重要演辭、資料及新聞稿



商務及經濟發展局局長在世貿第十一次部長級會議呼籲世貿成員達成共識

  商務及經濟發展局局長邱騰華今日(布宜諾斯艾利斯時間十二月十一日)在阿根廷布宜諾斯艾利斯出席世界貿易組織(世貿)第十一次部長級會議時表示,過去二十二年,世貿最能有效地避免貿易戰發生,各成員應積極參與會議的最後階段的討論,務求令是次會議圓滿成功,惠及各方。

  邱騰華在會議的全體大會上說:「雖然面對挑戰,但談判能夠改善守則,帶來更佳的市場准入,從而惠及所有成員,故世貿成員不應放棄談判。我們亦要確保世貿在全球瞬息萬變的貿易環境中保持其職能。」

  他表示,成員若能就電子商貿、便利投資和中小微企業等議題的未來工作達成共識,會議便能取得成功。他續說,香港期望加強服務貿易下本地法規的談判,履行《服務貿易總協定》的授權。

  在全體大會會議舉行期間,邱騰華亦出席了有關服務貿易下的本地法規和電子商貿的會議。

  邱騰華在討論服務貿易下的本地法規的會議上指出,本地法規亦是香港的首要關注議題。香港認為就本地法規制訂多邊規則十分重要,這能確保香港貿易夥伴所作的具體承諾的真正商業價值不會因欠缺透明度及/或不必要的限制貿易的本地法規而被削弱。

  他續說:「一套本地法規守則能有效抗衡保護主義措施。香港必定會與各方合作,進一步收窄成員間的分歧,為履行《服務貿易總協定》的授權所進行的談判鋪路。」

  在有關電子商貿的會議上,邱騰華呼籲各世貿成員建立規則,以期在多邊貿易制度下推動電子商貿。透過建立多邊貿易規則,世貿可創造一個更具透明度和便利電子商貿的環境,促進全球貿易。

  他說:「一如既往,香港樂意與各世貿成員通力合作,推進電子商貿在世貿下的討論。」

  邱騰華明日(布宜諾斯艾利斯時間十二月十二日)會以部長級會議副主席的身分,主持全體大會會議。

2017年12月12日(星期二)
香港時間8時35分

Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases



SCED calls on WTO Members to reach consensus at 11th WTO Ministerial Conference

     The World Trade Organization (WTO) has remained the best option to keep trade war at bay for the past 22 years, and all members should play a constructive role in the final discussions to make the 11th WTO Ministerial Conference a success for everyone, said the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau, at the 11th WTO Ministerial Conference in Buenos Aires, Argentina, today (December 11, Buenos Aires time).

     Speaking at the plenary session of the conference, Mr Yau said, "Despite the strong headwind, WTO Members should not give up on negotiations which can bring about improved disciplines and better market access for the benefit of all. We must also ensure that the WTO remains relevant to the evolving global trading environment."

     It would be no small achievement if Members could reach a consensus on the future work over a number of topics such as e-commerce, investment facilitation and micro, small and medium enterprises, said Mr Yau, adding that Hong Kong looks forward to seeing the negotiations on domestic regulations in services trade intensified and the mandate under the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) fulfilled.

     Alongside the plenary session, Mr Yau attended meetings on domestic regulation for services trade and e-commerce.

     Speaking at the meeting on domestic regulation for services trade, Mr Yau pointed out that domestic regulation is also a top priority for Hong Kong and Hong Kong considers it important to develop multilateral disciplines for domestic regulation to ensure that the real commercial value of its trading partners' specific commitments would not be undermined by opaque and/or unnecessarily trade-restrictive domestic regulation.

     He added, "A set of domestic regulation disciplines is also a key safeguard against protectionist measures. Hong Kong will certainly work with others to further narrow the gaps among Members and pave the way for real negotiations as mandated under the GATS."

     During the meeting on e-commerce, Mr Yau urged Members to develop disciplines to promote e-commerce in the multilateral trading system. Through establishing multilateral trade rules, the WTO can create a more transparent and facilitating e-commerce environment to promote global trade.

     "As always, Hong Kong stands ready to work constructively with Members to advance discussions on e-commerce under the WTO," he said.

     Mr Yau will convene meetings of the plenary sessions tomorrow (December 12, Buenos Aires time) as the Vice Chair of the Ministerial Conference.

Ends/Tuesday, December 12, 2017
Issued at HKT 8:35