Banner Picture
Publications and Press Releases
Press Releases
spacer file

Appointments to Radio Television Hong Kong Board of Advisors announced

   The Government announced today (August 5) that the Chief Executive has appointed Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung as the Chairman of the Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK) Board of Advisors (BoA), as well as six new members and seven serving members, for a new term of two years with effect from September 1, 2016.

   The six newly appointed members are Mr Leslie Ching Pui-wai, Ms Helen Kwan Po-jen, Mr Douglas Lam Tak-yip, Mr Lee Luen-fai, Professor Wong Kam-fai and Dr Yeung Law Koon-chui.

   The Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, welcomed the appointments. "Dr Chan has served on the Board for many years. He has good knowledge of the work of RTHK. With his rich experience in public services, I am fully confident that Dr Chan would work together the members of the BoA to offer valuable advice to the Board in accordance with the Charter of RTHK," he said.

   Mr So also welcomed the new members and said he was confident that their professional knowledge and rich experience would be conducive to the work of the BoA.

   Mr So thanked the outgoing Chairman, Mr Lester Garson Huang, and the five outgoing members who have served on the BoA for six years, namely Miss Lisa Marie Djeng Kar-yee, Mr Ringo Lam Wing-kwan, Mr Tavier Lau Chi-kuen, Mr Maurice Lee Wai-man and Ms Marisa Yiu.

  "Since the establishment of the BoA in 2010, Mr Huang has led the BoA and offered invaluable advice to RTHK. I sincerely thank Mr Huang and other outgoing members for their contributions to the work of the BoA in the past six years," he said.

   The full membership of the RTHK BoA commencing September 1, 2016, is as follows:

Non-official members
Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung (Chairman)
Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok
Ms Mimi Cheung Yee-may
Mr Leslie Ching Pui-wai
Mr Robert Chua Wah-peng
Mohan Datwani
Mr Mohan Datwani
Ms Anna Hung Wing-chee
Ms Helen Kwan Po-jen
Mr Douglas Lam Tak-yip
Mr Lee Luen-fai
Dr Carol Ma Hok-ka
Mr Jimmy Ng Wing-ka
Professor Wong Kam-fai
Dr Yeung Law Koon-chui

Ex officio member
Director of Broadcasting

Ends/Friday, August 5, 2016
Issued at HKT 11:07