重要演辭、資料及新聞稿



立法會十一題:頻譜編配

  以下為今日(六月十七日)在立法會會議上單仲偕議員的提問和商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑的書面答覆:

問題:

  二○一三年,政府以電訊服務市場對1.9-2.2吉赫頻帶內的2 x 59.2兆赫成對頻譜(3G頻譜)有強大的競爭性需求為由,決定在3G頻譜於二○一六年十月指配期屆滿時,重新拍賣三分之一的3G頻譜。另一方面,政府在上月決定一家電視台的本地免費電視節目服務牌照(電視牌照)獲續期12年時,同時決定以行政指配方式把頻譜指配予該電視台。有意見質疑,政府在分配3G頻譜及電視廣播頻譜時持雙重標準,此情況令有意投資電訊或電視業的人士卻步。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)有否評估以行政指配方式管理電視廣播頻譜有否違反公平競爭原則;

(二)當局將會以甚麼方式指配亞洲電視有限公司的電視牌照明年屆滿後所騰出的1.5條數碼頻道;當局會否考慮將當中的部分頻譜交由現時持有或將會獲發電視牌照的機構競投,以鼓勵競爭;如否,原因為何;及

(三)鑑於現時有一家電視台被指經常重播節目,因而浪費寶貴的頻譜資源,當局會否考慮徵收頻譜使用費,以促進善用頻譜;如否,原有為何?

答覆:

主席:

  就問題的三個部分,現回覆如下︰

(一)及(二)因應行政長官會同行政會議(行會)在二○一五年四月一日決定亞洲電視有限公司(亞視)現有的免費電視牌照不獲續期,通訊事務管理局(通訊局)已於二○一五年四月二十日向亞視發出通知,知會亞視通訊局會行使《電訊條例》(第106章)第32G(1)及第32H(3)條所賦予的權力,在亞視的免費電視牌照期滿後(即二○一六年四月一日後)撤銷現有指配予亞視的所有頻譜。

  通訊局的法定職責包括根據《電訊條例》第32G(1)條規定,促進無線電頻譜作為香港公眾資源的有效率的編配和使用。考慮到上述的法定責任,及當前的市場情況,通訊局認為只有根據《廣播條例》(第562章)獲發牌的持牌機構,才有資格獲指配廣播頻譜,因為只有這些持牌機構才可迅速、有效率及有效益地使用該等頻譜,提供持牌免費電視服務,令廣大觀眾受惠,亦可避免無線電頻譜遭閒置或被囤積而造成浪費。

  此外,根據《通訊事務管理局條例》(第616章)第4(4)條,通訊局在執行其職能時,須顧及推動通訊市場內的競爭,令消費者受惠。因此,通訊局在落實無線電頻譜的有效率的編配和使用的法定責任時,另一個重要考慮是,指配予持牌機構的廣播頻譜數量,必須切合其牌照服務所需,即應與其提供的電視頻道數目相稱。尤其是有見及於未來數年,直至二○二○年政府終止模擬電視廣播前,只有相當有限的廣播頻譜供應,廣播頻譜指配數量相對牌照服務所需更須相稱。這情況在政府終止模擬電視廣播後,可能得以紓緩。

  就亞視將騰空的1.5條數碼頻譜的指配安排一事,通訊局會在作出決定前細心考慮所有相關因素,包括《電訊條例》的目的和相關條文、通訊局的法定職責、免費電視市場當前的情況、政府於二○○七年公布的《無線電頻譜政策綱要》和商務及經濟發展局的意見。

(三)頻譜是寶貴的公共資源,引入頻譜使用費,是要反映頻譜作為有限的公眾資源的市場價值,以促進頻譜的有效率使用。電訊頻譜方面,整體來說,香港過往一直通過巿場機制和繳付頻譜使用費的要求,把頻譜指配予能利用頻譜獲取最高經濟效益的電訊服務營辦商,確保電訊頻譜得以善用。

  廣播頻譜方面,香港過往一直採用公共受託人模式,以行政指配方式把廣播頻譜託付予持牌機構,以提供其持牌服務,而持牌機構無須繳付頻譜使用費。究其原因,是鑑於持牌機構須履行獨特的社會功能以回饋社會,當中涉及重大的公眾利益。這些獨特社會功能包括:作為市民大眾獲取免費娛樂、教育和資訊的主要來源;發揮無可比擬的社會和公共功能,迎合市民大眾及小眾的需要;以及在緊急情況下可免費向公眾廣泛發放信息的重要平台。頻譜因而一直以行政方式指配,獲指配頻譜的持牌機構不會被徵收頻譜使用費。

  至於持牌機構安排播出甚麼節目,是否重播節目,屬持牌機構的節目安排和取材。通訊局一向尊重持牌機構的編輯自主,不會干預。通訊局考慮到持牌機構若以重播節目滿足指定播放節目的規定,會與確保持牌機構為大眾提供娛樂、資訊、教育,以及多元化及平衡的服務的原意相違背,因此,通訊局在處理電視廣播有限公司(無綫)的免費電視牌照續期申請時,向行會建議引入規定,要求無綫必須以首播節目滿足指定播放節目的要求。在播出指定播放節目以外的其他節目時,無綫可繼續以編輯自主及市場主導原則作安排。上述建議已獲行會通過。

2015年6月17日(星期三)
香港時間14時01分

Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases




LCQ11: Allocation of spectrum

     Following is a question by the Hon Sin Chung-kai and a written reply by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, in the Legislative Council today (June 17):

