重要演辭及資料



立法會十題:要求互聯網服務供應商公開或移除用戶資料

以下為今日(二月六日)立法會會議上莫乃光議員的提問和商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑的書面答覆:

問題:

根據互聯網搜尋服務供應商谷歌(Google)每半年發表的《資訊公開報告》,政府曾於二○一二年上半年向該公司提出192次公開其用戶資料的要求,但其中約有三分之二的要求不獲該公司受理。該報告又指出,香港海關曾要求該公司移除旗下視頻網站YouTube上370段涉嫌侵權的影片,但由於香港海關提供的資料不完整,因此有關要求不獲該公司受理。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)過去三年,曾向谷歌提出公開其用戶資料要求的政府部門的名稱,以及各部門分別提出要求的類別和各類別的次數、提出要求的原因、是否根據法庭命令提出、要求公開的用戶資料詳情、要求有否獲受理,以及谷歌就不受理要求給予的理由為何;

(二)過去三年,曾否向其他互聯網服務供應商提出類似的要求;若有,有關的供應商名稱及是否屬本地或外地公司,並列出與上文第(一)項同類的資料;

(三)過去三年,當局曾向各類網絡服務供應商/網絡平台/網站提出多少項移除用戶資料的要求;有關的網絡服務供應商/網絡平台/網站的名稱、提出要求的政府部門的名稱,以及各部門提出要求移除的用戶資料的類型和各類型的次數、提出要求的原因、是否根據法庭命令提出、要求移除的資料的詳情、要求有否獲有關機構受理,以及有關機構就不受理要求給予的理由;

(四)當局有否檢討香港海關要求YouTube移除的影片全數未被移除的原因;若有,詳情為何;若否,原因為何;及

(五)當局有否設立中央機制或程序,以統籌或規範各政府部門及執法機關向各類互聯網服務供應商/網絡平台/網站提出索取或移除用戶資料的要求;如有,詳情為何;如否,會否設立該統一中央機制或程序,並要求各部門遵守?

答覆:

主席:

就問題的五部分,當局的回覆如下:

(一)及(二)過去三年,曾向互聯網服務供應商(包括谷歌)提出公開其用戶資料要求的政府部門及有關資料綜合表列於附件一。

(三)過去三年,曾向網絡服務供應商/網絡平台/網站提出移除用戶資料要求的政府部門及有關資料表列於附件二。

(四)香港海關於二○一二年四月分別接獲香港影業協會、版權持有人及公眾人士的投訴,指YouTube上載有當時正在上映的一套港產電影的侵權影片,供人免費觀看整套電影。香港影業協會也同時向香港海關投訴,在YouTube找到涉及其他電影的侵權影片,要求香港海關協助和調查。

香港海關在調查後,確認在YouTube上可以免費觀看370段被投訴侵權的影片,涉及189部電影。香港海關於是根據版權持有人提供的資料,要求YouTube刪除有關的侵權影片,以減少對版權持有人造成的損失。其後,YouTube通知香港海關因為需要版權持有人提供進一步資料及確認,故未能移除有關的侵權影片。香港海關於是通知版權持有人直接向YouTube提供所需資料。版權持有人其後向香港海關反映,YouTube在獲取有關資料後已刪除部分的侵權影片。

(五)各政府部門及執法機關人員在執行職務時,如須要求相關人士或機構(包括互聯網服務供應商/網絡平台/網站)提供資料或作出配合,會按照相關的法例、既定的程序或守則進行。政府現時並沒有中央機制或程序,統籌或規範各政府部門及執法機關向各類互聯網服務供應商/網絡平台/網站提出索取或移除用戶資料的要求。現行機制運作良好,我們認為無須另外設立一套適用於互聯網服務供應商/網絡平台/網站的中央機制或程序。

2013年2月6日(星期三)

附件 I PDF

附件 II PDF

Speeches and Presentations



LCQ10: Request Internet service providers for disclosure or removal of users' information

