重要演辭、資料及新聞稿



《旅遊業條例草案》三月十日刊憲

  政府今日(三月八日)宣布,《旅遊業條例草案》(條例草案)將於三月十日在憲報刊登。

  條例草案旨在成立獨立法定機構旅遊業監管局(旅監局),為旅行代理商、導遊及領隊的發牌制度及規管訂立法律框架。

  政府發言人說:「條例草案為成立旅監局提供法律基礎,以全面且公正地規管旅行代理商、導遊及領隊。我們的政策目標,是提升旅遊業界的專業水平,並且促進行業健康長遠發展。」

  「我們在擬訂條例草案時,一直與旅遊業界及其他持份者保持溝通。我們在過程中力求取得平衡,既要減低對守法的旅遊業界人士的影響,亦要打擊不良行為,以維護旅遊業界及旅客的利益。」

  條例草案的主要範疇如下:

(一)旅監局會是獨立法定規管機構,其成員以非旅遊業界人士佔大多數,以樹立公正形象。條例草案會引入制衡措施,例如設立獨立上訴委員團,以處理針對旅監局的決定或紀律制裁命令的上訴;

(二)條例草案會加強旅行代理商的發牌制度,包括引入以銀行擔保的形式繳存保證金、委任獲授權代表等要求;

(三)條例草案會為導遊及領隊設立法定發牌制度,以提升業界前線從業員的服務質素及專業水平;

(四)條例草案會賦權旅監局透過附屬法例制訂牌照條件,特別用以打擊強迫購物的問題;

(五)旅監局會推行現行的旅遊業賠償基金,向外遊旅客提供保障。此外,賠償基金會撥出某百分比的款額,以成立「旅遊業發展基金」,向旅遊業界提供資助,推動行業持續發展;及

(六)當新規管制度全面生效時,旅監局會分別從旅行代理商註冊處及香港旅遊業議會(旅議會),接管發牌及規管業界的職能。屆時所有現行旅行代理商牌照,以及由旅議會發出的導遊證及領隊證,均會被視為在新法例之下發出的牌照,直至有關牌照及證件屆滿,或新規管制度生效日期後三個月(以日期較後者為準)。

  至於新規管框架之下的其他細節,將由旅監局日後透過附屬法例及行政措施制訂。過程中,旅監局會充分與旅遊業界磋商。

  條例草案擬於三月二十二日提交立法會首讀及二讀。

  政府會繼續全力支持旅議會在新規管框架成立前的行業規管工作。在旅監局成立後,政府及該局會與旅議會保持緊密溝通,協助業界持續發展。

2017年3月8日(星期三)
香港時間14時15分

Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases



Travel Industry Bill to be gazetted on March 10

     The Government announced today (March 8) that the Travel Industry Bill will be published in the Gazette on March 10.

     The Bill seeks to provide for the establishment of an independent statutory body, the Travel Industry Authority (TIA), and the legislative framework for the licensing and regulation of travel agents, tourist guides and tour escorts.

     A Government spokesperson said, "The Bill will provide legal backing for setting up the TIA to regulate travel agents, tourist guides and tour escorts in a holistic and impartial manner. Our policy objectives are to enhance the professionalism of the travel trade and foster the healthy long-term development of the industry.

     "When formulating the Bill, we have been maintaining dialogue with the travel trade and other stakeholders. During the process, we have strived to strike a balance by reducing the impact on law-abiding travel trade members on one hand, while combating unscrupulous acts to protect the interests of the travel trade and tourists on the other."

     The key areas of the Bill are as follows:

(a) The TIA will be an independent statutory regulatory body, of which non-travel trade members will be in the majority to establish an impartial image. The Bill will put in place checks and balances, such as establishing an independent appeal panel to handle appeals against the TIA's decisions or disciplinary orders;

(b) The Bill will strengthen the licensing regime for travel agents with new requirements of depositing guarantee money by bank guarantee, appointing authorised representatives, etc;

(c) The Bill will establish a statutory licensing regime for tourist guides and tour escorts to enhance the service quality and professionalism of front-line trade practitioners;

(d) The Bill will empower the TIA to formulate licence conditions through subsidiary legislation, particularly to tackle problems in relation to coerced shopping;

(e) The TIA will run the current Travel Industry Compensation Fund (TICF) to offer protection to outbound travellers. Furthermore, funds of a certain percentage of the TICF will be set aside to set up the Travel Industry Development Fund to provide funding support for the travel trade to facilitate the continuous development of the industry; and

(f) Upon the full commencement of the new regulatory regime, the TIA will take up the licensing and trade regulatory roles from the Travel Agents Registry and the Travel Industry Council of Hong Kong (TIC) respectively. All existing travel agent licences, as well as tourist guide passes and tour escort passes issued by the TIC by then will be taken to be licences issued under the new ordinance until they expire, or three months after the commencement date of the new regulatory regime, whichever is the later.

     Other details under the new regulatory framework will be formulated by the TIA through subsidiary legislation and administrative measures. During the process, the TIA will maintain thorough discussion with the travel trade.

     The Bill will be introduced into the Legislative Council for First and Second Readings on March 22.

     The Government will continue to fully support the TIC's trade regulatory work before the new regulatory framework takes effect. After the establishment of the TIA, the Government and the TIA will maintain close liaison with the TIC to support the continuous development of the trade.

Ends/Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Issued at HKT 14:15