重要演辭及資料



政府回應公眾對免費電視牌照申請結果的意見

就本地免費電視節目服務(免費電視)牌照申請的決定,商務及經濟發展局發言人今日(十月二十一日)表示:

「政府留意到公眾對本地免費電視牌照申請結果的關注,亦理解市民與業界人士對本地電視行業及創意產業發展的意見。政府重申,行政長官會同行政會議在作出是否原則上批准三份免費電視牌照申請的決定時,已根據法例要求和既定程序,公平和公正地處理各宗申請,並以公眾利益為依歸作通盤考慮,希望能在取得引入競爭所帶來的效益的同時,亦盡量避免過度競爭對整體免費電視市場可能造成的負面影響,以確保市場能夠健康及有秩序發展,保障公眾利益。

政府強調今次原則性批准的決定,是本港接近四十年以來首次為免費電視市場引入更多競爭,今次決定並非為了維護現有持牌機構的利益,亦無政治考慮。

政府重申,行政長官會同行政會議在處理三份申請過程中一直恪守程序公義,參考法律顧問的專業意見行事,並向所有申請者披露相關資料,當中包括顧問報告、當局循序漸進為免費電視市場引入競爭的意向及所有審核準則,並給予所有申請者充分時間就該等事項、顧問的相關評核以及其他相關事宜作出了多輪申述。

行政長官會同行政會議是在循序漸進為免費電視市場引入競爭的前提下,因應已向申請者披露的四項評核準則,考慮了各申請建議書(即申請者的財政能力、節目投資、節目策略及製作能力,以及建議服務的技術水平),以及考慮了所有相關因素,包括各有關機構的所有申述、公眾意見及公眾利益等。在這過程中,行政長官會同行政會議就上述四項準則評核了三位申請者的競爭力,最終認為奇妙電視有限公司及香港電視娛樂有限公司整體上較香港電視網絡有限公司優勝,因此決定原則上批准前兩者的申請。

政府近日已在不同場合公開交代行政長官會同行政會議今次決定背後的準則及理據。行政長官會同行政會議已充分考慮各方面的意見,深思熟慮,並遵照程序,作出決定,整個過程符合程序公義的要求。

行政會議對任何議題的討論內容並不公開,必須遵從行之已久的保密制度,希望市民理解。此外,處理三宗申請的細節無可避免涉及三位申請者敏感的商業資料,甚至商業秘密,隨便公開可能對三位申請者造成損害,也可能會引起法律爭議。

五日前(十月十六日),政府已收到通知有人就行政長官會同行政會議的決定申請提出司法覆核,由於事件已進入司法程序,政府現時實在不適宜評論有關處理三宗申請的細節,以免影響日後的訴訟。

政府明白公眾希望盡快為免費電視市場引入更多競爭。因此,當局會繼續公正和謹慎地完成免費電視牌照申請的後續工作,以冀盡快決定是否向兩間獲得原則上批准申請的機構正式批出免費電視牌照,以便早日為市民帶來更多優質的節目選擇。」

2013年10月21日(星期一)

Speeches and Presentations



Government's response to public views on outcome of free TV licence applications

In connection with the decision on the domestic free television programme service (free TV) licence applications, a spokesman for the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau said today (October 21):

"The Government notes the public concern on the outcome of the free TV licence applications, and understands the views of the public and the industry on the development of the local television market and the creative industry. The Government reiterates that in deciding whether to grant approval-in-principle to the three free TV licence applications, the Chief Executive (CE) in Council has processed each application fairly and impartially in accordance with statutory requirements and established procedures. It has been guided by the public interest and considered holistically all relevant factors, with a view to reaping the benefits of introducing competition while at the same time to minimise any possible adverse impact to be brought about by over-competition on the free TV market as a whole. This is to ensure a healthy and orderly development of the market and protect public interest.

The Government stresses that the decision of granting approval-in-principle is the first time in nearly four decades that more competition will be introduced to the free TV market. The decision does not serve to protect the interest of existing licensees and does not involve any political consideration.

The Government reiterates that the CE in Council, in processing the three applications, has all along ensured procedural fairness and acted with reference to the professional advice of legal advisers. All applicants had been informed of relevant information, including the consultant's reports, the Administration's inclination to adopt the gradual and orderly approach in introducing competition into the free TV market and all the assessment criteria. The applicants had been given sufficient time to submit rounds of representations on these matters, the consultant's relevant assessments as well as other relevant issues.

Under the gradual and orderly approach in introducing competition into the free TV market, the CE in Council has considered the applications against the four assessment criteria as disclosed to the applicants (i.e. financial capability, programming investment, programming strategy and capability and technical soundness of the proposed service) and all relevant factors, including all representations from the interested parties, public views and public interest, etc. During the process, the CE in Council has assessed the competitiveness of the three applicants against the four above-mentioned assessment criteria. The CE in Council has formed the view that Fantastic Television Limited (Fantastic TV) and Hong Kong Television Entertainment Company Limited (HKTVE) outperform Hong Kong Television Network Limited in overall terms, and on this basis decided to grant approval-in-principle to Fantastic TV's and HKTVE's applications.

The Government has recently on different occasions publicly explained the assessment criteria and the reasoning leading to the CE in Council's decision. The CE in Council has carefully considered all views from different parties before making a decision in accordance with established procedures. The requirement of procedural fairness was strictly adhered to in the process.

Under the established system of confidentiality which must be adhered to, the deliberation of the Executive Council meetings on any subject matter is not made public. We hope for the public's understanding in this regard. The details on the processing of the three applications inevitably involve commercially sensitive information or even commercial secrets of the three applicants; and disclosure of which may cause damage to the three applicants and may even give rise to legal disputes.

The Government was notified five days ago (October 16) of the filing of an application for leave to apply for judicial review. In view of the ongoing legal proceedings, it is not appropriate for the Government to comment on the details in relation to the processing of the three applications, lest affecting the conduct of the legal proceedings concerned.

The Government understands the wish of the public to introduce more competition into the free TV market as soon as possible. As such, the Administration will continue to complete the outstanding work relating to the free TV licence applications in a fair and prudent manner, with a view to making an early decision on whether to formally grant free TV licences to the two applicants being granted approval-in-principle, thereby bringing more quality programme choices to the public soon."

Monday, October 21, 2013