重要演辭、資料及新聞稿



立法會十三題:電訊基建設施

     以下為今日(五月六日)在立法會會議上莫乃光議員的提問和商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑的書面答覆:

問題:

     據悉,工程承辦商於進行挖掘或地底工程期間損壞地下光纖電纜或電訊裝置的事故時有發生。該等事故往往影響電訊服務,因而對電訊服務用戶造成不便和損失。此外,《供電電纜(保護)規例》(第406章,附屬法例H)及《氣體安全(氣體供應)規例》(第51章,附屬法例B)分別規定,進行工程的人須採取一切合理措施,以防止因該等工程而造成電力意外或電力供應故障,以及保護氣體喉管免受損害,但電訊裝置、網絡和線路(統稱「電訊基建設施」)則不受類似的法例保護。另一方面,有偏遠地區居民向本人反映,指該等地區的互聯網接駁速度並不理想。他們指出,電訊基建設施與工商業活動、市民日常生活,以至社會競爭力息息相關,故此政府應致力協助電訊服務供應商保護及提升電訊基建設施。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)是否知悉在過去三年,每年地下電訊基建設施因進行工程而損毀的個案數目,以及當中電訊服務受影響的個案數目,並按工程項目類別(即鐵路工程項目、工務工程項目,以及其他工程項目)以表列出分項數字;

(二)當局現時保護供水、供電、煤氣等基建設施免受損害的措施詳情為何;該等措施與保護電訊基建設施的措施的差異為何;當局會否制定法例,以及訂立懲處機制和措施,規定工程承辦商須採取一切合理措施避免因進行工程而損毀電訊基建設施;如會,詳情為何;及

(三)當局如何協助電訊服務供應商提升偏遠地區的電訊基建設施,以提升互聯網連接速度;有否計劃制訂最低可接受的互聯網連接速度,並訂立具體計劃及時間表,促使本港各區的互聯網連接速度達致該水平?

答覆:

主席:

(一)根據路政署的資料,過去三年地下電訊基建設施因工程進行而損毀的個案數字如下:

工程項目類別     電訊基建設施受損次數(註)
------     -------------
         2012年    2013年    2014年
         (次數)   (次數)   (次數)
鐵路工程          4           9            0
工務工程          12          8            7
其他工程          3           5            4
總數             19           22           11

註:以上統計資料是路政署所收到的損壞個案記錄。法例未有要求牽涉損壞地下公用設施的相關機構(包括僱用進行工程的承建商的機構或電訊營辦商)向路政署匯報所有個案。

     通訊事務管理局辦公室(通訊辦)根據《本地固定、流動及服務營辦商匯報網絡和服務事故的指引》要求電訊營辦商在指定情況下,例如事故影響999緊急電話接駁到警方超過十五分鐘、固網事故影響機場的正常運作超過十五分鐘等等,需向通訊辦匯報網絡和服務事故。根據通訊辦的紀錄,在過去三年只在二○一二年有一宗因工程使電訊基建受損而須按上述指引向通訊辦匯報的電訊服務事故個案。

(二)現時,已有相關法例保護包括電訊管線在內的地下設施免受損壞。根據《土地(雜項條文)條例》(第28章),工程發起人在未批租政府土地(包括路政署負責維修的街道)進行挖掘工作時,需持有由路政署或地政總署發出的挖掘准許證。為避免損壞現存包括電訊管線在內的地下設施,持證人必須遵守挖掘准許證條款裏的特定要求,採取適當的預防措施。就於街道進行的挖掘工程,持證人須採取的措施包括:在合理範圍內盡可能取得相關地下公用設施及裝置的記錄圖則;在進行挖掘工程前,採用適當的非破壞性地下設施探測器探測現存地下公用設施的位置;在地下公用設施及裝置附近或周圍以人手挖掘方法進行挖掘;及採取一切合理預防措施,以保護在工地附近的地下設施免受因持證人工程進行而引致的震動、挖洞或其他土地移動影響。根據《土地(雜項條文)條例》,違反挖掘准許證條款即屬違法,並可處罰款。

