重要演辭及資料



立法會三題:在政府物業設置無線電基站

以下為今日(七月十日)立法會會議上陳恒鑌議員的提問和商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑的答覆:

問題:

近日,有不少市民向本人投訴,政府未經諮詢受影響的市民便批准電訊服務營辦商(電訊商),於遊樂場(例如荃景圍遊樂場)或公園等公眾遊樂場地內,安裝大量電訊發射器(發射器),他們感到被蒙在鼓裡。據悉,某些發射器的安裝位置與長者做運動及小朋友玩耍的地方相距只有10米。該等市民擔心長期暴露於發射器釋出的輻射,令健康受損。此外,在政府或私人建築物內安裝的發射器數目亦不斷增加。另一方面,有報道指香港現時採用的非電離輻射安全標準過時。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)當局現時採用甚麼準則審批電訊商在公眾遊樂場地安裝發射器的申請;審批過程有否包括諮詢市民的程序;若有,詳情為何;若否,原因為何,以及有否檢討審批過程的透明度是否足夠;現時有多少個公眾遊樂場地已安裝發射器;政府有否措施監管有關發射器的數目;如有,詳情為何;如否,原因為何;

(二)現時有否限制電訊商在政府或私人建築物安裝發射器的數目;有關當局審批申請時,須否諮詢受影響的人士及公眾;如否,原因為何;及

(三)香港現時採用的非電離輻射安全標準,與歐美先進國家所採用的標準比較有何差異,以及後者是否較嚴格;如是,當局為何不採用較嚴格的標準,以及會否就此作出檢討?

答覆:

主席:

問題涉及不同政策工作範疇,在諮詢相關的政策局及部門後,現就問題的三個部分綜合答覆如下:

(一)當流動網絡營辦商(營辦商)擬在政府物業設置無線電基站(基站),他們需按程序向管理相關場地的政府部門及其他相關部門(包括地政總署、規劃署、建築署、機電工程署及通訊事務管理局辦公室(通訊辦))分別提交該裝置的詳細資料以作考慮。營辦商在取得所有相關部門同意有關基站的設置後,才可與政府產業署簽訂租約並安裝有關基站。

現時有四個康樂及文化事務署轄下的公園已獲批准安裝基站。由於相關政府部門已訂明申請設置基站的程序及要求,因此政府在審批申請時並沒有特別進行諮詢工作。

在設置基站申請及安裝基站的程序完成後,營辦商須根據電訊牌照條款,先獲得通訊事務管理局(通訊局)的批准,才可以啟用基站。通訊局在審批有關申請時的主要考慮為基站是否符合電磁相容性及輻射安全的技術要求,當中除會檢視有關個別基站的輻射水平外,亦會考慮在同一地點所有基站的總輻射水平,確保總輻射水平符合國際安全標準,以保障市民健康。

營辦商須確保所有基站的總輻射水平低於國際安全標準的限值,並需在基站投入使用的一個月內,向通訊辦提交測量報告,證明基站的總輻射水平符合安全要求,而通訊辦亦會對基站抽樣進行實地輻射水平測量。

(二)為了改善及擴展流動電話網絡覆蓋範圍,向市民提供無間斷的通訊服務,營辦商會在全港各處設置基站,以增強網絡覆蓋及增大網絡容量,滿足市民對流動通訊上的需求。營辦商設置基站的申請必須符合相關法例和指引,以及有關政府部門的要求。正如上文所述,相關政府部門已訂明申請設置基站的程序及要求,因此政府在審批申請時並沒有特別進行諮詢工作。而通訊局在審批有關啟用申請時,亦會考慮在同一地點所有基站的總輻射水平,確保市民不會接收過量輻射。

(三)就輻射安全標準方面,通訊局經諮詢衞生署後,採用國際非電離輻射防護委員會(International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection,簡稱ICNIRP)所建議的非電離輻射限值作為審批基站啟用申請的準則。

ICNIRP是一個獨立的科學委員會,該委員會所制定的非電離輻射限值已獲世界衞生組織確認。該標準或與其相約的輻射安全標準普遍被國際社會,如美國、加拿大、德國、法國、韓國、澳洲、新西蘭等國家使用。而世界衞生組織亦指出,現時並無科學證據顯示符合ICNIRP標準的基站會造成不良的健康影響。

通訊辦會留意輻射安全標準最新的發展,並不時尋求衞生署相關專業意見,以保障市民的健康。

2013年7月10日(星期三)

Speeches and Presentations



LCQ3: Installation of radio base stations at government properties

Following is a question by the Hon Chan Han-pan and a reply by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, in the Legislative Council meeting today (July 10):

