重要演辭及資料



立法會十一題:政府的廣播和電訊政策

以下為今日(十二月十一日)立法會會議上毛孟靜議員的提問和商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑的書面答覆:

問題:

政府早前決定免費電視市場應循序漸進引入競爭,因而拒絕悉數批准三份本地免費電視節目服務牌照(電視牌照)的申請。另一方面,當局卻以電訊服務市場對1.9-2.2吉赫頻帶內的2x59.2兆赫成對頻譜(3G頻譜)有強大的競爭性需求為由,決定在3G頻譜於二○一六年十月現有指配期屆滿時,重新拍賣部分3G頻譜。有意見質疑,政府處理電視牌照及3G頻譜指配時持雙重標準,而此舉的原因是為個別電視及電訊服務營運者度身訂造營商環境。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)鑑於據報有高級官員在回應有關雙重標準的指稱時表示,電視及電訊服務市場的發展情況不同,不能混為一談,該兩個市場的發展情況有何具體分別,以致政府訂出如此截然不同的長遠發展政策;

(二)鑑於當局據報曾表示,一旦市場出現五個免費電視台,最終會導致幾個電視台一起倒閉,引起社會震盪,當局不悉數批准三份電視牌照申請,是否為了保護個別競爭力低的電視台免於倒閉;如是,詳情及原因為何;如否,有否評估當局就電視牌照申請所作決定是否干預自由市場,妨礙公平競爭;

(三)鑑於為政府撰寫電視市場報告的顧問公司的總監向傳媒透露,她曾多次詢問當局需否更新顧問報告內關於市場及申請機構的資料,以便當局可根據最新資料就電視牌照申請作出決定,為何當局一直沒有要求顧問公司更新顧問報告;鑑於該顧問公司曾公開質疑當局處理電視牌照申請的若干手法,當局會否秋後算帳,永不錄用該顧問公司;及

(四)有否評估,資金雄厚的國有企業會否盡攬重新拍賣的3G頻譜,以及該情況對公眾的影響;如有,詳情為何;如否,原因為何?

答覆:

主席:

就問題的四部分,我的答覆如下:

(一)本地免費電視節目服務(免費電視)及電訊服務在發牌制度、相關法例以至規管架構等方面都並不相同。此外,雖然政府的廣播和電訊政策一向鼓勵競爭,但現時這兩個不同市場的狀況和發展步伐都有差異,因此我們認為並不適宜作直接比較。

(二)政府於二○一三年十月十五日宣布,行政長官會同行政會議(行會)在循序漸進為免費電視市場引入競爭的前提下,決定原則上批准奇妙電視有限公司及香港電視娛樂有限公司的免費電視牌照申請(有關決定)。有關決定可望把免費電視台數目增加一倍,由兩個增至四個,而免費電視頻道則增加四條,是本港接近40年來首次引入更多競爭。有關決定可在取得引入競爭所帶來的效益的同時,亦確保市場能夠健康及有秩序發展,從而保障公眾利益。這決定並非為了維護現有持牌機構的利益。

(三)顧問就引入新競爭者對免費電視市場競爭環境的影響所作的報告(顧問報告)只是行會審議三宗免費電視牌照申請時所考慮的眾多因素之一,政府從沒有聲稱有關決定是顧問的建議。除與顧問報告相關的事宜外,有關顧問根本並沒有參與就三宗免費電視牌照申請的其他處理程序,包括申請機構的多輪申述。我們認為近日顧問就有關決定公開發表的個人看法,可能是建基於不完整的資訊以及對有關決定和政府解釋有所誤解。對於顧問今次選擇於公眾討論中發表其見解,令公眾對事件產生混淆,我們對有關做法已公開表示非常遺憾。

顧問根據三個申請機構提交的業務計劃和估計,評估三個申請機構如獲發牌對香港免費電視市場的影響。顧問的研究結果顯示,本港免費電視市場將難以支持五家機構持續經營。通訊事務管理局(通訊局)與政府就顧問有關研究結果的理解都是一致的。行會考慮了所有相關因素,包括但不限於顧問報告、顧問報告完成後有關機構所提交的所有申述以及最新的市場狀況等,根據足夠資料作出有關決定。

政府一向都是按需要外聘顧問就某些課題提供相關的分析和意見,並按照《物料供應及採購規例》的規定採購顧問服務。

(四)本港的流動電訊市場一直對外開放,並無限制非本地資本的擁有權。根據過去的頻譜拍賣經驗,亦沒有出現問題所述的情況。再者,通訊局亦已決定在是次頻譜重新指配中,向所有頻譜受配者施加40兆赫的頻譜上限,以限制每個營辦商持有1.9–2.2吉赫頻帶內頻譜的數量,以保障能促進公平競爭的環境。

2013年12月11日(星期三)

Speeches and Presentations



LCQ11: Government's broadcasting and telecommunications policies

Following is a question by the Hon Claudia Mo and a written reply by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, at the Legislative Council meeting today (December 11):

