重要演辭、資料及新聞稿



就900兆赫和1800兆赫頻帶頻譜現有指配期屆滿後安排及頻譜使用費的第二輪諮詢

  通訊事務管理局(通訊局)及商務及經濟發展局局長就900兆赫和1800兆赫頻帶內的200兆赫頻譜(900/1800兆赫頻譜)在現有指配期屆滿後的重新指配安排及相關頻譜使用費的釐定方法,今日(二月十四日)發出諮詢文件(第二份諮詢文件),以展開第二輪公眾諮詢。

  有關的900/1800兆赫頻譜包括900兆赫頻帶內的50兆赫頻寬頻譜和1800兆赫頻帶內的150兆赫頻寬頻譜。

  有關的900/1800兆赫頻譜佔已指配予業界的552兆赫頻譜總量的百分之三十六,現用作提供第二代、第三代及第四代(2G、3G及4G)流動服務。現時指配予四家流動網絡營辦商(營辦商)的900/1800兆赫頻譜,將於二○二○年十一月至二○二一年九月期間屆滿。

  在二○一六年二月三日至五月十八日進行的首輪公眾諮詢中,通訊局列出三個重新指配頻譜方案,以收集公眾的看法和意見。有關方案分別為完全行政指配模式、完全市場主導模式,以及混合模式。在首輪公眾諮詢中,通訊局已表明會選擇一個最能達致頻譜管理的四個目標的方案,即(甲)確保客戶服務得以延續、(乙)善用頻譜、(丙)促進有效競爭,以及(丁)鼓勵投資和推廣創新服務。

  通訊局經考慮所收到的三百二十五份意見書及其委聘顧問就服務質素進行研究(顧問研究)所得的結果,並根據相關法定條文和政府公布的《無線電頻譜政策綱要》評估有關方案能否達致頻譜管理的四個目標後,現建議採納行政指配兼市場主導的混合方案(混合方案)重新指配900/1800兆赫頻譜,以進行第二輪公眾諮詢。有關方案的要點如下:

(一)四家現有頻譜受配者當中,每家將獲賦予優先權重新指配1800兆赫頻帶內2 x 10兆赫的頻譜(優先權頻譜)。換言之,共有2 x 40兆赫(即80兆赫)或百分之四十的900/1800兆赫頻譜將會列作優先權頻譜;

(二)1800兆赫頻帶內餘下的70兆赫頻寬頻譜及900兆赫頻帶內全數共50兆赫頻寬的頻譜將以拍賣方式指配。換言之,至少有總數2 x 60兆赫(即120兆赫)或百分之六十的900/1800兆赫頻譜會撥作拍賣;以及

(三)若有任何現有頻譜受配者決定不接受上述(一)中的優先權頻譜,有關的頻譜將會與上述(二)中所述的120兆赫頻譜匯集成為「拍賣頻譜」。

  通訊局發言人稱:「確保4G服務在某部分港鐵範圍內得以延續,以及2G服務用戶在二○二一年重新指配頻譜生效後不會受到負面影響,構成凌駕性公共政策考慮因素,使政府在重新指配頻譜時局部偏離《無線電頻譜政策綱要》所訂明的完全市場主導模式。選擇以混合方案重新指配900/1800兆赫頻譜作為進一步諮詢的基礎,是因為該模式最能達致重新指配頻譜的多重目標。」

  通訊局在提出上述的混合方案時,已充分考慮收集到的意見(包括來自業界的意見書),並因而對原本的建議作出以下修訂,以回應意見書中提出的事宜:

(一)把指配予各現有頻譜受配者的優先權頻譜數量調高至2 x 10兆赫,以回應營辦商對在部分港鐵站及相鄰隧道區域(港鐵範圍)繼續維持4G服務的關注;並由於有關地點的綜合無線電系統設備仍未升級至支援頻率捷變功能,不能有效地應對各營辦商之間的頻譜重組,加上有關地點的4G服務仍主要由1800兆赫頻帶內的頻譜傳送;

(二)按照現有頻譜受配者的要求,把有關受配者目前在1800兆赫頻帶內所佔用的相同頻槽以優先權頻譜方式指配予他們,從而減少或避免重新配置綜合無線電系統內互連點的需要;因為有關工程或會妨礙在二○二一年重新指配頻譜生效後港鐵範圍內4G服務的延續性;以及

(三)按照現有頻譜受配者的意見,不採用第一份諮詢文件內所建議的有關在重新指配頻譜生效後提供為期三年2G服務的固定時間表;取而代之引入新的規定,要求營辦商於淘汰2G服務前,須事先取得通訊局的同意,並為受影響客戶作出令通訊局滿意的安排。

