Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases

Government announces appointments to Hong Kong Tourism Board

     The Government today (February 26) announced appointments to the Hong Kong Tourism Board (HKTB).

     Dr Peter Lam Kin-ngok is re-appointed as the Chairman and a member of the HKTB for three years from April 1, 2016, to March 31, 2019.

     Ms Jeny Yeung Mei-chun is newly appointed as a member for two years from March 1, 2016, to February 28, 2018.

     "Under the leadership of Dr Lam in the past three years, the HKTB scaled new heights and has effectively promoted Hong Kong as a world-class travel destination in the midst of keen competition and an unstable environment," the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, said when announcing the appointments.

     "We welcome Ms Yeung to join the Board. With her experience in the business sector, we are confident that Ms Yeung will help the HKTB in enhancing Hong Kong's position as a premier tourist destination."

     Mr So added, "We would also like to thank Ms Winnie Ng Wing-mui, the outgoing member, for her contribution to the work of the Board in the past six years."

     Appointments to the HKTB are made by the Financial Secretary under section 9 of the Hong Kong Tourism Board Ordinance, under authority delegated by the Chief Executive.

Ends/Friday, February 26, 2016
Issued at HKT 11:30