Question:

The Government has earlier decided that a gradual and orderly approach should be adopted in introducing competition into the free television (TV) market and it thus refused to approve all three applications for domestic free TV programme service licences (TV licences). On the other hand, on the ground that there are intense competing demands in the telecommunications service market for the 2 x 59.2 MHz of paired spectrum in the 1.9 - 2.2 GHz band (3G Spectrum), the authorities have decided to re-assign a portion of the 3G Spectrum by way of auction upon the expiry of the existing assignments in October 2016. Some views query that the Government has adopted double standards in handling TV licences and the assignment of 3G Spectrum, and the reason behind such a move is to provide tailor-made business environments to individual TV and telecommunications service operators. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) as it has been reported that in response to the allegation of adopting double standards, a senior official had indicated that the TV market should not be compared with the telecommunications service market given the different developments of the two markets, of the specific differences between the developments of the two markets, which have caused the Government to formulate entirely different long-term development policies for them;

(b) as the authorities have reportedly said that should there be five free TV operators in the market, it will ultimately lead to the closure of several TV operators at the same time, bringing shocks to society, whether the authorities' not giving approval to all three TV licence applications was aimed at protecting individual TV operators which are less competitive from closing down; if so, of the details and the reasons for that; if not, whether it has assessed if the decision on TV licence applications made by the authorities has interfered with free market operation and obstructed fair competition;

(c) as the managing partner of the consultancy firm which wrote the reports on TV market for the Government had disclosed to the media that she had asked the authorities several times if it was necessary to update the consultancy reports regarding information on the market and the applicants, so that the authorities might make decisions on TV licence applications based on the most updated information, why the authorities have all along not requested the consultancy firm to update the consultancy reports; given that the consultancy firm had openly questioned certain approaches adopted by the authorities in handling TV licence applications, whether the authorities will penalise the consultancy firm by never hiring it again; and

(d) whether it has assessed if state-owned enterprises with abundant funds will pocket all the re-auctioned 3G Spectrum, as well as the implications of such a situation on the public; if so, of the details; if not, the reasons for that?

Reply:

President,

My reply to the four-part question is as follows:

(a) Domestic free television programme services (free TV) and telecommunications services are subject to different licensing regimes, governing legislations and regulatory frameworks. Besides, while the Government's broadcasting and telecommunications policies have all along encouraged competitions, the present conditions and pace of development of these two different markets vary from each other. We therefore consider it inappropriate to make a direct comparison between these two markets.

(b) On October 15, 2013, the Government announced that, under the gradual and orderly approach in introducing competition into the free TV market, the Chief Executive (CE) in Council had decided to grant approval-in-principle to the applications of Fantastic Television Limited and HK Television Entertainment Company Limited for a free TV licence (the Decision). By virtue of the Decision, the number of free TV stations is expected to double from two to four, with an addition of four more free TV channels. It is the first time in nearly four decades that more competition will be introduced into the free TV market. The Decision could reap the benefits of introducing competition into the free TV market, and at the same time ensure a healthy and orderly development of the market for the protection of public interest. The Decision is not meant to protect the interest of existing licensees.

(c) The consultant's reports on the impact of introducing new competitors on the competition environment of the free TV market (the Consultant's Reports) are but one of the many factors the CE in Council had taken into account when considering the three free TV licence applications. The Government has never stated that the Decision was the recommendation of the Consultant's Reports. Apart from matters in relation to the Consultant's Reports, the consultant was not involved in other procedures in processing the three free TV licence applications, including rounds of representations submitted by the applicants. We consider that the consultant's recent public remarks on the Decision are probably based on incomplete information and misunderstandings about the Decision and the Government's explanations. We have openly expressed that it is very regrettable for the consultant to choose to express its views in public discussions, hence causing confusion to the public.

Based on the business plans and estimations submitted by the three applicants, the consultant assessed the impact on the free TV market in Hong Kong if licences were to be granted to them. The consultant's findings indicated that the local free TV market could hardly sustain a total of five players. The Communications Authority (CA)'s and the Government's understandings of the consultant's findings are the same. The CE in Council had considered all relevant factors, including but not limited to the Consultant's Reports, all representations submitted by the relevant parties subsequent to the completion of the Consultant's Reports and the latest market situation, before making the Decision based on adequate information.

The Government's practice is to commission outside consultants as necessary to provide analysis and advice on particular issues, and to procure such consultancy service in accordance with the Stores and Procurement Regulations.

(d) The mobile telecommunications market in Hong Kong has all along been open to all without restriction on ownership by non-domestic capital. Judging by past experience in spectrum auction, the situation mentioned in the question does not arise. Moreover, to ensure a level playing field, the CA has already decided to impose a 40MHz spectrum cap to all spectrum assignees in this spectrum reassignment, so as to limit the amount of spectrum in the 1.9-2.2 GHz band to be held by each operator.

Wednesday, December 11, 2013