Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases

Appointment to Competition Commission announced

     The Government today (November 21) announced the appointment of Professor Suen Wing-chuen as a member to the Competition Commission (Commission) by the Chief Executive with effect from November 21, 2014 to April 30, 2016 to fill the vacancy left by Professor Tsang Shu-ki, who passed away in August 2014.

     The Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, expressed his appreciation for Professor Tsang's tremendous contributions to the Commission.

     "We are delighted that Professor Suen has accepted the appointment. We are confident that his experience and expertise will make a valuable contribution to the work of the Commission," a Government spokesman said.

     The membership list of the Commission with effect from November 21, 2014 is as follows:


Ms Anna Wu Hung-yuk

Members (Total: 13)
Mr Chan Kwok-wai
Ms Agnes Chan Sui-kuen
Mr Thomas Cheng Kin-hon
Professor Leonard Cheng Kwok-hon
Mr Michael Hui Wah-kit
Mr Kwok Kwok-chuen
Ms Miranda Kwok Pui-fong
Mr Andrew Leung Kwan-yuen
Dr Anthony William Seeto Yiu-wai
Professor Suen Wing-chuen
Ms Gilly Wong Fung-han
Mr Simon Wong Kit-lung
Mr Albert Wong Kwai-huen

     The Commission is established under the Competition Ordinance (Ordinance) (Cap. 619) as an independent statutory body tasked with the functions to investigate into competition-related complaints, and to bring public enforcement action before the Competition Tribunal. The Commission also performs such other functions as preparing regulatory guidelines, promoting public understanding of the Ordinance through public education work, as well as advising the Government on competition matters.

Ends/Friday, November 21, 2014
Issued at HKT 11:36