重要演辭、資料及新聞稿



歐洲聯盟與香港特區政府系統對話會議探討雙方邁向更深厚緊密的關係

  歐洲聯盟(歐盟)與香港特別行政區政府(特區政府)今日(十一月十一日)在布魯塞爾舉行第八次年度系統對話會議。系統對話會議是一個有效平台,讓歐盟和特區政府的高層官員按雙方同意的議程,商討共同關注的議題。

  會議由歐盟對外事務部東亞事務司司長薩巴蒂爾及特區政府商務及經濟發展局副秘書長(工商)袁小惠共同主持。雙方就多個議題進行具成效的討論,促進彼此了解及確定進一步合作的範疇。

  薩巴蒂爾歡迎由袁小惠率領的特區政府代表團。他表示香港與歐盟的經濟及貿易關係持續深厚緊密,在二○一三年,歐盟繼續成為香港第二大貿易夥伴,貿易額達6,500億港元(超過600億歐羅)。歐盟亦是香港第三大外來直接投資來源,而香港則為歐盟的十大投資者之一。

  薩巴蒂爾強調,歐盟與香港是重要的貿易和投資夥伴,他說:「香港會繼續成為歐盟公司和投資者的重要區域總部所在地。香港的自由、法治及透明度,是香港的重要資產。系統對話會議正好顯示了歐盟與香港深厚的雙邊關係。歐盟作為香港的朋友,會繼續密切跟進香港在政治、經濟和規管方面的發展。」

  袁小惠表示,香港決心維持一個高度開放的市場,確保人流、物流、資本和資訊的自由流動。她說:「我們珍視和歐盟長久的經濟關係,並會繼續加強和歐盟在多方面的合作,包括貿易和財經事務、知識產權和競爭政策等。」

  薩巴蒂爾總結說:「歐盟願意和香港加強雙邊交流,以促進和發展商品和服務貿易及投資往來。我們期望進一步加強與香港的經濟及貿易關係,並同意在重要範疇如財經事務、競爭政策、海關及知識產權等方面加強合作。」

  袁小惠重申,香港會繼續與歐盟在共同關注的議題上緊密合作,維護香港和歐盟的經濟效益。香港繼續是歐盟發掘亞洲地區豐富商機的重要夥伴。

  雙方互相介紹最新的經濟情況,包括自由貿易協定以及促進和保護投資協定談判的進展。香港代表團為歐盟介紹財經事務的最新發展,如離岸人民幣業務的發展、核數師監管改革的進展,以及《巴塞爾協定III》在港的實施情況。香港代表團亦向歐盟概述《競爭條例》的落實進展、香港近期為加強知識產權的保護制度所作之努力,以及香港就實施有關稅務事宜自動交換金融帳戶資料的新國際標準的立場。

  歐盟闡釋,隨新的經濟管治架構建立,歐盟及歐元區更能應對現時和未來在經濟上的挑戰。歐盟為香港介紹了金融法規的發展,包括銀行聯盟/統一處置機制的創立,歐盟亦介紹中歐投資協定談判、歐美及歐日貿易投資協定談判,以及打擊清洗黑錢措施等最新進展。

  雙方歡迎歐盟與香港海關即將簽署落實的行動計劃和先導計劃,就保護兩地的知識產權執法合作。

  歐盟與特區政府同意透過現有渠道保持密切聯繫,探討中長期加強雙邊貿易和投資關係的新機會。



2014年11月11日(星期二)
香港時間21時58分

Major Speeches, Presentations and Press Releases



Structured Dialogue meeting between European Union and HKSARG explores ways to deepen relations

     The eighth annual Structured Dialogue meeting between the European Union (EU) and the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSARG) took place today (November 11) in Brussels. The Structured Dialogue is an effective high-level platform for the EU and the HKSARG to discuss issues of common interest based on a mutually agreed agenda.

     The meeting was co-chaired by the Director for North East Asia and the Pacific of the EU's European External Action Service, Mr Gerhard Sabathil, and the Deputy Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Commerce and Industry) of the HKSARG, Ms Carol Yuen. The two sides conducted fruitful discussions on a wide range of subjects to deepen mutual understanding, and identified areas of further co-operation.

     Mr Sabathil welcomed the Hong Kong delegation headed by Ms Carol Yuen.  He noted that the economic and trade relations between Hong Kong and the EU continue to be strong and close. The EU remains Hong Kong's second largest trading partner, with total trade amounting to around HK$650 billion (in excess of EUR 60 billion) in 2013. The EU is also the third largest source of foreign direct investment in Hong Kong, while Hong Kong is one of the top ten investors in the EU.

     Mr Sabathil stressed that the EU and Hong Kong are important trade and investment partners. "Hong Kong will continue to play a key role as a regional hub for EU companies and investors. Hong Kong's freedom, rule of law, and transparency are its major assets. The Structured Dialogue testifies to the strong bilateral relationship between the EU and Hong Kong," he said. "As a friend of Hong Kong, the EU continues to follow political, economic and regulatory developments in the HKSAR very closely."

     Ms Yuen stated that Hong Kong is committed to maintaining a highly open market to ensure the free flow of people, goods, capital and information. "We treasure the long-standing economic relations with the EU and will continue to enhance our co-operation with the EU on various fronts including matters relating to trade and financial services, intellectual property rights and competition policy," Ms Yuen said.

     "The EU is ready to deepen its bilateral exchanges with Hong Kong aimed at facilitating and developing trade in goods and services and boosting investment flows. We look forward to further enhancing our close economic and trade relations with Hong Kong, and agree to strengthen co-operation in important areas such as financial services, competition policy, customs, and intellectual property rights," Mr Sabathil concluded.

     Ms Yuen reiterated that Hong Kong would continue to work closely with the EU on issues of common interest for the benefit of the Hong Kong and EU economies. Hong Kong would remain an important partner of the EU to explore the ample business opportunities in the Asian region.

     Both sides provided updates on developments in their economies, including negotiations on free  trade and investment promotion and protection agreements. The Hong Kong side updated the EU on the latest developments in the financial services sector, such as the development of offshore Renminbi business, the progress of auditor oversight regulatory reform, and implementation of Basel III in Hong Kong. The EU was also briefed on progress on the implementation of the Competition Ordinance, Hong Kong's recent efforts to enhance its intellectual property protection regime, and Hong Kong's position on the implementation of the new global standard on the automatic exchange of financial account information in tax matters.

     The EU side explained that, following the establishment of its new economic governance architecture, the EU and the euro area are increasingly well-equipped for current and future economic challenges.  The EU updated Hong Kong on developments regarding financial regulation, including the creation of the Banking Union/Single Resolution Mechanism. The EU provided information on a number of European initiatives, such as negotiations on an investment agreement with China, trade and investment agreement negotiations with the US and Japan, and the latest developments relating to anti-money laundering measures.

     Both parties also welcomed the forthcoming signature of an action plan and pilot project on co-operation in customs enforcement of intellectual property rights between the EU and Hong Kong.

     The EU and the HKSARG agreed to maintain close contacts through the established channels and to explore new opportunities to strengthen bilateral trade and investment relations in the medium to long term.

Ends/Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Issued at HKT 21:59