重要演辭、資料及新聞稿



立法會五題:推動「一帶一路」的工作

  以下是今日(六月一日)在立法會會議上張華峰議員的提問和商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑的答覆︰

問題:

  絲綢之路經濟帶和21世紀海上絲綢之路(簡稱「一帶一路」)是國家近兩年提出的跨國經濟合作概念。行政長官在本年的《施政報告》中表示,會成立「一帶一路」督導委員會(下稱「督導委員會」)和「一帶一路」辦公室(下稱「辦公室」)。前者負責制訂香港參與「一帶一路」的策略和政策,後者則負責推動研究工作,統籌協調相關政府部門及本地機構,與中央部委、各省市政府聯絡。此外,亞洲基礎設施投資銀行(下稱「亞投行」)是「一帶一路」策略的重要一環。政府表示會委派官員以中國代表團成員身分出席亞投行的會議及參與籌備成立亞投行的工作,以至借調專家到亞投行,以支援其運作。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)督導委員會及辦公室的籌備工作有甚麼進展;辦公室的籌備工作由哪個政府部門負責,以及該部門如何處理有關的協調和統籌工作;政府參與籌備成立亞投行的工作進展為何;

(二)督導委員會及辦公室會否探討香港在推動落實「一帶一路」方面具有哪些優勢,尤其是如何利用本港在創新科技領域的發展成果,鞏固香港作為亞洲區內財資中心和國際金融中心的地位、促進本港的長遠發展,以及增加本港年輕人的就業機會;及

(三)除了成功爭取「一帶一路高峰論壇」於上月在港舉行外,政府會否爭取日後與「一帶一路」概念相關的部長級會議在港舉行,以進一步發揮本港作為國際大都會的角色?

答覆:

主席:

  「一帶一路」倡議涵蓋廣泛,通過政策溝通、設施聯通、貿易暢通、資金融通和民心相通,推動沿線國家的共同發展,促進社會文化、經濟、金融和基建等方面的交流合作。

  就張華峰議員的提問,經諮詢相關政策局及部門後,我現回覆如下:

(一)政府正成立由行政長官主持的跨部門「一帶一路」督導委員會,負責制定香港參與「一帶一路」的策略和政策,並設立「一帶一路」辦公室,負責推動研究工作,統籌協調相關政府部門及香港貿易發展局、香港旅遊發展局等機構,以及與中央部委、各省市政府、香港的業界、專業團體和民間團體聯絡。督導委員會的組成,除行政長官及三位司長外,將包括若干局長,具體人選及人數隨着策略和政策的推展而定。特區政府目前正訂定第一階段的工作計劃,隨即制定督導委員會以及相關辦公室的架構及職能,並會於稍後公布有關詳情。

  至於特區政府參與籌備成立亞洲基礎設施投資銀行(下稱亞投行)的工作進展,政府一直有派出官員以中國代表團成員身分出席亞投行的會議及參與籌備成立亞投行的工作。另外,應亞投行的要求,政府已安排兩名人員以專家身分借調亞投行,協助亞投行建立系統,以及制定標準和程序指引。財經事務及庫務局會繼續與中央政府和亞投行商討有關香港以非主權地區加入亞投行的具體安排。

  香港的資本市場及資產管理專業人才和多種類的金融產品,可以為亞投行在項目融資、發債、投資、財務管理及外匯管理等方面的運作提供支援。此外,香港擁有熟悉項目談判、擬訂工程合約及合約管理、國際法律的專才和專業的仲裁服務,可以參與有關項目的籌建、施工與運行。

(二)「一帶一路」沿線的新興市場,潛力龐大,對各類金融服務的需求也將越來越大,香港可以在資金融通方面積極發揮優勢,推動人民幣國際化和「一帶一路」投融資平台建設,協助沿線各國開展基建項目投資、融資、資產管理等金融業務,為「一帶一路」建設拓展資金渠道。

  同時,金融科技透過運用流動通訊技術、人工智能等科技,為消費者帶來全新的理財體驗,提升金融機構的營運效率。香港作為國際金融中心,擁有高度發達的資訊及通訊科技產業,是開拓金融科技產品的理想地方。

  財政司司長在二月發表的《財政預算案》中提出了多項支援香港發展金融科技發展的措施,落實進展良好。其中,金融管理局(下稱金管局)、證券及期貨事務監察委員會和保險業監理處已分別設立金融科技專用平台,加強監管機構與業界之間的溝通;投資推廣署會於短期內成立專責小組,舉辦國際活動,和協助初創企業、投資者及研發機構落戶香港。

  政府會檢視金融科技相關倡議的進度,並繼續跟進市場最新發展,以及探討有利金融科技發展的政策。

  另外,為了吸引更多跨國和內地企業在香港成立財資中心,立法會剛通過修訂《稅務條例》,訂明在符合指明條件的情況下,企業經營集團內部融資業務的相關利息支出在計算利得稅時可獲扣除,而合資格企業財資中心的指明財資業務的相關利潤則可獲寬減利得稅百分之五十。這有助吸引跨國及內地企業在香港集中管理其財資職能,以提升本港金融市場的競爭力。