  至於相關頻譜使用費的釐定方法,商務及經濟發展局局長認為在政策上以及根據《無線電頻譜政策綱要》,當通訊局認為非政府服務提供者很可能對頻譜有競爭性的需求時,當局應採用市場主導的模式來管理頻譜。由市場透過一個具競爭的競投過程而決定的頻譜使用費,能充分反映頻譜的市場價值,旨在確保頻譜作為有限的公共資源,可以指配予最重視和最能善用頻譜的營辦商。

  經考慮以上原則、第一輪公眾諮詢收到的意見,以及通訊局採用混合方案指配頻譜的建議後,商務及經濟發展局局長建議:

(一)位於900兆赫及1800兆赫頻帶的「拍賣頻譜」的頻譜使用費應通過拍賣釐定,並設有拍賣底價;以及

(二)位於1800兆赫頻帶的優先權頻譜的頻譜使用費應定於1800兆赫頻帶「拍賣頻譜」的平均頻譜使用費,並設有最低行使價及上限。

  第二份諮詢文件建議900兆赫及1800兆赫頻帶內「拍賣頻譜」的拍賣底價的釐定方法,將會以最近兩次頻譜拍賣(於二○一三及二○一四年舉行)的拍賣底價為基準。文件亦建議優先權頻譜最低行使價及上限的釐定方法,有關方法會參考最近兩次頻譜指配(於二○一三及二○一四年舉行)中頻譜使用費的水平。

  第二份諮詢文件可在下列通訊局和商務及經濟發展局的網站下載:

www.coms-auth.hk/filemanager/en/content_711/cp20170213_e.pdf(只提供英文版本)
www.cedb.gov.hk/ccib/eng/paper/pdf/900_1800MHz_Spectrum_second_consultation.pdf(只提供英文版本)

  顧問研究的報告《關於在現有指配期屆滿後重新指配900兆赫和1800兆赫頻帶頻譜的技術研究》亦於今日發布,並可於以下網站下載:
www.ofca.gov.hk/filemanager/ofca/common/reports/consultancy/cr_201702_01_en.pdf(只提供英文版本)

  通訊局及商務及經濟發展局局長現邀請電訊業界和其他受影響人士在二○一七年四月二十四日或之前,就第二份諮詢文件中所建議的重新指配頻譜安排及相關頻譜使用費進一步發表意見。

  為了讓現有頻譜受配者就其現有900/1800兆赫頻譜的指配可能出現的變動有足够的事先通知,通訊局和商務及經濟發展局局長在完成諮詢後,預計將會在二○一七年年底左右,公布各自就重新指配頻譜安排及相關頻譜使用費的決定。

2017年2月14日(星期二)
香港時間12時47分

Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases



Second consultation on arrangements for 900/1800 MHz spectrum upon expiry of existing assignments and spectrum utilisation fee

     The Communications Authority (CA) and the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (SCED) today (February 14) launched the second round of public consultation on the proposed arrangements for the re-assignment of 200 MHz of frequency spectrum in the 900 MHz and 1800 MHz bands (900/1800 MHz Spectrum) upon expiry of the existing assignments and the proposed method for setting the related spectrum utilisation fee (SUF) with the issue of a consultation paper (Second Consultation Paper).

     The 900/1800 MHz Spectrum consists of 50 MHz of spectrum in the 900 MHz band and 150 MHz of spectrum in the 1800 MHz band.

     The 900/1800 MHz Spectrum, accounting for 36 per cent of the 552 MHz of spectrum already assigned to the industry, is currently deployed for the provision of the second, third and fourth generation (2G, 3G and 4G) mobile services. The existing assignments of the 900/1800 MHz Spectrum to the four mobile network operators (MNOs) are due to expire between November 2020 and September 2021.

     In the first round of public consultation conducted between February 3 and May 18, 2016, the CA put forth three spectrum re-assignment options for views and comments. They are the full-fledged administratively assigned approach, full-fledged market-based approach and the hybrid approach. The CA has made it clear in the first public consultation that it will choose the option that would best meet the four objectives in spectrum management, viz (a) ensuring customer service continuity; (b) efficient spectrum utilisation; (c) promotion of effective competition; and (d) encouragement of investment and promotion of innovative services.

     Having considered the 325 submissions received and the findings of a consultancy study on service quality (Consultancy Study) it had commissioned, and having evaluated, in accordance with the relevant statutory provisions and the Radio Spectrum Policy Framework promulgated by the Government, the options against the four objectives in spectrum management, the CA proposes, for the purpose of the second round of public consultation, that a hybrid administratively assigned cum market-based approach (Hybrid Approach), comprising the following elements, should be adopted for the re-assignment of the 900/1800 MHz Spectrum, viz:

(a) 2 x 10 MHz of spectrum in the 1800 MHz band to be re-assigned to each of the four incumbent spectrum assignees through the offer of right of first refusal (RFR Spectrum). That is to say, a total of 2 x 40 MHz, i.e. 80 MHz, or 40 per cent of the 900/1800 MHz Spectrum, to be offered as the RFR Spectrum;

(b) the remaining 70 MHz of spectrum in the 1800 MHz band and all the 50 MHz of spectrum in the 900 MHz band to be assigned by way of auction. That is to say, at least a total of 2 x 60 MHz, viz 120 MHz, or 60 per cent of the 900/1800 MHz Spectrum to be auctioned; and

(c) any spectrum which may become available arising from the decision of any incumbent spectrum assignee to not take up the RFR Spectrum under (a) above will be pooled together with the 120 MHz of spectrum mentioned in (b) above to form the "Auctioned Spectrum".

