Banner Picture
Publications and Press Releases
Press Releases
spacer file

Appointments to Hong Kong Film Development Council

The Government today (March 25) announced that the Chief Executive had appointed 22 non-official and two ex officio members to the Hong Kong Film Development Council (HKFDC) for the term from April 1, 2011, to March 31, 2013.

The 22 non-official members consist of 17 current non-official members and five new appointees. Mr Jack So Chak-kwong and Mr Peter Lam Kin-ngok will continue to serve as Chairman and Vice-chairman of the HKFDC respectively in the new term. The newly appointed non-official members are Mr Albert Cheng Jinghan, Ms Mak Hei-yan, Mr Edmond Pang Ho-cheung, Ms Tsang Lai-fun and Ms Vicky Wong Wai-kei.

Mr Cheng is a media veteran. Over the years, he has held various key positions in the publishing, electronic and online media, including chairmanship of the former Society of Hong Kong Publishers, and has been a radio and TV programme host. He was Chairman of the 2nd Hong Kong Film Awards Organising Committee. During his tenure as a Legislative Councillor, he served as the Chairman of the Panel on Information Technology and Broadcasting.

Ms Mak is a young and aspiring film director and script writer. In 2008, her debut feature film "High Noon" was selected as one of the Films of Merit at the Hong Kong Film Critics Society Awards. Her second feature film "EX" was selected as one of the Closing Films for the 34th Hong Kong International Film Festival in 2010.

Mr Pang is a new-generation film director. He received the Best New Director Award at the 2004 Hong Kong Film Awards for the film "Men Suddenly in Black"; the Silver Bear for Best Film Music at the 2006 Berlin International Film Festival for the film "Isabella"”; and the Best Recommended Film and Best Director honours from the Hong Kong Film Directors' Guild in 2011 for the film "Love in a Puff".

Ms Tsang is the founder of a Hong Kong independent film distribution company renowned for its diverse lineup of mainstream entertainment, art-house gems and "Asian new cinema" for theatrical and video releases in Hong Kong, and also a world sales agent for selected independent local productions. She is best known for transforming modest-scale productions into box office hits, e.g. "Ring", "Iron Ladies" and "Quill".

Ms Wong has an established career in film programming and theatre management, and chairs the Hong Kong Theatres Association Limited. A veteran of over 15 years in mainstream commercial film programming for theatrical distribution in Hong Kong, Ms Wong is also known to be supportive of non-mainstream independent film programming organised by non-profit film organisations.

The Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Technology) will continue to be the ex officio Vice-chairman of HKFDC. The Executive Director of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council or his representative is re-appointed as the other ex officio member. The Secretary for Home Affairs or his representative will attend HKFDC meetings on a need rather than standing basis.

The HKFDC was set up in 2007 as a non-statutory and advisory committee to replace the former Film Development Committee. Comprising mainly members of the film industry, the HKFDC gives advice to the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development on relevant policies and activities, including manpower training, Mainland and overseas promotion, and film support.

The membership of the HKFDC from April 1, 2011, will be as follows:

Mr Jack So Chak-kwong (Chairman)
Mr Peter Lam Kin-ngok (Vice-chairman)
Mr Gordon Chan Ka-seung
Mr Chan Wing-mei
Mr Albert Cheng Jinghan
Ms Mabel Cheung Yuen-ting
Mr John Chu Ka-yan
Mr Felix Fong Wo
Mr Crucindo Hung Cho-sing
Ms Terry Lai Siu-ping
Ms Mak Hei-yan
Mr Ng See-yuen
Mr Edmond Pang Ho-cheung
Mr John Sham Kin-fun
Ms Nansun Shi
Ms Yvonne Shing Mo-han
Mr Suen Kwok-lam
Ms Tsang Lai-fun
Mr Wong Chi-keung
Mr Raymond Wong Pak-ming
Ms Vicky Wong Wai-kei
Mr Wong Ying-wai

Ex officio members

Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Technology) (Vice-chairman)
Executive Director of Hong Kong Trade Development Council or his representative
Friday, March 25, 2011