重要演辭及資料



行政長官會同行政會議原則上批准兩宗免費電視牌照申請

政府今日(十月十五日)宣布,行政長官會同行政會議已原則上批准奇妙電視有限公司(奇妙電視)及香港電視娛樂有限公司(香港電視娛樂)提出的本地免費電視節目服務(免費電視)牌照申請,而香港電視網絡有限公司的申請則不獲接納。

行政長官會同行政會議經過深入討論三宗免費電視牌照申請,並在全面考慮所有相關因素,以及本地免費電視行業的整體發展後,認為以循序漸進方式為免費電視市場引入競爭,是審慎和符合公眾利益的做法。

商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑今日在記者會上說:「這原則上批准的決定符合政府既定的廣播政策,在引入競爭和增加節目選擇和種類的同時,亦盡量減低對免費電視市場帶來任何負面影響的可能性。」

現階段雖非三宗申請均獲批准,但蘇錦樑強調,不排除日後會因應市場情況適當地引入更多免費電視營辦商的可能性。

在審批免費電視牌照申請時,行政長官會同行政會議考慮了一籃子的相關因素,包括各申請機構提交的免費電視牌照申請、前廣播事務管理局(即現時通訊事務管理局)(通訊局)呈交的建議、《廣播條例》的規定、通訊局發出的《本地免費電視節目服務牌照申請指南》中所載述的評核準則、整體免費電視市場的持續經營環境、顧問就引入新競爭者對免費電視市場競爭環境的影響所作的報告(當中包括對各申請機構競爭力的評估)、相關機構的所有申述及回應、所有相關的最新發展、所有收到的公眾意見、政府現行的廣播政策以及公眾利益。

根據奇妙電視及香港電視娛樂的建議書,若獲發免費電視牌照,會在發牌後十二個月內提供合共兩條電視頻道(即各一條)。奇妙電視營運首六年投資額超過十億元,而香港電視娛樂營運首三年投資額超過六億元。奇妙電視及香港電視娛樂的初步申請資料摘要載於附件

蘇錦樑說:「在循序漸進引入競爭的前提下,行政長官會同行政會議在考慮是否就各項申請作原則上批准時,根據了多項客觀評審準則評核三家申請機構提交的建議書,這些準則包括申請機構的財政能力、節目投資、節目策略及製作能力,以及技術水平。」

他補充:「如奇妙電視及香港電視娛樂在稍後階段正式獲發牌照,將有助增加本地節目製作方面的投資,既為觀眾帶來更多元化的節目選擇之餘,亦可為創意產業創造更多就業機會。」

行政長官會同行政會議現階段原則上批准奇妙電視及香港電視娛樂的申請,但仍須待行政長官會同行政會議在稍後階段進一步檢視有關申請,並作出最終發牌決定。發出「原則上批准」,並不等同根據《廣播條例》批出免費電視牌照,亦不代表行政長官會同行政會議有責任在稍後向有關申請機構批出牌照。「原則上批准」不會賦予(亦不應視作可賦予)有關申請機構任何權利、權益或期望(不論是在法律、衡平法或其他方面),認為行政長官會同行政會議必須根據《廣播條例》發出免費電視牌照。

政府和通訊局下一步的工作,會要求奇妙電視及香港電視娛樂提交進一步資料,並與兩間機構商討擬議牌照條款。

通訊局稍後會再次審視奇妙電視及香港電視娛樂的申請,並就應否根據《廣播條例》第8(1)及10(1)條正式批准牌照申請,向行政長官會同行政會議提交建議。行政長官會同行政會議在作出最後決定前,會再次審視奇妙電視及香港電視娛樂是否有能力符合牌照準則以及其免費電視牌照申請的各有關事項。

奇妙電視及香港電視娛樂的牌照草擬本所載的一般條款及條件,將與現有免費電視持牌機構的牌照相若,但同時會載有與兩間機構相關的具體條文。

2013年10月15日(星期二)

Speeches and Presentations



Chief Executive in Council approves in principle two applications for free TV licences

The Government today (October 15) announced that the Chief Executive (CE) in Council has approved in principle the applications of Fantastic Television Limited (Fantastic TV) and Hong Kong Television Entertainment Company Limited (HKTVE) for a domestic free television programme service (free TV) licence, whereas the application submitted by Hong Kong Television Network Limited (HKTVN) has been rejected.