     電訊設施、水務設施、供電電纜及煤氣喉管除受上述法例下的挖掘准許證條款所保護外,其他條例對有關措施亦有其他保護。

     在電訊設施方面,《電訊條例》(第106章)第18條訂明,任何人如打算在任何土地上進行工程,須採取一切合理的預防措施,以防損壞在該土地內或附近的任何電訊線路或無線電通訊裝置,受影響的電訊牌照持有人可根據上述條文向沒有採取預防措施而導致電訊線路或無線電通訊裝置損壞的人士追討修復所需的開支。

     在水務設施方面,根據《水務設施條例》(第102章),任何人士沒有水務監督書面許可而損壞或毀壞水務設施的任何部分,即屬違法,並可處罰款。水務監督也可向該等人士追收有關的修理或其他工程費用及有關的損害或損失。此外,水務署要求工程承建商須遵守《水務設施附近工作守則》,並採取所有適當措施,避免挖掘工程損壞水管及水務設施。為了積極主動保護水管,水務署動用多支專責視察隊,對可能影響水管的道路工程進行監察,以及就如何適當地保護水管免受損毀,向有關工程承建商提供意見及/或發出警告。另外,水管上鋪放的水管標記膠帶可預先警示挖掘工人地下埋有水管。

     在供電電纜方面,《供電電纜(保護)規例》(第406H章)規定在供電電纜(包括地下電纜及架空電纜)附近不得進行工程,除非在展開工程前已採取一切合理步驟以確定是否有供電電纜存在及其準線等相關資料。該規例亦規定在供電電纜附近進行工程時,必須採取一切合理措施以防止因工程而造成電力供應中斷。違反有關規定即屬違法,可處罰款及監禁。

     在煤氣喉管方面,任何人在氣體喉管附近進行工程,須遵守《氣體安全(氣體供應)規例》(第51B章)第23A條的規定,在工程前須採取一切合理步驟以確定氣體喉管的所在地點及位置,並於施工時採取一切合理措施以保護氣體喉管免受損毀。違反有關規定即屬違法,可處罰款及監禁。機電工程署亦編制了一套工作守則(《避免氣體喉管構成危險》),就在氣體喉管附近進行工程須採取的預防措施,提供具體指引,包括:(1)索取喉管圖則、(2)進行喉管探測、(3)開挖試孔和(4)使用安全挖掘方法,以避免在工程進行時損壞氣體喉管。該工作守則及相關小冊子已上載於機電工程署網頁。機電工程署亦會定期為建造及屋宇管理行業舉行安全講座及進行工地巡查,加強推廣氣體喉管安全,特別向地盤管理及前線施工人員推廣如何採取合理步驟去避免氣體喉管受到工程損壞。

     由於現時已有相關法例保護電訊基建設施,政府未有打算制訂另外一套法例規定工程承辦商須採取一切合理措施避免因進行工程而損毀電訊基建設施。

(三)香港電訊市場已全面開放,互聯網接達服務的提供、網絡覆蓋的範圍及所選用的接達技術及速度,主要取決於營辦商的商業考慮。通訊事務管理局認為不宜就互聯網的連接速度訂立標準。

     事實上,香港在互聯網接達能力的世界排名一直位列前茅。香港的寬頻網絡幾近覆蓋所有商業及住宅樓宇。互聯網服務的最高連線速度平均為每秒84.6兆比特,屬全球第一;而平均連線速度則為每秒16.3兆比特,屬全球第二。香港的電訊收費亦屬全球最低之列。這證明市場主導的方針行之有效。

     為鼓勵及協助營辦商拓展網絡,以提升偏遠地區的互聯網覆蓋,通訊辦一直致力提供便利措施,包括協助營辦商在公共街道、政府橋樑及隧道等鋪設網絡,並向大廈管理公司及業主立案法團講解營辦商進入私人大廈鋪設網絡的權責和對市民的好處,以期改善網絡覆蓋及連接速度。

2015年5月6日(星期三)
香港時間14時08分

Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases



LCQ13: Telecommunications infrastructure

     Following is a question by the Hon Charles Peter Mok and a written reply by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, in the Legislative Council today (May 6):

Question:

     It is learnt that incidents of works contractors damaging underground optical fibre cables or telecommunications devices when carrying out excavation or underground works have occurred from time to time. Such incidents often affect telecommunications services, causing inconvenience and losses to telecommunications service users. In addition, the Electricity Supply Lines (Protection) Regulation (Cap. 406 sub. leg. H) and the Gas Safety (Gas Supply) Regulations (Cap. 51 sub. leg. B) respectively provide that a person who carries out any works shall take all reasonable measures to prevent the occurrence of an electrical accident or an interruption to the supply of electricity arising from those works and to protect the gas pipe from damage, while telecommunications devices, networks and lines (collectively referred to as "telecommunications infrastructures") are not protected by similar legislation. On the other hand, some residents in remote areas have relayed to me that the speed of Internet access in these areas is unsatisfactory. They have pointed out that since telecommunications infrastructures are closely related to industrial and commercial activities, the daily lives of members of the public as well as competitiveness of society, the Government should endeavour to assist telecommunications service providers in protecting and enhancing telecommunications infrastructures. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(1) whether it knows the number of cases in each of the past three years in which underground telecommunications infrastructures were damaged due to the carrying out of works and, among these cases, the number of those in which telecommunications services were affected, with a tabulated breakdown by type of works project (i.e. railway projects, public works projects and other works projects);

(2) of the details of the measures currently taken by the authorities to protect various infrastructures (including water supply, electricity supply and town gas) from damage; the differences between such measures and the measures to protect telecommunications infrastructures; whether the authorities will enact legislation as well as formulate penalty mechanisms and measures to require works contractors to take all reasonable measures to prevent telecommunications infrastructures from damage arising from the carrying out of works; if they will, of the details; and

(3) how the authorities assist telecommunications service providers in enhancing telecommunications infrastructures in remote areas with a view to increasing the connection speed of the Internet; whether they have plans to set the lowest acceptable connection speed of the Internet and formulate specific plans and timetable for making the connection speeds of the Internet in various districts in Hong Kong attaining that level?

Reply:

President,

(1) According to the statistics of the Highways Department, the numbers of cases of damage to underground telecommunications infrastructure caused by the carrying out of works in the past three years are as follows:

Type of Works     Number of Cases of
Projects               Damage to Telecommunications
                            Infrastructure (Note)
-------------             ----------------------------
                             2012  2013  2014
Railway Works            4        9       0
Public Works             12        8       7
Other Works               3        5       4
Total                         19       22      11

Note: The above statistics are records of damage cases received by the Highways Department. Relevant organisations (including organisations that employ the contractors for carrying out works and telecommunications operators) involved in cases of damage to underground utilities infrastructure are not required by the law to report all cases.

     The Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA) requires, under the Guidelines for Local Fixed, Mobile, and Services-Based Operators for Reporting Network and Service Outage (Guidelines), telecommunications operators to report network and service outage cases to the OFCA under specified circumstances, including where the 999 emergency routes to the Police centre have been affected for more than 15 minutes and where any fixed network failure has affected the normal operation of the airport for more than 15 minutes, etc. According to the OFCA's records, in the past three years, there was only one case of damage to telecommunications infrastructure caused by the carrying out of works in 2012 where reporting of such case to the OFCA was required under the above Guidelines.

(2) At present, there is already relevant legislation in place to protect underground infrastructure, including telecommunications cables, from being damaged. In accordance with the Land (Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance (Cap. 28), the respective works promoter is required to obtain an Excavation Permit from the Highways Department or Lands Department for excavations on unleased government land including streets maintained by the Highways Department. To prevent damage to existing underground services, including telecommunication cables, specific requirements are included under the Conditions of Excavation Permit to mandate the Permittee to take appropriate precautionary measures. For excavation work carried out on streets, such measures include making all reasonable effort to obtain relevant utility record plans from utility undertakings; using suitable non-destructive underground services detectors to locate existing underground services before excavation; using hand-digging method for excavation close to or around existing underground services; and taking all reasonable precautions to protect the existing underground services in the vicinity from the effects of vibration, undermining, or other earth movements caused by the Permittee's work. Under the Ordinance, violation of a permit condition is an offence and shall be liable to a fine.

     Apart from being protected by the Conditions of Excavation Permit under the abovementioned legislation, telecommunications infrastructure, waterworks, electricity supply lines and town gas pipes are also protected by other legislation.