  推動「一帶一路」沿線國家的基礎設施建設規劃是國家「一帶一路」倡議的一個重點領域。根據亞洲開發銀行的估計,在二○一○年至二○二○年間亞洲基建發展需要約八萬億美元。因此,我們預期「一帶一路」的融資和資金管理需要將為區內金融業帶來大量的商機。

  事實上,香港憑着其獨特的定位,可以發展成為「一帶一路」國家基礎設施建設及相關項目的主要融資平台。就此,財政司司長於《財政預算案》中,亦要求金管局成立「基建融資促進辦公室」(Infrastructure Financing Facilitation Office,簡稱IFFO),建立平台匯聚投資者、銀行和金融業界,為沿線基建項目,提供全面的金融服務。金管局正在籌備成立IFFO,並預計該辦公室可於今年夏季啟動。

(三)上月舉辦的首屆「一帶一路高峰論壇」,匯聚了內地、「一帶一路」沿線國家及其他地區的政府官員、國際機構代表、跨國企業及相關行業領袖,共同探討「一帶一路」下的機遇。

  為了繼續探討並推動「一帶一路」帶來的商機,香港貿易發展局計劃明年再次舉辦高峰論壇,屆時會繼續邀請沿帶沿路的主要官員和商界領袖出席會議。

  除了「一帶一路高峰論壇」,特區政府亦會繼續在香港舉辦其他以「一帶一路」相關領域為主題的大型國際論壇及博覽會。

  舉例來說,在今年十月舉行的「國際環保博覽」將繼續邀請「一帶一路」沿線國家和地區參與,為他們在環境保護、節能減排和應對氣候變化等範疇提供合作平台,讓相關政府官員、環保專家和環保企業交流合作。而今年十一月舉辦的「亞洲物流及航運會議」,亦計劃在會議加入有關「一帶一路」的環節。此外,我們也將於二○一七年一月繼續舉辦「亞洲金融論壇」,主題為「亞洲:帶動變革、創新與聯繫」。論壇會提供一個高層次的討論平台,讓來自全球各地的官商領袖探討亞洲以至「一帶一路」沿線經濟體日益增長所帶來的機遇。

2016年6月1日(星期三)
香港時間16時45分

Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases



LCQ5: Efforts in taking forward Belt and Road Initiative

     Following is a question by the Hon Christopher Cheung and a reply by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, in the Legislative Council today (June 1):

Question:

     The Silk Road Economic Belt and 21st Century Maritime Silk Road (the Belt and Road Initiative) is a concept of multi-national economic co-operation proposed by our country in the recent two years. The Chief Executive has indicated in his Policy Address this year that a steering committee for the Belt and Road (Steering Committee) and a Belt and Road Office (the Office) will be set up, with the former responsible for formulating strategies and policies for Hong Kong's participation in the Belt and Road Initiative, and the latter responsible for taking forward related studies and co-ordinating work between government departments and local organisations, as well as liaising with the central ministries and provincial and municipal authorities. Besides, the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) is an integral part of the Belt and Road Initiative. The Government has indicated that it will send officials as part of the delegation of China to attend AIIB meetings and participate in the preparatory work for establishing AIIB, and it has also seconded experts to AIIB to support AIIB's operation. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) of the progress of the preparatory work for the Steering Committee and the Office; the government department responsible for the preparatory work for the Office, and how that department handles the co-ordination work; the progress of the Government's participation in the preparatory work for establishing AIIB;

(b) whether the Steering Committee and the Office will examine Hong Kong's edge in taking forward the Belt and Road Initiative, especially how the development deliverables in innovation and technology in Hong Kong can be leveraged to consolidate Hong Kong's status as a treasury centre in the Asian region and as an international financial centre, foster the long-term development of Hong Kong, and increase employment opportunities for the young people in Hong Kong; and

(c) whether the Government, apart from bidding successfully the organisation of the Belt and Road Summit in Hong Kong last month, will seek to conduct ministerial conferences relating to the Belt and Road concept in Hong Kong in future, so as to give further play to Hong Kong's role as an international metropolis?

Reply:

Mr President,

     The Belt and Road Initiative has an extensive coverage. It promotes common development of countries along the Belt and Road and strengthens exchanges and co-operation in the areas of social, cultural, economic, finance and infrastructure through policy co-ordination, facilities connectivity, unimpeded trade, financial integration and people-to-people bond.

     After consulting relevant policy bureaux and departments, my reply to the Hon Christopher Cheung's question is as follows:

(a) The Government is setting up an inter-departmental steering committee for the Belt and Road led by the Chief Executive, which will be responsible for formulating strategies and policies for Hong Kong's participation in the Belt and Road Initiative. A Belt and Road Office will also be established to take forward related studies, and co-ordinate work among government departments and other organisations, such as the Hong Kong Trade Development Council (HKTDC) and the Hong Kong Tourism Board. It will also liaise with the central ministries, provincial and municipal authorities, as well as various sectors, professional bodies and community organisations in Hong Kong. In addition to the Chief Executive and the three Secretaries, the steering committee will also comprise certain Directors of Bureaux. The actual composition and size of the steering committee will be decided having regard to the development of strategies and policies. The HKSAR Government is currently formulating the work plan for the first stage, and will then map out the organisation and functions of the steering committee and the related Office. Details will be announced in due course.

