重要演辭及資料



立法會十二題:網絡欺凌

以下為今日(十二月十九日)在立法會會議上陳健波議員的提問和商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑的書面回覆:

問題:

據報,網絡欺凌事件在香港時有發生。例如,近日有一名即將結婚的女士在社交網站發表有關其婚宴賀禮金額的言論,即惹來網民以侮辱性言詞攻擊、將其照片、婚宴日期及地點、工作地址及職位、住址、病歷及家人照片等個人資料和私隱在網上公開,甚至致電騷擾,該名女士的情緒因而受到困擾。亦有網民在網上設立一個討論區,專門對一名曾是會考狀元的大學生作人身攻擊,並在其網誌留下過千條侮辱性留言。此外,有一名護士將一名病人的資料上載到社交網站供網友嘲笑。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)過去五年,香港個人資料私隱專員公署接獲有關網絡欺凌的投訴數目、跟進了多少宗此類投訴(並按跟進結果列出分項數字),以及沒有跟進的投訴數目;

(二)過去五年,當局就進行網絡欺凌活動人士有否觸犯法例展開刑事調查的個案數目,並按所涉罪行的類別列出分項數字;當局提出檢控的個案數字,以及法庭對被定罪人士施加的判罰;以及未有提出檢控的個案數字;

(三)對於不涉刑事罪行的網絡欺凌活動,當局有否措施協助受害人免受滋擾;若有,詳情為何;若否,原因為何;及

(四)鑑於美國多個州政府都已制定反欺凌法例,並把網絡欺凌列為罪行,政府會否參考美國的做法,制定有關反網絡欺凌的法例;以及會否推動學校教師、社工及家長對解決網絡欺凌問題擔當更重要的角色;若會,詳情為何;若不會,原因為何?

答覆:

主席:

就問題的四個部分,當局的回覆如下:

(一)目前本港法例未有定義或規管「網絡欺凌」。過去五年,個人資料私隱專員公署接獲四宗牽涉被投訴者通過互聯網,以侮辱性言詞、文字或圖片等方式騷擾他人,並可能違反《個人資料(私隱)條例》的投訴。由於在其中三宗投訴中,投訴人未能指出被投訴者的身分,或投訴人沒有證據支持其指稱,或沒有表面證據顯示個案違反《個人資料(私隱)條例》下的規定,因此個人資料私隱專員公署未能作出跟進,另一宗投訴在處理中。

(二)警方沒有備存與「網絡欺凌」行為相關的統計數字。然而,視乎個別個案的情況,於網絡上發表不當言論可能觸犯不同的罪行,例如刑事恐嚇或勒索等。

(三)政府資訊科技總監辦公室(資科辦)一向關注資訊保安及網絡活動安全。資科辦透過不同宣傳渠道,推廣及教育公眾在使用網上通訊工具和參與社交網絡時需注意安全使用守則,並培養他們使用互聯網的正確態度及資訊保安自衞術。例如不應回應挑釁、不應與滋擾者糾纏等。資科辦已在資訊安全網(www.infosec.gov.hk)提供以上資料供各類機構及市民參考。

當局會繼續向公眾推廣網上安全意識,並鼓勵他們在應用新媒體時,小心處理網絡上的不恰當內容和有害資訊,從而保護自己及減少網上欺凌事件發生和擴散。

(四)任何欺凌活動,無論是發生在網上與否,如果涉及刑事罪行,均受有關法例規管。至於沒有涉及刑事的欺凌行為,無論是否在網上發生,我們認為宣傳及教育市民有關資訊保安自衛術是較合適的做法。

教育局對校園欺凌行為(包括網上欺凌)採取零容忍政策。教育局透過學校通告要求所有學校必須正視並採取積極措施,確保學生在校的安全,以及締造和諧的學校環境。有關資源套裝資料已上載教育局網頁,為學校提供指引和建議。教育局定期舉辦研討會及工作坊,以加強教師就預防和處理學生欺凌問題的能力。

此外,社會福利署在獎券基金的撥款資助下,委託了三間非政府機構,由二○一一年八月起分別推行為期三年的「網上青年外展試驗計劃」(試驗計劃)。三個試驗計劃採取多層面的介入策略,利用不同的網上平台,主動接觸青少年,特別是邊緣青年或隱蔽青年,當中亦包括參與或可能參與網上欺凌等偏差行為的青少年,為他們提供輔導服務。經評估需要跟進服務的青少年,將會被轉介接受現有的主流社會服務,以便發揮更佳的服務協同效應。試驗計劃亦透過講座、研討會等向教師、學生、社工、家長以及社區人士提供教育,提高他們在網絡上保護自己和尊重他人的意識。

2012年12月19日(星期三)

