重要演辭及資料



立法會十六題:提升啟德郵輪碼頭使用率和經濟效益的措施

以下為商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑今日(十月三十日)在立法會會議上就謝偉俊議員的提問的書面回覆:

問題:

啟德郵輪碼頭(郵輪碼頭)首個泊位已於本年六月啟用。然而,政府表示擬議興建連接啟德發展區及九龍東的環保連接系統(連接系統),即使現時落實興建,其啟用日期亦不會早於二○二三年。據悉,有市民批評郵輪碼頭配套不足,其用途因而受到限制。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)會否考慮在落實及完成連接系統前,研究其他方法(例如興建觀塘與郵輪碼頭之間供人、車使用的連接橋,並加建行人設施連接茶果嶺、油塘海濱及鯉魚門),便利登岸郵輪旅客前往觀塘及鯉魚門景點及購物點,以提高郵輪碼頭整體經濟效益,並推動九龍東商業及旅遊業產生協同效應;

(二)預計郵輪碼頭未來三年,每年有多少天沒有郵輪停泊;

(三)有否研究,除舉行展覽活動外,郵輪碼頭場地設施在沒有郵輪停泊期間是否也可作演唱會、社區活動或其他表演用途;如研究結果為可以,預計可容納觀眾數目、場地申請手續、租金收費及表演類別為何,以及有關活動可為郵輪碼頭帶來的經濟效益為何;如研究結果為否,原因為何;及

(四)有否如商務及經濟發展局局長於去年十月二十四日本會會議上,答覆一項口頭質詢時所言,就本港實際需要及獨特環境,從技術、營運、安全及法例等方面,研究提供水上的士或其他水上運輸服務連接郵輪碼頭的可行性;如有,結果為何;如否,原因為何,以及可否立即研究?

答覆:

主席:

就問題的四個部分,現回覆如下:

(一)擬議的環保連接系統是改善九龍東(包括啟德發展區、九龍灣和觀塘商貿區)區內與區外連繫的骨幹。環保連接系統內的觀塘連接橋,其主要功能是乘載單軌鐵路跨越觀塘避風塘入口。啟德發展計劃現時沒有計劃興建郵輪碼頭與觀塘之間的其他連接橋。長遠而言,政府會因應啟德其他項目的發展時間表,在適當的時間再興建道路和高架行人道連接郵輪碼頭至九龍灣附近區域。

郵輪旅客到港後的行程(包括交通安排),主要是由經營陸上觀光行程的旅遊代理商安排。我們鼓勵旅遊代理商開發更多具吸引力的觀光行程,例如包括九龍東及鯉魚門一帶的特色景點。此外,碼頭營運商會安排穿梭巴士來往碼頭及附近商場,並且與的士業界聯繫,安排的士進入碼頭載客。上述交通安排方便旅客到不同地方觀光購物,讓不同地區受惠於郵輪旅客的增長,同時提升香港對郵輪旅客的吸引力。

公共交通安排方面,九龍專線小巴(第86號線)每天來往郵輪碼頭及九龍灣,九巴亦會在星期日及公眾假期安排特別假日路線(第5R號線),往返郵輪碼頭至牛頭角/觀塘港鐵站。運輸署會密切注視公共交通服務的情況,在有需要時作適當調整以配合乘客需求。

當有大型活動在郵輪碼頭舉行時,主辦單位會按需要安排特別交通接駁服務,以滿足額外交通需求。

(二)由本年十月至二○一六年底,啟德郵輪碼頭營運商目前已接獲五十九宗郵輪停泊申請,停泊日數約為一百零三日。隨着啟德郵輪碼頭在本年中落成啟用,不少郵輪公司在編定其船隊未來數年的行程中,表示有意停泊啟德郵輪碼頭,預定停泊郵輪碼頭的日數正不斷增加。我們預期這個增加趨勢會持續下去。

