重要演辭及資料



立法會五題:促進經濟發展的措施

以下為商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑今日(十一月十三日)在立法會會議上就林大輝議員的提問的回覆:

問題:

行政長官於本年十月三十一日主持第三次經濟發展委員會(「經委會」)會議後向傳媒表示,會議討論了香港未來經濟發展所需的土地資源、現在土地的使用情況,以及將來規劃土地時如何配合和支持不同產業的發展。經委會轄下四個工作小組的召集人亦分別就「航運業」、「製造、高新科技及文化創意產業」、「會展及旅遊業」和「專業服務業」方面作出匯報。然而,有評論指出,經委會至今仍未提出具體的發展和支援經濟的建議。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)面對本港土地供應不足,政府在計劃未來經濟發展所需的土地資源時,有否評估應支持發展哪些產業;若有,如何分配工、商業用地予不同產業,以及該等用地的面積及位置為何;若否,原因為何;

(二)鑑於經委會專業服務業工作小組召集人表示,該工作小組希望政府可爭取參與制訂國家政策,令專業服務不會被忽略,以及為香港專業服務界帶來機遇,特別是在爭取享有相同國民待遇方面,政府準備在哪些方面落實兩地專業互認資格,以及有否具體的目標及時間表;若有,詳情為何;若否,原因為何;及

(三)鑑於經委會會展及旅遊業工作小組召集人表示,希望將舊啟德機場跑道末端發展成為一個世界級、非常具吸引力的旅遊景點,政府估計該旅遊景點何時落成、每年可吸引多少名旅客來港、會為香港帶來多少收益,以及可創造的職位數目為何;若沒有作出估計,原因為何?

答覆:

主席:

行政長官於今年的《施政報告》中宣布成立經濟發展委員會(「經委會」),就如何擴闊香港經濟基礎及促進香港經濟增長及發展的整體策略和政策,提供前瞻性的方向及意見;並會檢視及探悉有助香港經濟進一步發展的行業或行業群,及提議扶助相關產業發展所需的政策和其他支援措施。

經委會至今已召開了三次會議;轄下分別負責航運業,會展及旅遊業,製造、高新科技及文化創意產業,以及專業服務業的四個工作小組亦已全面投入運作。經委會已訂定了整體工作方向,並就一些重要課題,包括人力資源的需求及供應,以及香港土地供求等進行討論。各工作小組亦已分別訂定工作計劃及初步建議或可能的方向。

各工作小組會進行深化研究,以確立有關初步建議或方向的可行性,及與政府部門檢視實施方面的細節。我們期待經委會及各工作小組盡早向政府作出正式的具體建議,供政府考慮及按序落實執行。

就問題的三個部分,我分別作出以下回覆:

(一)經濟活動與土地供應息息相關。因此政府在考慮發展及支援產業的同時,亦要留意產業對用地的需要,並適時作出配合。

規劃署二○○七年完成的「香港2030:規劃遠景與策略」中包括評估香港商業中心區甲級寫字樓、一般商業用地(即商業中心區甲級辦公室外的私人辦公室、工業╱辦公室樓宇、分層工廠大廈及私人貨倉)及特殊工業用地(即具特定設備要求的用地)的未來需求。因應有關評估,政府持續透過多管齊下的措施,致力增加不同經濟用地的供應,包括將九龍東轉型成為另一個核心商業區,有潛力提供約四百萬平方米樓面面積。政府亦會逐步將現有核心商業區內合適的政府辦公大樓及「政府、機構或社區」用地改作商業用途。

另外,經委會及轄下各工作小組正就政府應推行的具體支援個別產業的政策及措施進行研究及考慮,現階段尚未就產業用地的具體建議作出結論。然而,香港可發展土地有限,用地量高或低增值而勞工密集的行業對創造優質就業機會,以及香港的長遠經濟發展未必有幫助。因此我們相信經委會及工作小組會聚焦建議把資源投放於高增值或高技術且有優勢或發展潛質的行業或工序。

政府會繼續因應有關建議而制訂合適的措施,包括密切留意相關用地供求並更新用地規劃,務求提供合適土地支援相關產業及經濟發展政策,並善用香港珍貴的土地資源。

(二)根據個別專業界別的實際需要,政府會繼續爭取落實兩地專業資格認可的措施,形式可包括直接認可、短期/臨時認可、互認、豁免部分考試等,並且爭取香港專業人士和企業享有與內地專業人士和企業相同的國民待遇,並將這些措施和待遇適用於全國。此舉既可幫助香港專業服務業進入內地市場,又可協助推動內地服務業的發展,並促進兩地專業人士和企業聯手「走出去」,拓展國際市場,達致互利雙贏的局面。