     Regarding progress of work of the HKSAR Government's participation in the preparatory work of the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB), we have been participating in the preparatory work and attending the meetings as a member of the Chinese delegation. In response to the request of the AIIB, we have also seconded two officers to the AIIB as professional specialists to assist the AIIB in the setting up of systems and drawing up of standards and procedural manuals. The Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau will continue to discuss with the Central Government and the AIIB the specific arrangements for Hong Kong to join the AIIB as a non-sovereign territory.

     Hong Kong's capital markets and asset management professionals and various financial products can support the operation of the AIIB in areas such as project financing, bond issuance, investment, financial management and foreign exchange management. Moreover, Hong Kong has expertise in project negotiation, works contracts preparation and management, international law as well as professional arbitration services, enabling us to take part in the planning, implementation and operation of such projects.

(b) The emerging markets along the Belt and Road have good growth potential and their demand for financial services will correspondingly increase. Hong Kong can make best use of its strengths in financial integration by promoting Renminbi internationalisation and the development of a Belt and Road investment and financing platform. Hong Kong can provide countries along the Belt and Road with financial services for the investment, fund raising and asset management of infrastructure projects and help expand their financing channels.

     At the same time, taking advantage of technical advancement in mobile communications technology and artificial intelligence, financial technologies (Fintech) can offer consumers novel experiences in managing their finances and improve operational efficiency of financial institutions. As an international financial centre with a highly developed information and communication technology sector, Hong Kong is an ideal place for developing Fintech products.

     In February, the Financial Secretary announced an array of measures in his Budget to support Fintech development in Hong Kong. Good progress is being made in implementing the measures. In particular, the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA), Securities and Futures Commission, and Office of the Commissioner of Insurance have already established their respective dedicated Fintech platforms to enhance communication between regulators and the Fintech community; Invest Hong Kong will soon establish its dedicated Fintech team to organise international events and assist start-ups, investors and research and development institutions to establish their presence in Hong Kong.

     The Government will monitor the progress in implementing Fintech-related initiatives, and continue to keep track of the latest market developments as well as examine policies that are conducive to Fintech development.

     In addition, to attract more multi-national and Mainland corporations to set up treasury centres in Hong Kong, the Legislative Council just passed the amendments to the Inland Revenue Ordinance to allow, under specified conditions, the deduction of interest expenses in calculating profits tax for the intra-group financing business of corporations, and reduce the profits tax rate for relevant profits of specified treasury activities of qualifying corporate treasury centres by 50 per cent. This will provide a favourable environment for attracting multi-national and Mainland corporations to centralise their treasury functions in Hong Kong, thereby enhancing the competitiveness of our financial markets.

     A major area of the Belt and Road Initiative is to promote the development of infrastructure projects along the Belt and Road. Asian Development Bank estimates that Asia requires around US$8 trillion investment in infrastructure over the 2010-2020 period. Hence, we expect the demand for financing and fund management in the Belt and Road will bring about enormous business opportunities to the financial services sector in the region.

     In fact, with Hong Kong's unique advantage, Hong Kong can develop into a major financing platform for infrastructure and related projects in the countries along the Belt and Road. In this connection, the Financial Secretary has in the Budget requested the HKMA to set up the Infrastructure Financing Facilitation Office (IFFO), to provide a platform for pooling the efforts of investors, banks and the financial sector to offer comprehensive financial services for various infrastructure projects. The HKMA is working on the establishment of the IFFO, which is expected to be formally inaugurated this summer.

(c) The inaugural Belt and Road Summit held last month brought together government officials, representatives of international organisations and leaders from multi-national corporations and related trades from the Mainland and countries and regions along the Belt and Road to explore opportunities under the Belt and Road Initiative.

     To continue exploring and promoting business opportunities brought about by the Belt and Road Initiative, the HKTDC plans to organise the Summit again next year. Key officials and business leaders will continue to be invited to attend the Summit.

     In addition to the Belt and Road Summit, the HKSAR Government will also continue to organise in Hong Kong other major international forums and expositions with themes on areas related to the Belt and Road Initiative.

     For example, we will continue to invite countries and regions along the Belt and Road to participate in the Eco Expo Asia to be held in October this year. The Expo will serve as a co-operation platform in areas such as environmental protection, energy saving and carbon emission reduction, as well as combat of climate change to facilitate exchanges and co-operation among government officials, environmental professionals and green enterprises. The Belt and Road Initiative is also planned to be featured in the Asian Logistics and Maritime Conference to be held in November this year. Moreover, we will continue to organise the Asian Financial Forum in January 2017, under the theme "Asia: Driving Change, Innovation, Connectivity". The Forum will provide a high-level platform to bring together public and private sector leaders from around the world to examine opportunities arising from the growth in Asia as well as other economies along the Belt and Road.

Ends/Wednesday, June 1, 2016
Issued at HKT 16:45