重要演辭及資料



立法會十五題:本地免費電視節目服務牌照申請

以下為今日(十月九日)立法會會議上毛孟靜議員的提問和商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑的書面答覆:

問題:

本會在去年十一月通過動議,要求政府承諾於今年三月底前發出額外的本地免費電視節目服務牌照(免費電視牌照),行政長官早前亦曾表示會盡快處理有關申請。然而,有市民向本人反映,開放本地免費電視市場已是大眾共識,但政府一直拖延發出免費電視牌照,處理有關申請超過兩年卻仍未有審批結果,期間亦未有對外詳細交代進展。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一) 由去年十一月至今,政府在增發免費電視牌照方面的工作進展為何;為何需要漫長時間審批申請;

(二) 鑑於有報章報道,行政長官會同行政會議曾於上月討論有關發出免費電視牌照的程序,行政會議秘書處曾否提供任何資料或支援,協助行政長官會同行政會議作出有關討論;如有,詳情為何;及

(三) 鑑於通訊事務管理局較早前裁定電視廣播有限公司(無綫電視)違反《廣播條例》(第562章)的競爭條文,並施加罰款90萬元,惟有市民質疑有關裁判未能有效阻止無綫電視濫用其支配優勢,政府會否短期內增發免費電視牌照,以扭轉一台獨大的局面;如會,具體時間表為何;如否,原因為何?

答覆:

主席:  

就香港電視網絡有限公司、奇妙電視有限公司及香港電視娛樂有限公司分別提交的本地免費電視節目服務牌照申請(三宗申請),前廣播事務管理局(即通訊事務管理局(通訊局)的前身)早前已按照《廣播條例》(第562章)(條例)及既定程序,根據多項相關因素完成審核三宗申請,並就該等申請向行政長官會同行政會議提交建議。

就問題的三部分,我的答覆如下:

(一)及(二) 當局一直根據條例及既定程序,盡快且謹慎地處理三宗申請。正如當局曾在不同場合多次解釋,由於審理三宗申請涉及複雜的事宜,包括有關法例條文的規定和程序公義的問題,因此需要時間小心處理。由於三宗申請現正由行政長官會同行政會議審議,對於傳媒就該等申請的報導,政府現階段不適宜作出回應。

(三) 一直以來,政府的廣播政策是促進本地廣播業持續發展,鼓勵業界公平競爭、投資及採用新科技,為市民提供高質素、多選擇的電視節目。有關政策一直維持不變。另外,條例有相關條文處理廣播業的反競爭行為,其中條例第13條訂明,持牌人不得從事通訊局認為目的在於防止、扭曲或在相當程度上限制電視節目服務市場競爭的行為,亦不得從事通訊局認為會有如此效果的行為;條例第14條則規定,在電視節目服務市場處於支配優勢的持牌人,不得濫用其支配優勢。通訊局可就反競爭行為作出的投訴作出調查,而違反有關條文的持牌人可遭通訊局施加罰款或其它懲罰。正如問題中提及,通訊局早前根據條例展開調查,最後裁定電視廣播有限公司(無綫電視)的某些行為違反條例的競爭條文(通訊局的裁決),通訊局的裁決中其中一項指示,是要求無綫電視於四個月內提交報告,說明和確認無綫電視為遵從通訊局的指示而採取了的步驟。我們相信通訊局會繼續留意電視市場的情況,切實執行條例的競爭條文,以確保所有持牌人,特別是具市場支配優勢的持牌人,不得從事法例禁止的反競爭行為。

至於三宗申請,正如上文答覆所提及,當局一直嚴格遵守有關法例要求及既定程序,盡快且謹慎地處理。當行政長官會同行政會議作出決定後,我們便會盡快公布結果。

2013年10月9日(星期三)

Speeches and Presentations



LCQ15: Applications for domestic free television programme service licences

Following is a question by the Hon Claudia Mo and a written reply by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, at the Legislative Council meeting today (October 9):

Question:

This Council passed a motion last November urging the Government to undertake to issue additional domestic free television programme service licences (free TV licences) by the end of March this year, and the Chief Executive has also indicated earlier that the applications would be handled expeditiously. However, some members of the public have relayed to me that while opening up the domestic free television market has already been a general consensus, the Government has been procrastinating on the issuance of free TV licences as the vetting and approval results are still pending after the applications have been processed for more than two years, and no detailed account of the progress has been made public throughout the period. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) of the progress of the issuance of additional free TV licences by the Government since last November; why the vetting and approval of applications has taken such a long time;

(b) given the press report that the Chief Executive (CE) in Council discussed last month the procedure for the issuance of free TV licences, whether the Executive Council Secretariat has provided any information or support to assist the CE in Council in the deliberations on the issue; if so, of the details; and

(c) given that the Communications Authority has ruled earlier that the Television Broadcasts Limited (TVB) violated the competition provisions of the Broadcasting Ordinance (Cap. 562) and has imposed a fine of $900,000, but some members of the public have queried if the aforesaid ruling can prevent TVB from abusing its dominance, whether the Government will issue additional free TV licence shortly to reverse the situation in which the market is dominated by one television broadcaster; if it will, of the specific timetable; if not, the reasons for that?

Reply:

President,

Hong Kong Television Network Limited, Fantastic Television Limited and HK Television Entertainment Company Limited have each submitted an application for a domestic free television programme service licence (hereinafter referred to as the "three applications"). The former Broadcasting Authority (i.e. the predecessor of the Communications Authority (CA)), after taking into account various relevant factors and in accordance with the Broadcasting Ordinance (Chapter 562) (BO) and established procedures, has earlier completed the assessment of the three applications, and submitted recommendations thereon to the Chief Executive (CE) in Council.

My reply to the three-part question is as follows:

(a)&(b) The Administration has been processing the three applications expeditiously and prudently in accordance with the BO and established procedures. As the Administration has repeatedly explained on various occasions, the processing of the three applications involves complicated issues, including those relating to statutory requirements and procedural fairness, which require time for careful handling. Since the three applications are still being considered by the CE in Council, it is inappropriate at this stage for the Government to respond to the relevant media reports.

(c) It has been the Government's established broadcasting policy to promote the sustainable development of the local broadcasting industry and encourage fair competition, investment and adoption of innovative technologies in the industry, thereby bringing more choices of quality programmes to the public. Such a policy has remained unchanged. Besides, there are provisions in the BO to deal with anti-competitive conduct in the broadcasting industry. Section 13 of the BO stipulates that a licensee shall not engage in conduct which, in the opinion of the CA, has the purpose or effect of preventing, distorting or substantially restricting competition in a television programme service market. Under section 14 of the BO, a licensee in a dominant position in a television programme service market shall not abuse its position. The CA may investigate complaints about anti-competitive conduct, and may impose a fine or other penalties on a licensee found to have contravened the relevant provisions. As mentioned in the question, the CA, after its investigation in accordance with the BO, has earlier found that certain practices of the Television Broadcasts Limited (TVB) have contravened the competition provisions of the BO (CA's Decision). One of the directions given in the CA's Decision is that TVB shall provide a report within four months describing and confirming the steps taken by TVB to comply with the directions of the CA. We believe that the CA will continue to keep track of the television market situation and strictly enforce the competition provisions of the BO so as to ensure that all licensees, especially those in a dominant position, are prohibited from engaging in anti-competitive practices in contravention of the legislation.

As far as the three applications are concerned, the Administration has been, as mentioned above, processing them expeditiously and prudently in strict accordance with the statutory requirements and established procedures. We will announce the outcome as soon as possible after a decision is made by the CE in Council.

Wednesday, October 9, 2013