Speeches and Presentations

SCED to attend Mainland/HK Science and Technology Co-operation Committee meeting

The Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mrs Rita Lau, will leave for Beijing tomorrow (September 24) to attend the fourth meeting of the Mainland/Hong Kong Science and Technology Co-operation Committee on Friday (September 25).

The meeting will be co-chaired by Mrs Lau and the Vice-Minister of Science and Technology of the Central People's Government, Mr Cao Jianlin, aiming to review the major work progress since the third meeting and discuss the focus of Mainland-Hong Kong technological collaboration for the coming year.

The committee was set up under the "Agreement on the Establishment of the Mainland and Hong Kong Science and Technology Co-operation Committee" signed in 2004. It comprises senior representatives or officials designated by the two sides. It is tasked to organise and co-ordinate technology exchange and collaboration activities between the two places, such as formulating technology collaboration programmes; facilitating interaction among the governments, research institutions and enterprises; and fostering commercialisation of research and development results and technology transfer to the industry.

The Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Technology), Mr Duncan Pescod, and the Commissioner for Innovation and Technology, Miss Janet Wong, will also attend the meeting.

Mrs Lau will return to Hong Kong on Friday evening.

Wednesday, September 23, 2009