The CE in Council has thoroughly discussed the three free TV licence applications. Having considered holistically all relevant factors and the overall development of the local free television market, the CE in Council has decided that a gradual and orderly approach in introducing competition into the free TV market is prudent and in the public interest.

Speaking at a press conference today, the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, said, "This decision is not only in line with the Government's established broadcasting policy to introduce competition and increase programme choice and diversity, but at the same time minimises the risk of any possible adverse impact on the free TV market as a whole."

While not all three free TV licence applications were approved at this juncture, Mr So stressed that it did not preclude the possibility of allowing more free TV operators as and when appropriate.

In processing the free TV licence applications, the CE in Council has considered an array of relevant factors including the free TV licence applications submitted by the three applicants, the recommendations of the former Broadcasting Authority (now the Communications Authority) (the Authority), statutory requirements under the Broadcasting Ordinance (BO), the assessment criteria in the Authority's "Guidance Note for Those Interested in Applying for Domestic Free Television Programme Service Licences in Hong Kong", the overall sustainability of the free TV market, the consultant's reports on the competition implications of new entrants to the local free TV market (which include an assessment of the relative competitiveness of each applicant), all representations and responses submitted by the relevant parties, all relevant latest developments, all public views received, the Government's prevailing broadcasting policy, and the public interest.

According to Fantastic TV's and HKTVE's proposals, a total of two channels (i.e. one for each) will be provided within 12 months after the granting of the free TV licences. Fantastic TV will invest over $1 billion in the initial six years from the launch of the proposed service whereas HKTVE will invest over $600 million in the initial three years from the launch of the proposed service. The key features of the preliminary application particulars of Fantastic TV and HKTVE are in the Annex.

"Under the gradual and orderly approach, the CE in Council, in deciding whether to grant 'approval-in-principle' to each of the free TV licence applications, has assessed the free TV licence applications against various objective assessment criteria. These criteria include financial capability, the programming investment, programming strategy and capability and technical soundness of the proposed service," Mr So said.

"We believe that Fantastic TV and HKTVE, if formally granted the free TV licences at a later stage, will facilitate the bringing in of additional investments into local programme production. This will not only provide more programme choices for the audience, but also create more job opportunities in the creative industries," he added.

The CE in Council has granted "approval-in-principle" to the applications concerned at this stage, subject to the CE in Council's further review and final determination of the applications at a later stage. The granting of an "approval-in-principle" to a free TV licence application is not the granting of a licence under the BO. It does not impose an obligation on the CE in Council to formally grant a licence in due course. The "approval-in-principle" does not confer, and should not be understood as conferring, any right, interest or expectation (whether legal, equitable or otherwise) on the applicants concerned that a free TV licence will be granted by the CE in Council under the BO.

As the next step, the Administration and the Authority will seek further information as necessary from Fantastic TV and HKTVE, and discuss with them the proposed licence conditions.

The Authority will then further review Fantastic TV's and HKTVE's applications and submit to the CE in Council recommendations on whether a free TV licence should be formally granted under sections 8(1) and 10(1) of the BO. The CE in Council will further review and take a final view on Fantastic TV's and HKTVE's abilities to meet the licensing criteria as well as each and every relevant aspect of their free TV licence applications before making a final decision.

The draft licences for Fantastic TV and HKTVE will contain general terms and conditions similar to those of the licences held by existing free TV licensees, with specific provisions relevant to them.

Tuesday, October 15, 2013