHz band will be vacated.

     The CA also proposed that among the 4 100 MHz of spectrum in the 26 GHz and 28 GHz bands, 3 300 MHz to 3 700 MHz of spectrum will be assigned for the provision of large-scale public 5G services in Hong Kong and each operator will be assigned not more than 800 MHz of spectrum. The remaining 400 MHz to 800 MHz of spectrum in the two frequency bands is proposed for assignment to entities interested in providing 5G services in specified geographical locations with the use of the spectrum on a shared basis, such as in university campuses, industrial estates, technology parks or the airport. Each operator will be assigned not more than 400 MHz of spectrum. The sharing arrangement aims to widen the scope of 5G services, increase the choice of service suppliers, and facilitate the development of innovative 5G applications.

     On the SUF, a spokesman for the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau (CEDB) said, "In view that the CA proposes to administratively assign the spectrum in the 26 GHz and 28 GHz bands, SCED proposes not to charge any SUF if less than 75 per cent of the spectrum in these frequency bands has been assigned or occupied.

     "A SUF will be chargeable only if the frequency bands become congested (i.e. 75 per cent or more occupied) and are anticipated to become more congested in the future."

     Making reference to other SUF levied under the existing SUF charging scheme for spectrum assigned administratively, SCED proposes to set the level of SUF at $21,600 per MHz per annum for spectrum to be assigned for provision of large-scale public 5G services; and at $1,080 per MHz per annum for specified geographical location services if the 75 per cent threshold is reached.

     The consultation paper can be downloaded from the websites of the CA and the CEDB at the links below:
www.coms-auth.hk/filemanager/en/content_711/cp20180726_e.pdf
www.cedb.gov.hk/ccib/eng/paper/pdf/cp20180726_e.pdf.

     Views from the industry and other stakeholders are welcome on or before August 22, 2018. After taking into account the views and comments received in response to the public consultation, SCED and the CA aim at finalising their respective decisions and inviting applications for assignment of spectrum in the 26 GHz and 28 GHz bands by the end of 2018, so that the spectrum can be deployed for the provision of 5G services starting from April 1, 2019.

Additional 5G spectrum below 6 GHz
—————————

     The CA also announced the release of an additional supply of 200 MHz of spectrum for public mobile services. This spectrum is in the 4.9 GHz band (4.83 - 4.93 GHz band) (for territory-wide use) and the 3.3 GHz band (3.3 - 3.4 GHz band) (limited to indoor use). Both frequency bands are suitable for providing extensive coverage of public mobile services, including 5G services, in Hong Kong.

     The updated Spectrum Release Plan for 2018 - 2020 can be downloaded from the CA’s website
(www.coms-auth.hk/filemanager/en/content_613/spectrum_plan2018_en.pdf).

     Meanwhile, SCED and the CA plan to conduct another public consultation in the third quarter of 2018 on the proposed arrangements for the allocation and assignment of the spectrum in the 3.3 GHz and 4.9 GHz bands, as well as for charging SUF. Spectrum in these new frequency bands is expected to be available for assignment around mid-2019.

Ends/Thursday, July 26, 2018
Issued at HKT 14:50