Speeches and Presentations




LCQ12: Cyber-bullying

Following is a question by the Hon Chan Kin-por and a written reply by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, in the Legislative Council today (December 19):

Question:

It has been reported that incidents of cyber-bullying happen in Hong Kong from time to time. For instance, the posting of comments recently by a bride-to-be on the amount of money gift for her wedding banquet on a social networking web site has immediately drawn netizens attacking her with insulting comments and exposing her personal data and privacy (including her photographs, date and venue of the wedding banquet, place of work and job title, home address, medical history and family members' photographs, etc.), and some netizens even harassed her with telephone calls. As a result, that lady felt distressed. Also, some netizens have set up a discussion forum on the Internet dedicated to hurling personal insults at a university student who was a top achiever in the Hong Kong Certificate of Education Examination, and they posted more than a thousand insulting comments on that student's blog. In addition, a nurse uploaded the information of a patient to a social networking web site for ridicule by her net friends. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) of the number of complaints about cyber-bullying received by the Office of the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data in the past five years, the number of such complaints which had been followed up (with a breakdown by result of the follow-up actions), and the number of those complaints which had not been followed up;

(b) of the number of cases in the past five years in which the authorities had carried out criminal investigations into whether those people involved in cyber-bullying activities had breached any law, with a breakdown by the type of offence; the number of cases in which the authorities had instituted prosecutions and the penalties imposed by the court on those convicted; as well as the number of cases in which prosecution was not instituted;

(c) for those cyber-bullying activities not involving criminal offences, whether the authorities have put in place any measures to help protect the victims from such nuisance; if they have, of the details; if not, the reasons for that; and

(d) given that a number of state governments in the United States (US) have already enacted anti-cyber-bullying legislation and made cyber-bullying an offence, whether the Government will make reference to such practice in US and enact anti-cyber-bullying legislation; and whether it will promote school teachers, social workers and parents playing a more important role in resolving cyber-bullying problems; if it will, of the details; if not, the reasons for that?

Reply:

President,

Regarding the four-part question, the Administration's reply is as follows:

(a) At present there is no statute law in Hong Kong defining or governing "cyber-bullying". In the past five years, the Office of the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data received four cases in which the complainees were alleged to have caused harassment to others using insulting phraseology, words or pictures on the Internet, in breach of the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance. Of these cases, three were not pursuable because the complainant failed to identify the complainee; or there was no evidence to support the allegation; or there was no prima facie evidence to show that there was contravention of the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance. The remaining case is being dealt with.

(b) The Police have not kept any related statistics of "cyber bullying" acts. Nevertheless, depending on the circumstances of individual case, the publication of inappropriate statements on the Internet may involve different offences, such as criminal intimidation or blackmail.

(c) The Office of the Government Chief Information Officer (OGCIO) always attaches great importance to information security and online safety. Through different publicity channels, OGCIO promotes security awareness among the public, educates them on the security best practices of using online communications tools and participating in social networking activities, guides them on how to establish the right attitude of using the Internet and how to protect themselves when using the Internet. Protection measures include not responding to online provocation and not confronting stalkers. OGCIO has provided the above information on the information security portal (www.infosec.gov.hk) for reference by organisations and citizens.

The Administration will continue to promote online security awareness among the public, and will encourage them on the careful handling of inappropriate online content and harmful information when using new communications media, with a view to protecting themselves and reducing the occurrence and spread of cyber-bullying incidents.

(d) All bullying activities (cyber or not) are governed by relevant legislation if they involve criminal offences. As for those bullying activities (cyber or not) that do not involve criminal offences, we believe it is more appropriate to promote security awareness among the public and educate them on how to protect themselves when using the Internet.

The Education Bureau (EDB) adopts a zero tolerance policy on school bullying, including cyber-bullying. EDB has issued a circular to all schools asking them to take the matter seriously and implement positive measures to ensure the safety of students at school and create a harmonious school environment. Relevant resource package materials, which provide guidelines and advice for schools, have been uploaded on EDB webpage. EDB regularly organises seminars and workshops to strengthen teachers' capability of preventing and handling student bullying problems.

Moreover, the Social Welfare Department has commissioned three non-governmental organisations to each launch a three-year pilot cyber youth outreaching project (pilot project) with funding support from the Lotteries Fund with effect from August 2011. The three pilot projects adopt the strategy of multi-level intervention and use various cyber means to proactively reach out to young people, in particular at-risk or hidden youths, including those who engage in or might engage in at-risk behaviour like cyber-bullying and provide counselling services to them. Those who are assessed to be in need of follow-up services will be connected to the existing mainstream social services for better service synergy. These pilot projects also provide education to teachers, students, social workers, parents and the community through talks, seminars, etc. to enhance their sense of self-protection and their respect for others in the cyber world.

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

[- back -]