不同專業有不同的規範、要求、責任和市場等考慮,所以,其適用的開放措施的形式及所處的階段均各有不同。扼要來說,在《內地與香港關於建立更緊密經貿關係的安排》的框架下,現階段專業界別已有不同形式及階段的兩地專業資格認可的措施。政府會繼續與內地當局保持緊密聯繫,為香港專業界別盡力爭取擴大專業資格認可的領域,並容許他們以此認可資格在內地註冊執業及開業,為香港專業人士及企業開拓更多發展專業的機會。

(三)行政長官於今年的《施政報告》中表示,啟德發展區前機場跑道末端有極大潛力發展為本港新的旅遊及娛樂中樞,並建議在該處建立名為「飛躍啟德」的城中樂園,以供本港市民以及來自世界各地的旅客享用。就此,政府會根據已批核的啟德分區計劃大綱圖,舉辦「飛躍啟德」城市規劃及設計概念國際比賽(「比賽」),就「飛躍啟德」的整體規劃、設計以及布局等方面徵集具創意及卓越的設計和構思,以期將這幅位置優越的珍貴市區用地發展成首屈一指的世界級旅遊目的地,供廣大香港市民及旅客享用,並為香港帶來經濟收益。

我們期望該比賽能提供饒富創意及優秀的建議及構思。政府將於今年稍後時間公布比賽細節,並預計於二○一四年底左右公布比賽結果。由於具體建設項目及設計尚待比賽後敲定,現階段未能估算項目帶來的額外經濟收益。

多謝主席。

2013年11月13日(星期三)

Speeches and Presentations



LCQ5: Measures to facilitate economic development

Following is a reply by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, to a question by Dr Hon Lam Tai-fai in the Legislative Council today (November 13):

Question:

After chairing the third meeting of the Economic Development Commission (EDC) on October 31 this year, the Chief Executive told the media that the meeting discussed the land resources needed for the economic development of Hong Kong in future, the existing land use and how the future land use planning of Hong Kong will facilitate and support the development of various industries. The convenors of the four working groups under EDC also reported on the areas of transportation, manufacturing industries, innovative technology, and cultural and creative industries, convention and exhibition industries and tourism, and professional services. However, there are comments that EDC has yet to make any concrete proposal on the development of and support for the economy. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) in the face of insufficient supply of land in Hong Kong, whether the Government has assessed which industries should be given support in their development when it plans the land resources needed for the future economic development of Hong Kong; if it has, how it will allocate industrial and commercial sites to various industries, and of the areas and locations of such sites; if not, the reasons for that;

(b) as the convenor of the Working Group on Professional Services of EDC has indicated that the Working Group hopes that the Government may strive to participate in the formulation of national policies, so as to prevent professional services from being neglected and bring opportunities to the local professional services sector, in particular in the striving for members of the sector to enjoy the same treatment as that enjoyed by Chinese nationals, of the areas in which the Government prepares to introduce mutual recognition of professional qualifications between the two places, and whether there are specific targets and timetables; if there are, of the details; if not, the reasons for that; and

(c) as the convenor of the Working Group on Convention and Exhibition Industries and Tourism of EDC has indicated that the Working Group aspired to develop at the end of the old Kai Tak Airport runway a world-class and most appealing tourist attraction, of the completion date of such tourist attraction, as well as the number of tourists it may attract to Hong Kong, the amount of income it will generate for Hong Kong, and the number of jobs it may create annually as estimated by the Government; if it has not made such an estimation, the reasons for that?

Reply:

President,

In this year's Policy Address, the Chief Executive announced the establishment of the Economic Development Commission (EDC) to provide visionary direction and advice on the overall strategy and policy to broaden Hong Kong's economic base and to enhance Hong Kong's economic growth and development; and to explore and identify growth sectors or clusters of sectors which present opportunities for Hong Kong's further economic growth, and recommend possible policy and other support for these industries.

The EDC so far has held three meetings. Its four working groups respectively covering transportation; convention and exhibition industries and tourism; manufacturing industries, innovative technology, and cultural and creative industries; and professional services have also come into full operation. The EDC has formulated the overall work direction and discussed a number of important issues, including the demand and supply of manpower resources, and the land use demand and supply in Hong Kong. The working groups have also drawn up their respective work plans and initial recommendations or possible directions.