Question:

Recently, quite a number of members of the public have complained to me that the Government has granted, without consulting those members of the public who will be affected, approval to telecommunications service operators (TSOs) for installing a large number of telecommunications transmitters (transmitters) at public pleasure grounds such as playgrounds (e.g. Tsuen King Circuit Recreation Ground) or parks. These members of the public feel that they have been kept in the dark. It is learnt that some of the transmitters have been installed at locations only 10 metres away from the areas where the elderly do exercises and the children play. These members of the public are worried that prolonged exposure to the radiation generated by such transmitters is harmful to health. In addition, the number of transmitters installed at government or private buildings has also increased continuously. On the other hand, some press reports have pointed out that the non-ionising radiation safety standards currently adopted by Hong Kong are outdated. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) of the criteria currently adopted by the authorities for vetting and approving applications by TSOs for installing transmitters at public pleasure grounds; whether consultation with members of the public is part of the vetting and approving process; if so, of the details; if not, the reasons for that, and whether they have reviewed the vetting and approving process to see if there is sufficient transparency; of the number of public pleasure grounds in which transmitters have been installed at present; whether the Government has taken measures to regulate the number of such transmitters; if it has, of the details; if not, the reasons for that;

(b) whether there is any restriction on the number of transmitters installed by TSOs at government or private buildings at present; whether the authorities concerned are required to consult those who will be affected and the public when vetting and approving such applications; if not, of the reasons for that; and

(c) how the non-ionising radiation safety standards currently adopted by Hong Kong compare with those adopted by the advanced countries in Europe and the United States, and whether the latter standards are more stringent; if so, why the authorities have not adopted the more stringent standards, and whether they will conduct a review in this regard?

Reply:

President,

As the question involves various policy areas, we have consulted relevant bureaux and departments and a consolidated reply to the three parts of the question is as follows:

(a) Mobile network operators (operators) intending to install radio base stations (base stations) at government properties are required to submit the details of the base stations to the government department responsible for the management of the premises concerned and other related departments (including the Lands Department, Planning Department, Architectural Services Department, Electrical and Mechanical Services Department, and Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA)) in accordance with stipulated procedures for consideration. Upon the agreement of all relevant departments on the installation of the base stations, the operators may sign a lease with the Government Property Agency and proceed with the installation.

At present, approval has been given for the installation of base stations at four parks managed by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department. As the government departments concerned have already laid down the application procedures and requirements for the installation of base stations, the Government did not conduct any specific consultation when vetting and approving the applications.

After completing the installation procedure, in accordance with the telecommunications licence conditions, operators must first obtain approval from the Communications Authority (CA) before bringing the base stations into use. In vetting and approving the applications, the CA will consider if the base stations comply with the technical requirements on electromagnetic compatibility and radiation safety. To safeguard public health, apart from the radiation level of individual base stations, the CA will also take into account the total radiation level of all base stations at a single location to ensure that the total radiation level complies with the international safety standards.

Operators must ensure that the total level of radiation generated by all base stations is below the limits of international safety standards. They are also required to provide OFCA with measurement reports within one month from the commencement of operation of their base stations to demonstrate compliance of total radiation levels with the safety standards. OFCA will also carry out random checks and take field measurement of radiation level at base stations.

(b) To enhance and extend the mobile network coverage with a view to providing the public with continuous communications services, operators install base stations throughout the territory. This is to boost network coverage and increase network capacity so as to meet public demand for mobile communications services. Operators' applications for the installation of base stations must comply with the relevant legislation and guidelines as well as the requirements of the government departments concerned. As mentioned above, as the application procedures and requirements for the installation of base stations had already been laid down by the government departments concerned, the Government did not conduct any specific consultation when vetting and approving the applications. The CA will also take into account the total radiation level of all base stations at a single location in vetting and approving applications for putting base stations into operation so as to protect residents from excessive radiation exposure.

(c) Regarding the radiation safety standards, the CA, in consultation with the Department of Health (DH), has adopted the non-ionising radiation limits recommended by the International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP) as the criteria for vetting and approving applications for putting the radio base stations into operation.

The ICNIRP is an independent scientific commission. The non-ionising radiation limits set out by the commission were endorsed by the World Health Organization (WHO). The standards or similar radiation safety standards are widely adopted by the international community, including such countries as the United States, Canada, Germany, France, Korea, Australia and New Zealand. The WHO has also pointed out that there is no scientific evidence to show that base stations meeting the ICNIRP standards will pose a health hazard.

The OFCA will keep track of the latest development in radiation safety standards and from time to time seek the professional advice of the DH in order to safeguard public health.

Wednesday, July 10, 2013