(三)我們在設計郵輪碼頭時,為了增加使用碼頭的彈性,碼頭大樓採用寬跨距設計概念,減少結構支柱,讓大樓內的部分地方,在沒有郵輪泊岸的日子,可用作舉辦其他活動。

碼頭於八月及九月份舉行了兩次車展及「郵輪假期博覽」,參加者反應正面。我們理解不同機構正與碼頭營運商接觸,商討日後在大樓內舉辦各類活動的可行性。

碼頭營運商會考慮不同類型活動的申請,包括租用碼頭作為演唱會、社區活動或其他表演用途。至於在碼頭舉辦這些活動的具體要求及手續(包括可容納人數、租金收費等),將視乎個別活動的性質、實際安排,以及相關法例及牌照要求而定。

我們預期在大樓內舉辦不同活動可使碼頭與鄰近地區的聯繫更為緊密,同時帶動經濟活動(如零售及餐飲業等),提升碼頭對地區的整體經濟效益。

(四)在早前的立法會會議上,政府曾表示「世界各地現有『水上的士』服務的性質、運作模式、靠岸設施及規管方式各有不同。『水上的士』是否適用於香港為連接啟德郵輪碼頭及其他地區之用,需要考慮的事宜包括技術、營運、成本效益、安全及法例等各方面,亦須顧及香港的實際需要及獨特環境,問題複雜。」當時政府列出需要考慮的事宜的類別及指出問題的複雜性,並無指出有需要為引入「水上的士」進行可行性研究。

至於增設其他水上運輸服務方面,政府會密切留意渡輪業界對服務需求的評估。若市場上有渡輪營辦商向政府提交詳細建議,政府會研究建議的可行性。到目前為止,未有渡輪營辦商向運輸署表示有意申請開辦渡輪服務往返郵輪碼頭及其他地區。

2013年10月30日(星期三)

Speeches and Presentations



LCQ16: Measures to enhance utilisation of and economic benefits brought by Kai Tak Cruise Terminal

Following is a written reply by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, to a question by the Hon Paul Tse in the Legislative Council today (October 30):

Question:

The first berth of Kai Tak Cruise Terminal (Cruise Terminal) was commissioned in June this year. However, the Government has indicated that the proposal to construct the Environmentally Friendly Linkage System (Linkage System) to connect the Kai Tak Development Area and Kowloon East, even if it is confirmed now, will not be commissioned before 2023. It is learnt that some members of the public have criticised that the Cruise Terminal does not have enough ancillary facilities, thus constraining its utilisation. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) whether it will consider conducting studies on other means (such as constructing a transportation link between Kwun Tong and the Cruise Terminal for passengers and vehicles, as well as constructing additional pedestrian facilities connecting Cha Kwo Ling, Yau Tong waterfront and Lei Yue Mun) before the confirmation and completion of the Linkage System to facilitate cruise passengers going ashore to visit the tourist attractions and shopping spots in Kwun Tong and Lei Yue Mun, so as to enhance the overall economic benefits brought about by the Cruise Terminal and promote the synergy between the commercial and tourism sectors in Kowloon East;

(b) of the estimated number of days with no cruise vessels berthing at the Cruise Terminal in each of the coming three years;

(c) whether it has studied if the venues and facilities of the Cruise Terminal can also be used, apart from holding exhibitions, for concerts, community activities or other performances during the periods when no vessels are berthing at the Terminal; if the study outcome is in the affirmative, of the expected audience capacity, venue application procedures, rental fees and types of performances to be held, as well as the economic benefits to be brought about by such activities to the Cruise Terminal; if the study outcome is in the negative, of the reasons for that; and

(d) whether it has, as indicated by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development in reply to an oral question raised at the meeting of this Council on October 24 last year, studied the feasibility of providing water taxi services or other waterborne transport services to connect the Cruise Terminal, based on Hong Kong's actual needs and unique environment and with regard to aspects of technology, operation, safety and legislation, etc.; if it has, of the outcome of the study; if not, the reasons for that, and whether a study can be conducted immediately?