Following is a question by Hon Charles Mok and a written reply by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, at the Legislative Council meeting today (February 6):

Question:

According to the Transparency Report published biannually by Google, an Internet search-engine service provider, the Government had made 192 requests to the company for disclosure of its users' information in the first half of 2012, but about two-thirds of such requests were not acceded to by the company. The Report has also pointed out that the Hong Kong Customs and Excise Department (C&ED) had requested the company to remove from YouTube, its subsidiary video web site, 370 videos which were suspected of infringing copyright. However, as the information provided by C&ED was incomplete, the request was not acceded to by the company. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) of the names of the government departments which had made requests to Google for disclosure of its users' information in the past three years, and the types of requests and the number for each type, the reasons for making such requests, whether the requests were made under court orders, the details of the users' information requested for disclosure, whether the requests were acceded to and the reasons given by Google for not acceding to the requests, in the past three years;

(b) whether it had made similar requests to other Internet service providers (ISPs) in the past three years; if it had, of the names of the ISPs concerned and whether they were local or non-local companies, and the same types of information in (a) above;

(c) of the number of requests made in the past three years by the authorities to various types of ISPs/Internet platforms/web sites for removal of their users' information; the names of the ISPs/Internet platforms/web sites concerned, the names of the government departments which had made such requests, and the types of users' information requested by various departments for removal and the number for each type, the reasons for making such requests, whether the requests were made under court orders, the details of the users' information requested for removal, whether the requests were acceded to by the companies concerned and the reasons given by the companies for not acceding to the requests;

(d) whether the authorities have reviewed the reasons why all the videos which C&ED requested YouTube to remove were not removed; if they have, of the details; if not, the reasons for that; and

(e) whether the authorities have put in place a central mechanism or procedure to co-ordinate or regulate the requests made by various government departments and law enforcement agencies to various types of ISPs/Internet platforms/web sites for disclosure or removal of their users' information; if they have, of the details; if not, whether they will put in place such standardised central mechanism or procedure, and require all departments to follow?

Reply:

President,

Regarding the five-part question, the Administration's reply is as follows:

(a) and (b) The names of the government departments which had made requests to Internet service providers (ISPs), including Google, for disclosure of their users' information in the past three years and the relevant information are consolidated at Annex I.

(c) The names of the government departments which had made requests to various ISPs/Internet platforms/web sites for removal of their users' information in the past three years and the relevant information are set out in Annex II.

(d) In April 2012, the Customs and Excise Department (C&ED) received complaints from the Motion Picture Industry Association (MPIA), copyright owners and the public that a Hong Kong movie being shown in cinemas had been uploaded to YouTube. People could see the whole movie for free. MPIA also complained to C&ED that there were other infringing movies on YouTube and requested C&ED to assist and investigate.

Upon investigation, C&ED confirmed that 370 infringing video clippings, involving 189 movies, could be viewed on YouTube free of charge. To minimise the loss that might be caused to the copyright owners, C&ED requested YouTube to remove the related infringing videos based on the information provided by the copyright owners. YouTube responded that they could not accede to the request as further information and confirmation from copyright owners would be required. C&ED thus advised the copyright owners to furnish the required information to YouTube direct. The copyright owners subsequently revealed to C&ED that YouTube had deleted some of the infringing videos after obtaining the relevant information.

(e) In carrying out their duties, the officers of individual government departments and law enforcement agencies may request for information or co-operation from the relevant persons or organisations (including ISPs/Internet platforms/web sites) as and when necessary in accordance with the relevant laws and established procedures or guidelines. The Government does not have a central mechanism or procedure to co-ordinate or regulate the requests made by government departments and law enforcement agencies to various types of ISPs/Internet platforms/web sites for disclosure or removal of their users’ information. Since the existing mechanism functions effectively, we do not think it is necessary to establish a separate central mechanism or procedure for ISPs/Internet platforms/web sites.

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Annex I PDF

Annex II PDF