The working groups will conduct studies in detail to ascertain the feasibility of the initial recommendations or directions, and will examine with relevant Government departments the implementation details. We look forward to the early formal submission of specific recommendations by the EDC and its working groups for the Government's consideration and implementation as appropriate.

My reply to the three parts of the question is as follows:

(a) Economic activities and land supply are closely related. Therefore, when considering the development of and support for industries, the Government would take into account the land requirements of industries and address such requirements in a timely manner.

The Planning Department's Hong Kong 2030: Planning Vision and Strategy completed in 2007 covers, among others, the assessments on the future land demand for Central Business District (CBD) Grade A offices, general business (i.e. private offices excluding CBD Grade A offices, industrial/office buildings, flatted factories and private storages) and special industries (i.e. land for industries with specific requirements) in Hong Kong. In the light of the assessments, the Government has been adopting a multi-pronged approach to increase land supply for different economic activities, including the transformation of Kowloon East as another CBD having the potential to provide a floor area of about 4 million square metres. The Government will also progressively convert suitable government office buildings and "Government, Institution or Community" sites in existing CBD to commercial uses.

On the other hand, the EDC and its working groups are studying and considering what specific policies and measures the Government should implement to support individual industries. At this stage, no conclusion has been reached with respect to specific proposals on the land requirements of industries. However, as developable land is limited in Hong Kong, land-intensive or low value-added labour intensive industries may not be conducive to creating high quality employment opportunities and the long-term economic development of Hong Kong. As such, we believe that the EDC and its working groups will make focused recommendations on investing resources in high value-added and high-tech sectors or processes with competitive edges or good development potential.

The Government will continue to formulate appropriate measures in the light of the recommendations, including closely monitoring the relevant land supply and demand and updating the land use planning, so as to provide suitable land to support the policy on industrial and economic development, and optimise the use of the scarce land resources in Hong Kong.

(b) On the basis of the actual needs of individual professional service sectors, the Government will continue to pursue the implementation of liberalisation measures on recognition of professional qualifications between the Mainland and Hong Kong, which can be in the form of direct recognition, short-term/temporary recognition, mutual recognition, partial exemption from examination, etc. Moreover, the Government will strive for the same treatment as that enjoyed by the Mainland professionals and enterprises for Hong Kong professionals and enterprises, applicable across the whole country. This will facilitate the entry of Hong Kong's professional service sectors into the Mainland market as well as the development of the Mainland professional services, and also help promote joint efforts of the professional service sectors and enterprises between the Mainland and Hong Kong to "go global" in tapping international markets and achieving win-win outcomes.

Different professional services have different considerations regarding their codes of practice, requirements, responsibilities and markets, etc. Therefore, the liberalisation measures to be pursued will vary in terms of form and staging. In essence, under the framework of the Mainland and Hong Kong Closer Economic Partnership Arrangement, liberalisation measures on recognition of professional qualifications have already been implemented in different forms and stages for professional service sectors between the Mainland and Hong Kong. The Government will continue to liaise closely with the Mainland authorities to strive for a wider scope of professional recognition for Hong Kong's professional service sectors, and facilitate them to use their recognised qualifications to obtain registration for practice and setting up businesses in the Mainland, with a view to helping Hong Kong professionals and enterprises in expanding development opportunities for professional services.

(c) In this year's Policy Address, the Chief Executive stated that the former runway tip in the Kai Tak Development Area had excellent potential to be developed into a tourism and entertainment hub, and proposed that a recreational landmark - Kai Tak Fantasy (KTF) be set up on the site for the enjoyment of both local residents and visitors from around the globe. In this respect, the Government will launch an International Ideas Competition on Urban Planning and Design (the Competition) on the basis of the approved Kai Tak Outline Zoning Plan, with a view to collecting creative and outstanding designs and ideas on the overall planning, design and layout, etc. of the KTF. The purpose is to turn this valuable piece of prime urban land into a world class tourism destination for the enjoyment of both local residents and visitors, and bring economic benefits to Hong Kong.

We hope that the Competition would attract creative and outstanding proposals and ideas. The Government will publicise the details of the Competition later this year. The results of the Competition are expected to be announced around end 2014. Since the specific projects and designs would only be finalised after the Competition, the additional economic benefits to be generated could not be estimated at this stage.

Thank you, President.

Wednesday, November 13, 2013