Reply:

President,

My reply to the four parts of the question is as follows:

(a) The proposed Environmentally Friendly Linkage System (EFLS) will be the connectivity backbone that enhances the inter-district and intra-district connectivity of Kowloon East, which comprises Kai Tak Development Area, Kowloon Bay and Kwun Tong business areas. The Kwun Tong Transportation Link under the EFLS serves mainly to carry a monorail across the entrance of Kwun Tong Typhoon Shelter. Currently, there is no plan to provide another link bridge to connect the Kai Tak Cruise Terminal (Cruise Terminal) and Kwun Tong under the Kai Tak Development (KTD). In the long term, the Government will develop roads and elevated walkways to connect the Cruise Terminal and the areas around Kowloon Bay, subject to the development programmes of other works at KTD.

When cruise tourists arrive in Hong Kong, their itineraries (including transportation arrangements) are mostly arranged by shore excursion operators. These operators are encouraged to develop more attractive excursion itineraries that include, for instance, unique scenic spots in Kowloon East and Lei Yue Mun. The Terminal operator also organises shuttle bus services running between the Cruise Terminal and nearby shopping malls and liaises with the taxi trade to arrange taxis to pick up cruise tourists at the Cruise Terminal. These arrangements make it convenient for cruise tourists to go sightseeing and shopping in different areas. This ensures that various areas will benefit from the growing number of cruise tourists and also enhances the appeal of Hong Kong to cruise passengers.

As regards public transport, a Kowloon green minibus route (No. 86) operates between the Cruise Terminal and Kowloon Bay every day. There is also a recreational route (No. 5R), operated by Kowloon Motor Bus, that runs between the Cruise Terminal and Ngau Tau Kok/Kwun Tong MTR station during Sundays and public holidays. The Transport Department will closely monitor the provision of public transport services and make appropriate adjustments as and when necessary to cope with the passenger demand.

When large scale events are held at the Cruise Terminal, the organisers will arrange special feeder services to cope with the additional transport demand.

(b) The Terminal operator has received 59 applications from cruise vessels to berth for about 103 days between October this year and the end of 2016. Since the commissioning of the Cruise Terminal in the middle of this year, many cruise companies have expressed interest in berthing at the Cruise Terminal when they develop their schedules for the coming years. Indeed, there has been a steady increase in the number of days of berthing reservations. We expect that the rising trend will continue.

(c) In designing the Cruise Terminal, we have adopted a wide span layout with fewer structural columns for the Cruise Terminal building in order to maximise the flexibility in the utilisation of the Cruise Terminal. The design enables some areas in the Cruise Terminal to be used for other functions during the periods when no vessels are berthing at the Cruise Terminal.

Two car shows and a Cruise Holiday Expo were held at the Cruise Terminal in August and September which received positive feedback. We understand that various organisations are discussing with the Terminal operator the feasibility of holding various kinds of functions in the Cruise Terminal building in future.

The Terminal operator will consider applications for holding various functions, including concerts, community activities or other performances. The specific requirements and application procedures (including capacity and rental fees) for holding such functions in the Cruise Terminal will be subject to the nature of and actual arrangements for the functions and the requirements of relevant legislation and licences.

We expect that hosting functions in the Cruise Terminal building will help the Cruise Terminal maintain a closer tie with the neighbouring districts. It will also boost economic activities (e.g. retail and catering) and enhance the economic benefits brought by the Cruise Terminal to the nearby areas.

(d) At an earlier meeting of the Legislative Council, the Government responded that "the nature, operational mode, berthing facilities and regulatory framework of the existing water taxi services around the world are all different. The Government needs to consider a variety of issues including technology, operation, cost-effectiveness, safety and legislation, and so on, to assess whether water taxis are suitable to be introduced in Hong Kong for the purpose of linking the Terminal with other districts. We also need to examine the complicated issues in the light of the actual needs and unique environment of Hong Kong." At that time, the Government set out the types of issues that need to be considered and pointed out the complexity of the matter. It did not indicate that a feasibility study for introducing water taxis was needed.

Regarding the provision of additional waterborne transport service, the Government will closely monitor the ferry trade's assessment on service demand. We will examine the feasibility of detailed proposals submitted by the ferry operators in the market, if any. To date, no operator has approached the Transport Department about its intention to introduce ferry services between the Cruise Terminal and other areas.

Wednesday, October 30, 2013