重要演辭及資料



商務及經濟發展局局長歡迎世貿組織達致峇里成果為香港帶來益處

商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑歡迎世界貿易組織(世貿組織)於十二月三至六日在印尼峇里島舉行的第9屆部長級會議上,達致峇里成果(Bali Package)。

蘇錦樑今日(十二月八日)說:「這是世貿組織自一九九五年成立以來成功完成的首項貿易成果,為多邊貿易談判取得突破。峇里成果的多項元素中,新的《貿易便利化協定》將特別有利於作為國際貿易中心的香港及相關產業,尤其是貿易及物流。」

世貿組織《貿易便利化協定》訂立具約束力的規則,改善和統一全體世貿組織成員的貨物進出口和通關手續和程序。新協定將令跨境貿易變得更容易,有助商界及政府減低成本及提高效率。

根據世貿組織,《貿易便利化協定》可以把全世界的全球供應鏈壁壘及繁瑣手續減少一半,並擴大全球整體經濟約4.5%﹝即1萬億美元﹞。世界經濟論壇亦估計,《貿易便利化協定》將減少全球供應鏈的壁壘,其提高全球本地生產總值的成效,將為消除所有進口關稅的六倍。

蘇錦樑指出:「香港作為出口導向經濟體和貿易中心,將必然受惠於《貿易便利化協定》。」

峇里成果其他部分涵蓋特定農業及發展議題。成果包括回應發展中和最不發達成員對糧食安全的關注、改善農業貿易中的關稅配額率管理及出口補貼、給予最不發達國家棉花產品的市場准入和援助、建立監督機制對發展中國家享有的特殊和差別待遇進行監督,以及改善最不發達國家產品和服務出口到發達國家的市場。這些協定將協助發展中和最不發達成員融入多邊貿易制度。

蘇錦樑續說:「對於全體世貿組織成員能夠達致成功及平衡的峇里成果,香港作為多邊貿易制度的堅定支持者,感到極為鼓舞。這項成果將會為世界帶來龐大的經濟增長、創造就業和提供商機。」

「我們將繼續與其他世貿組織成員緊密合作,並積極參與多邊貿易談判,特別是涉及服務業和資訊科技產品方面,以確保香港的供應商享有最佳的市場准入條件,並提供最好的環境為香港吸引外來投資。」

世貿組織159名成員的貿易部長和官員出席了第9屆部長級會議。緊密的磋商幾近日以繼夜地進行,直至十二月七日同意達成峇里成果。

從二零零一年展開的更廣泛性多哈發展議程談判中,峇里成果選擇了個別議題作為早期收穫,標誌着歷史性的進展。這次成果重建對於世貿組織作為一個尋求多邊貿易自由化談判機構的信心,並為其探索「後峇里」工作計劃注入新的動力。

多哈發展議程談判旨在達成農業產品、工業貨品及服務貿易自由化;釐清和改善貿易規則和訂立新規則;以及回應發展中經濟體所關注的事宜。

2013年12月8日(星期日)

Speeches and Presentations



SCED hails benefits to HK following conclusion of the Bali Package at WTO

The Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, welcomes the conclusion of the Bali Package at the Ninth Ministerial Conference (MC9) of the World Trade Organization (WTO) held in Bali, Indonesia from December 3 to 6.

"It is a breakthrough in the multilateral trade negotiations by sealing the first-ever trade package since the WTO was established in 1995. Amongst the various elements of the Bali Package, the new Agreement on Trade Facilitation (TFA) will particularly benefit Hong Kong as an international trading hub and related industries, notably trading and logistics," Mr So said today (December 8).

The WTO TFA sets out binding obligations for all WTO Members to improve and harmonise their import/export and customs formalities and procedures. It will make cross-border trade easier, and help reduce costs and improve efficiency for both businesses and governments.

According to the WTO, the TFA may reduce worldwide barriers to global supply chains and red tape by half, and expand the world economy by about 4.5 per cent (i.e. US$ 1 trillion). The World Economic Forum also estimates that, by reducing barriers to global supply chains, the TFA will have an effect on raising global GDP which is six times that of eliminating all import tariffs.

"Hong Kong, being an export-oriented economy and a trading centre, will stand to benefit from the TFA," Mr So pointed out.

The other elements of the Bali Package cover specific Agriculture and Development issues. The outcomes include provision of flexibility for developing and least-developed Members to address their concerns in food security, improvement of tariff rate quota administration and export subsidies in agricultural trade, market access and development assistance for cotton products from least developed countries (LDCs), establishment of a Monitoring Mechanism for monitoring special and differential treatment given to developing countries, as well as improved access of LDCs' products and services to the developed countries' markets. They would assist the integration of the developing and least developed Members into the multilateral trading system.

"Being a staunch supporter of the multilateral trading system, Hong Kong is most encouraged that all WTO Members were able to deliver a successful and balanced Bali Package. This is a package that brings tremendous economic growth, creates jobs and provides business opportunities for the world.

"We will continue to work closely with other WTO Members and take an active role in the multilateral trade negotiations, particularly those in the services sectors and information technology products, to secure the best possible market access for Hong Kong suppliers, and provide the best possible environment for Hong Kong to attract foreign investment," Mr So added.

Trade ministers and officials from 159 Members attended the MC9 of the WTO. Intensive consultations were conducted almost round the clock until a deal on Bali Package was agreed on December 7.

The Package marked a historic progress for the early harvest of a selection of issues from the broader Doha Development Agenda (DDA) negotiations that were launched in 2001. It rebuilds the credibility of the WTO as a negotiating body to pursue multilateral trade liberalisation and gives new impetus to its exploration of post-Bali work programmes.

The DDA negotiations aim at achieving liberalisation in the trade of agricultural products, industrial goods and services; clarifying and improving trade rules and making new rules; as well as addressing the concerns of developing economies.

Sunday, December 8, 2013