     "The needs to safeguard the provision of 4G service at certain MTR premises and to ensure no adverse impact upon 2G service subscribers post spectrum re-assignment from 2021 onwards constitute the overriding public policy reasons for deviating partially from the full-fledged market-based approach for spectrum re-assignment as stipulated under the Radio Spectrum Policy Framework. The Hybrid Approach for the re-assignment of the 900/1800 MHz Spectrum is chosen as the basis for further consultation as it best meets the multiple objectives in spectrum re-assignment," a spokesman for the CA said.

     In putting forward the above Hybrid Approach, the CA has given due regard to the submissions received, including those from the industry, and has accordingly made the following adjustments to the original proposal so as to address the issues raised:

(a) adjusting upward the quantum of the RFR Spectrum to 2 x 10 MHz to each of the incumbent spectrum assignees, in response to MNOs' concern over maintaining 4G service continuity at such MTR stations and adjoining tunnel areas where the integrated radio systems (IRS) equipment is not yet upgraded with frequency agile functionality to cater efficiently for spectrum reshuffling among MNOs and where the 4G traffic is primarily carried by spectrum in the 1800 MHz band (MTR Premises);

(b) assigning, as per their request, the same slots in the 1800 MHz band the incumbent spectrum assignees currently occupy as the RFR Spectrum, in order to minimise or obviate the need for reconfiguring the points of interconnection in the IRS which might affect the 4G service continuity at MTR Premises post spectrum re-assignment from 2021 onwards; and

(c) dispensing with, as per the views of the incumbent spectrum assignees, the fixed three-year timeline in 2G service provision post spectrum re-assignment as proposed in the first consultation paper, and introducing instead a new requirement for MNOs to seek the prior consent of the CA and make satisfactory arrangements for the affected customers before the phasing out of 2G services.

     As for the method for determining the relevant SUF, the SCED considers that as a matter of policy and in accordance with the Radio Spectrum Policy Framework, a market-based approach in spectrum management will be used wherever the CA considers that there are likely to be competing demands from providers of non-government services for the spectrum. An SUF that reflects the full market value of the spectrum, as determined by the market through a competitive bidding process, seeks to ensure that spectrum, being a scarce public resource, is put into the hands of those who value it the most and who will consequently put it to the most efficient use.

     Having regard to the above principle, the views received in the first public consultation, and the CA's proposal to adopt the Hybrid Approach, the SCED proposes that:

(a) for the "Auctioned Spectrum" in the 900 MHz and 1800 MHz bands, the SUF should be determined by auction, subject to an auction reserve price; and

(b) for the RFR Spectrum in the 1800 MHz band, the SUF should be set at the average SUF of the "Auctioned Spectrum" in the 1800 MHz band, subject to a minimum price and a cap.

     The Second Consultation Paper sets out the proposed methodology for setting the auction reserve price for the "Auctioned Spectrum" in the 900 MHz and 1800 MHz bands by benchmarking against the auction reserve prices of the two most recent spectrum auctions conducted in 2013 and 2014. The paper also proposes the methodology for setting the minimum price and cap for the RFR Spectrum by making reference to the levels of SUF determined in the two most recent spectrum assignments conducted in 2013 and 2014.

     The Second Consultation Paper can be downloaded from the websites of the CA and the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau at the links below:

www.coms-auth.hk/filemanager/en/content_711/cp20170213_e.pdf
www.cedb.gov.hk/ccib/eng/paper/pdf/900_1800MHz_Spectrum_second_consultation.pdf

     The report of the Consultancy Study entitled "Technical Study in relation to the Re-assignment of Spectrum in the 900 MHz and 1800 MHz Band upon Expiry of the Existing Assignments" was also published today and is available at:

www.ofca.gov.hk/filemanager/ofca/common/reports/consultancy/cr_201702_01_en.pdf

     The CA and the SCED invite further views from the telecommunications industry and other affected persons on the arrangements for spectrum re-assignment and the related SUF proposed in the Second Consultation Paper on or before April 24, 2017.

     After completion of the consultation, in order to give sufficient advance notice to the incumbent spectrum assignees on possible variation to their existing assignments of the 900/1800 MHz Spectrum, the CA and the SCED will endeavour to announce their respective decisions on the arrangements for spectrum re-assignment and the related SUF around the end of 2017.

Ends/Tuesday, February 14, 2017
Issued at HKT 12:47