重要演辭、資料及新聞稿



政府與香港迪士尼樂園度假區公布擴建及發展計劃

  政府今日(十一月二十二日)公布,與華特迪士尼公司就香港迪士尼樂園度假區(樂園)的擴建及發展計劃已達成原則性協議;在樂園的第一期用地進一步擴建樂園,會為本地及海外旅客提供更多備受歡迎的設施,提升樂園的競爭力,以及增加香港作為首選旅遊目的地的吸引力。

  商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑在聯合記者會上說:「政府的旅遊政策目標是促使香港旅遊業健康、持續及向高增值發展。」

  他說:「樂園是具國際實力、潛力及競爭力的旅遊項目。因應政府發展旅遊業的政策目標,以及提升香港的競爭力以面對亞太區內日益加劇的競爭,我們認為現在是合適的時機在樂園推行大型、有序的擴建和發展計劃,以吸引更多高消費、過夜及不同市場旅客訪港,令本港旅遊相關的行業受惠。」

  蘇錦樑指出,擴建及發展計劃有助樂園進一步開拓本地、東南亞及內地旅客市場。計劃會運用樂園第一期已平整的土地,有助確保各項擴建工程早日啟動,為香港帶來經濟效益,並創造就業。而雙方亦同意繼續保留及探討樂園第二期的發展,作為樂園的長期發展計劃。迪士尼預計計劃的建造工程可創造大約3 500個職位,計劃完成後亦可在樂園內額外提供600個等同全職的職位。計劃更可望為香港整體帶來約5 000個職位,並逐步增至約8 000個職位。此外,擴建及發展計劃以四十年的運作期計算,預計可為香港帶來額外381億元至416億元的經濟淨值。

  擴建及發展計劃會由二○一八年開始至二○二三年,期間差不多每年陸續推出新的吸引旅客元素。華特迪士尼公司會運用它現時最受歡迎和最具發展潛力的電影故事主角,配合最新的科技及機動遊戲設施系統,提升整個樂園的格局,為旅客提供最優質及最難忘的體驗。

  在擴建及發展計劃完成後,樂園的園區數目會由七個增加至九個,而設施的總數則會由約110項增加至超過130項,當中包括成為全球迪士尼樂園之中首個能夠同時擁有分別以「魔雪奇緣」及「漫威英雄」為主題,讓旅客仿如置身在電影情節之中的新園區。計劃亦會為樂園的現有城堡換上煥然一新的面貌。

  在財務安排方面,樂園的雙方股東,即政府及華特迪士尼公司,將注入擴建及發展計劃所需的109億元新資本,按現有的股權比率注資「香港國際主題樂園有限公司」,即政府注資58億元(53%),華特迪士尼公司注資51億元(47%)。完成注資後,雙方股東的股權比率不變。

  蘇錦樑說:「按照我們與華特迪士尼公司的協議,政府就擴建及發展計劃所注資的金額最多為58億元。華特迪士尼公司有信心於計劃預算內完成工程。」

  樂園自二○○五年開業的首十年,已接待了超過5 800萬旅客人次,亦為本港帶來重要的經濟效益。樂園首十年的訪客在港的額外消費達1 360億元。這些額外消費令香港的本地生產總值合共增加了749億元,佔整體本地生產總值的0.38%,可見樂園為香港帶來相當大的經濟效益。樂園同期亦為香港整體創造195 700個職位,為前線員工和本港旅遊業界創造不少就業機會。

  政府將於下星期一(十一月二十八日)向立法會經濟發展事務委員會介紹擴建及發展計劃,並在稍後向立法會財務委員會提交有關的撥款申請。

2016年11月22日(星期二)
香港時間16時40分

Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases



Government and Hong Kong Disneyland Resort announce expansion and development plan

     The Government announced today (November 22) that it has reached an in-principle agreement with the Walt Disney Company (TWDC) on the expansion and development plan at the Phase 1 site of Hong Kong Disneyland Resort (HKDL) to further expand the resort to provide more popular facilities for local and overseas visitors. The expansion and development plan will enhance the competitiveness of HKDL and the attractiveness of Hong Kong as a premier tourist destination.

     Speaking at the joint press conference, the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, said, "The Government's policy objective on tourism is to foster its development in a healthy, sustainable and high value-adding manner.

     "HKDL is a tourism project with international edge, potential and competitiveness. In line with the Government's policy objective on tourism development, and to enhance Hong Kong's competitiveness amid the intensifying competition in the Asia-Pacific region, we consider that it is the right opportunity to take forward a large-scale and progressive expansion and development plan at HKDL. This would attract more high-spending and overnight visitors from more diversified market sources, hence benefitting the tourism-related industries in Hong Kong," he said.

     Mr So pointed out that the expansion and development plan can help HKDL further cultivate the local, southeast Asia and Mainland markets. The plan would make use of the land at the Phase 1 site of HKDL, where land formation works have been completed to enable timely commencement of the expansion works for bringing economic benefits to Hong Kong and creating jobs opportunities as early as possible. Both sides also agree to continue to keep and explore the Phase 2 development of HKDL as its long-term development plan. Disney estimates that the construction works of the expansion plan could create about 3 500 jobs, and another 600 full-time equivalent jobs could be provided in the park after completion of the expansion. The plan is expected to bring a total of about 5 000 jobs to Hong Kong’s economy, which would progressively increase to about 8 000 jobs. Over a 40-year operation period, it is anticipated that the expansion and development plan could bring an additional net economic value of $38.1 billion to $41.6 billion to Hong Kong.

     The expansion and development plan will run from 2018 until 2023, during which new attractions for visitors will be launched progressively almost every year. TWDC will make use of its most popular and attractive movie characters together with the latest technology and amusement rides system to elevate the whole HKDL and to offer visitors the best and most unforgettable experience.

     Upon the completion of the expansion and development plan, the total number of themed areas in HKDL will increase from 7 to 9, and the total number of attractions will increase from about 110 to over 130. It will be the first Disney theme park globally to feature immersive themed areas using both the properties of "Frozen" and "Marvel Super Heroes". The plan will also transform the castle currently in HKDL.

     Regarding the financial arrangements, the two shareholders, namely the Government and TWDC, will in total inject $10.9 billion as new capital necessary for the expansion and development plan into Hongkong International Theme Parks Limited based on the current shareholding ratios. In other words, the Government will inject $5.8 billion (53 per cent), while TWDC will inject $5.1 billion (43 per cent) for the expansion plan. The shareholding ratio will remain unchanged after the capital injection.

     Mr So said, "According to our agreement with the TWDC, the capital injection by the Government for the expansion and development plan will be capped at 5.8 billion. TWDC is confident that the works will be completed within budget."

     HKDL received over 58 million visitors during the first 10 years since its opening in 2005, bringing substantial economic benefits to Hong Kong. During this period, its guests have made additional spending of up to $136 billion in Hong Kong. Such additional spending brought an additional $74.9 billion to the gross domestic product (GDP) in Hong Kong, equivalent to 0.38 per cent of Hong Kong's GDP, demonstrating the huge economic benefits that HKDL has brought to Hong Kong. A total of 195 700 jobs were also created over the same period, providing considerable job opportunities for frontline workers and the tourism industry in Hong Kong.

     The Government will brief the Panel on Economic Development of the Legislative Council (LegCo) on the details of the expansion and development plan next Monday (November 28). It will also make a submission to the LegCo Finance Committee later on for funding approval.

Ends/Tuesday, November 22, 2016
Issued at HKT 16:40