Question:

     In 2013, the Government decided to re-assign one-third of the 2 x 59.2 MHz of paired spectrum in the 1.9 - 2.2 GHz band (3G Spectrum) by way of auction upon the expiry of the existing assignments in October 2016 on the ground that there were intense competing demands in the telecommunications service market for the 3G Spectrum. On the other hand, when the Government decided last month that the domestic free television programme service licence (TV licence) of a television station be renewed for 12 years, it concurrently decided to administratively assign broadcasting spectrum to that television station. Some views query that the Government has adopted double standards in allocating the 3G Spectrum and the spectrum for television broadcasting. Such a situation has deterred potential investors from investing in the telecommunications or television industries. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(1) whether it has assessed if managing the spectrum for television broadcasting by way of administrative assignment has violated the principle of fair competition;

(2) how the authorities will assign the 1.5 digital multiplexes to be vacated by Asia Television Limited next year following the expiry of its TV licence; whether the authorities will consider allocating some parts of the spectrum to existing or prospective TV licensees by way of auction to encourage competition; if they will not, of the reasons for that; and

(3) given that one of the existing television stations has been alleged of re-running its programmes frequently, thereby wasting the precious spectrum, whether the authorities will consider charging a spectrum utilisation fee to promote the efficient use of spectrum; if they will not, of the reasons for that?

Reply:

President,

     My reply to the three-part question is as follows:

(1) and (2) Following the Chief Executive (CE) in Council's decision, made on April 1, 2015, of not to renew the existing free TV licence of Asia Television Limited (ATV), the Communications Authority (CA) gave notice to ATV on April 20, 2015, informing the latter that the CA would exercise its power under sections 32G(1) and 32H(3) of the Telecommunications Ordinance (Cap. 106) (TO) and withdraw all existing spectrum assigned to ATV following the expiry of its free TV licence (i.e. after April 1, 2016).

     The CA has the statutory duty to, inter alia, promote the efficient allocation and use of radio spectrum as a public resource of Hong Kong under section 32G(1) of the TO. Having regard to the above statutory duty and the prevailing landscape, the CA considers that only licence holders under the Broadcasting Ordinance (Cap. 562) (BO) shall be eligible for assignment of spectrum, as only they are in a position to use the spectrum concerned expeditiously, efficiently and effectively for the provision of their licensed free television services for the benefit of the viewing public and for the avoidance of spectrum idleness or its wasteful hoarding.

     In addition, according to section 4(4) of the Communications Authority Ordinance (Cap. 616), in performing its functions, the CA must have regard to the promotion of competition in the communications market for the benefit of consumers. In this connection, when the CA discharges its statutory duty to promote the efficient allocation and use of the radio spectrum, another major consideration is that the amount of broadcasting spectrum assigned to licensees shall meet their service requirements as stipulated in their licences, which means that it shall be commensurate with the number of television channels offered by them. Given the very limited supply of broadcasting spectrum in the next few years until the switch-off of analogue television services by the Government in 2020, it is particularly important that the assignment of broadcasting spectrum shall be commensurate with the service requirements as stipulated in the licences. Such a situation may be alleviated after the implementation of analogue switch-off by the Government.

     Before deciding on the spectrum assignment for the 1.5 digital multiplexes to be vacated by ATV, the CA will take into careful consideration all relevant factors, including the objectives and provisions of the TO, the CA's statutory duties, the prevailing free TV landscape, the Radio Spectrum Policy Framework promulgated by the Government in 2007 and the views of the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau.

(3) Spectrum is a scarce public resource. The introduction of a spectrum utilisation fee (SUF) is meant to reflect the market value of spectrum as a limited public resource for promoting its efficient use. As for telecommunications spectrum, a market mechanism and SUF have been in place in Hong Kong whereby, generally speaking, spectrum is assigned to telecommunications service providers capable of putting it to the most economically efficient use, with a view to ensuring the optimal utilisation of such spectrum.

     As regards broadcasting spectrum, a "public trustee" model has long been adopted in Hong Kong by which the broadcasting spectrum is entrusted to the licensees to deliver their licensed services by following an administratively-assigned approach, without the need for the licensees to pay SUF. The reason for this is that they are required to perform unique social functions as compensation to the community, which involves significant public interests. Such unique social functions include: being the most significant source of free entertainment, education and information for the general public; performing unparalleled social and public functions, catering for the needs of the masses and the minorities; and being an essential platform to widely disseminate messages to the masses free of charge in case of emergency. Therefore, the assignment of spectrum has been conducted in an administrative approach, and the licensees will not be charged any SUF for the spectrum assigned to them.

     Broadcasting arrangements for individual programmes and re-run of programmes are scheduling and editorial decisions laid with the licensees. The CA has all along respected the editorial independence of licensees and will not interfere with their editorial decisions. Considering that the fulfillment of positive programme requirement (PPR) by repeat programmes broadcast by licensees will defeat the original purpose of ensuring their provision of entertainment, information, education as well as diversified and balanced services to the general public, the CA, in processing the application of Television Broadcasts Limited (TVB) for renewal of its free TV licence, proposed to the CE in Council that the PPR must be fulfilled by TVB by first-run programmes. As for the broadcast of programmes other than positive programmes, TVB may continue to make arrangements based on its editorial discretion and the market-driven approach. The above proposal has been approved by the CE in Council.

Ends/Wednesday, June 17, 2015
Issued at HKT 14:01