     In respect of telecommunications infrastructure, pursuant to section 18 of the Telecommunications Ordinance (Cap. 106), any person who proposes to carry out work on any land shall take all reasonable precautions to prevent damage to any telecommunications line or radiocommunications installation in or near the land. The affected telecommunications licensee may under the abovementioned section recover from the person any expenses incurred in making good any damage to a telecommunications line or radiocommunications installation caused by a failure to take such precautions.

     For waterworks, pursuant to the Waterworks Ordinance (Cap. 102), any person who, without permission in writing of the Water Authority, damages or destroys any part of the waterworks shall be guilty of an offence and shall be liable to a fine. The Water Authority may also recover the cost of repair and other works, and damage or loss from such person. In addition, the Water Supplies Department (WSD) requires contractors to comply with the requirements in the "Conditions of Working in vicinity of Waterworks Installations" and to take all necessary steps to avoid any damage to water mains and installations by excavation works. The WSD has deployed a number of dedicated inspection teams as a proactive measure to carry out surveillance of road works which may affect water mains and to give advice and/or warning to the concerned contractors for proper protection of the water mains against damage. Moreover, a polyethylene identification tape on top of the water mains is used to serve as a prior warning to trench diggers of water mains underground.

     For electricity supply lines, the Electricity Supply Lines (Protection) Regulation (Cap. 406H) stipulates that works should not be carried out in the vicinity of electricity supply lines (including underground electricity cables and overhead electricity lines), unless all reasonable steps have been taken to ascertain the existence of any such electricity supply lines and their alignments before the works begin. The Regulation also requires that when conducting works in the vicinity of electricity supply lines, all reasonable measures must be taken to prevent interruption of electricity supply caused by the works. Violation of the relevant regulations is an offence and shall be liable to imprisonment and to a fine.

     In respect of gas pipes, any person who carries out works in the vicinity of a gas pipe shall comply with the requirements of Regulation 23A of the Gas Safety (Gas Supply) Regulations (Cap. 51B). The person shall take all reasonable steps to ascertain the location and position of the gas pipe before commencing the works and protect the gas pipe from damage arising out of the works that would be likely to prejudice safety during the course of works. Violation of the relevant regulations is an offence and shall be liable to a fine and imprisonment. The Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) has also issued a "Code of Practice - Avoiding Danger from Gas Pipes" to provide practical guidance of preventive measures required for any works in the vicinity of gas pipes, including: (1) collection of plans, (2) underground utility survey, (3) digging of trial holes, and (4) safe digging practices, in order to avoid damage to gas pipes from construction works. The Code of Practice and associated booklets are available on the EMSD's website. Moreover, the EMSD promotes the gas pipe safety by conducting safety talks and carrying out site inspections for the construction and building management industries regularly, especially for the construction site management and the front-line staff the ways in taking reasonable steps to avoid damage to gas pipes from construction works.

     Since relevant legislation is already in place to protect telecommunications infrastructure, the Government has no plan to formulate another set of legislation to require works contractors to take all reasonable steps to prevent damage to telecommunications infrastructure caused by the carrying out of works.

(3) With the full liberalisation of the telecommunications market in Hong Kong, the provision of Internet access service, the network coverage and the adoption of access technologies and speed are primarily based on the commercial considerations of operators. The Communications Authority considers it inappropriate to set a standard for Internet connection speed.

     In fact, Hong Kong has been ranked among the top in the world in Internet access capabilities. Our broadband networks cover nearly all commercial and residential buildings in the territory; our average peak Internet connection speed at 84.6 Mbps is the fastest in the world, and our average Internet connection speed at 16.3 Mbps is the second fastest in the world; and our telecommunications charges are among the lowest in the world. All these demonstrate the success of our pro-market approach.

     With a view to encouraging and assisting operators in network expansion and thus enhancing Internet coverage in remote areas, the OFCA has all along been offering facilitation measures, including assisting operators in rolling out network across public streets, government-owned bridges and tunnels, and explaining to property management companies and owners' corporations the responsibilities and duties of operators and the advantages that would bring to the residents in respect of network rollout in private premises so as to improve network coverage and connection speed.

Ends/Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Issued at HKT 14:09