重要演辭及資料



立法會十七題:數碼聲音廣播

以下為今日(十月十七日)立法會會議上馮檢基議員的提問和商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑的書面答覆:

問題:

正式啟播不足一個月的香港數碼廣播有限公司轄下的七個數碼聲音廣播電台曾於較早前全部停止廣播。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)上述停播事件的最新發展,以及相關事件的經過;有否評估停播對公眾的影響;

(二)當局過去有否就可能發生停播事件與該公司作任何溝通和進行調停等工作,以避免發生停播事件,令公眾失去收聽高音質和原創聲音廣播節目的選擇;若否,原因為何,有否評估此舉與當局推廣和宣傳數碼廣播發展的政策方向是否存在矛盾,以及會否對引入數碼收音機的小企業和響應政府呼籲而購買了數碼收音機的市民不公平;及

(三)有否評估停播事件對香港數碼廣播的未來發展的影響;若有,結果為何,包括會否影響仍未正式啟播的其餘兩間數碼聲音廣播公司;當局會否考慮現階段積極介入停播事件和進行調停等工作,協助香港數碼廣播有限公司的電台盡快恢復廣播,令公眾可繼續享有更多原創的聲音廣播節目選擇,以協助香港的數碼廣播得以持續發展?

答覆:

主席:

行政長官會同行政會議在二○一一年三月,向香港數碼廣播有限公司(香港數碼)、新城廣播有限公司(新城)和鳳凰優悅廣播有限公司(鳳凰優悅)發出聲音廣播牌照,提供數碼聲音廣播服務。該三間商營機構,聯同香港電台(港台),分階段提供合共18條數碼聲音廣播頻道。通訊事務管理局(通訊局),作為獨立的法定監管機構,負責監察廣播持牌機構遵守有關法例及牌照條款的規定。

三間商營機構的聲音廣播牌照要求它們須於發出牌照18個月(即二○一二年九月二十一日)內正式提供服務。在香港數碼的牌照中,該公司須在正式啟播時提供七條每日24小時廣播的頻道(包括一條「有聲台」頻道、一條少數族裔頻道和兩條純音樂頻道;其餘三條頻道則可用作新聞財經頻道、悠閒生活頻道、社區頻道或音樂頻道)。香港數碼在去年八月開始試播服務,並按牌照要求如期正式提供服務。至於其餘三間數碼聲音廣播營辦機構(即新城、鳳凰優悅及港台),亦已正式啟播共七條節目頻道,並會逐步增至11條節目頻道。

通訊事務管理局辦公室(通訊辦)於十月十日下午,接獲涉及香港數碼於當日晚上八時後停止運作事宜的書面通知。由於該公司的書面通知並無提供任何其他相關資料,通訊辦已在當晚即時去信香港數碼,重申牌照要求,並要求該公司交代詳情。十月十二日下午,通訊辦接獲香港數碼將於十月十五日恢復廣播的書面通知。通訊辦已於即日去信香港數碼了解復播詳情,並提醒香港數碼需遵守牌照條款和《電訊條例》(第106章)。通訊辦在收到香港數碼的回覆,並在了解事件詳情後,會根據牌照條款和《電訊條例》,適當跟進有關事宜。根據《廣播(雜項條文)條例》(第391章)及有關牌照,若證實有違反牌照條款的情況,通訊局有權施加懲罰,例如罰款或暫時吊銷牌照等。

在我們得悉香港數碼股東之間出現分歧以來,我們一直密切跟進事態發展,與香港數碼管理層保持聯繫,並提醒該公司必須履行牌照條款。商務及經濟發展局亦曾就媒體報道兩度去信香港數碼要求澄清,以及應香港數碼的要求,不止一次與該公司管理層會面。不過,我們重申,個別持牌機構有責任自行妥善處理內部事務。政府當局不適宜干預傳媒機構的內部運作,亦不宜擔當商業調解員的角色,調解私人公司股東之間在注資方面的分歧。我們已一再呼籲,希望香港數碼的股東以聽眾的期望和利益為依歸,以務實態度解決分歧。如有涉及廣播方面的投訴,有關人士可循既定機制向獨立的通訊局提出,以作調查跟進。

我們重申,政府一貫的政策是支持數碼聲音廣播的發展,致力提升數碼聲音廣播的服務水平。這項政策十分明確,並沒有因近期事件而有任何改變。自發出數碼聲音廣播牌照以來,政府採取了一系列的支援措施,推動數碼聲音廣播的發展,當中包括基礎建設(例如投入超過四千六百萬元在11條政府隧道裝設數碼聲音廣播系統,以及在與內地當局商討頻譜協調後把有關廣播功率提高等)、進行宣傳推廣等。

數碼聲音廣播是嶄新的廣播服務。最近有關香港數碼股東之間的分歧令該公司營運出現問題,對發展數碼聲音廣播會帶來影響。但港台和另外兩間商營機構現正按計劃或牌照規定提供數碼聲音廣播服務。我們期望聽眾能給予時間和空間讓這項嶄新服務繼續發展。

2012年10月17日(星期三)

Speeches and Presentations



LCQ17: Digital audio broadcasting

Following is a question by the Hon Frederick Fung and a written reply by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, in the Legislative Council today (October 17):

Question:

Less than one month after their official launching, all the seven digital audio channels of Digital Broadcasting Corporation Hong Kong Limited (DBC) had discontinued their broadcasting services earlier. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) of the latest development of the aforesaid discontinuation of broadcasting services as well as the sequence of events leading to the incident; whether it has assessed the impact of the discontinuation on the public;

(b) whether the authorities have conducted any communication with DBC on the possible discontinuation and carried out any mediations, etc., so as to avoid the discontinuation of broadcasting services which will deprive the public of the choice of listening to audio broadcasting programmes of high sound quality and originality; if they have not, of the reasons for that, whether they have assessed if their failure to respond is contrary to the policy direction of the authorities in promoting and publicising the development of digital broadcasting, and is not fair to small enterprises which have imported digital radio sets as well as members of the public who have bought digital radio sets in response to the Government's appeal; and

(c) whether it has assessed the impact of the discontinuation of broadcasting services on the future development of digital broadcasting in Hong Kong; if it has, of the results, including whether the remaining two digital audio broadcasting corporations, which have not yet launched their services officially, will be affected; whether the authorities will consider intervening proactively at this stage in the discontinuation of broadcasting services by DBC's digital audio channels and carrying out mediation, etc., so as to assist them in resuming broadcasting expeditiously, thereby enabling the public to continue to have more choices in listening to audio broadcasting programmes of originality, and facilitating the sustainable development of digital broadcasting in Hong Kong?

Reply:

President,

In March 2011, the Chief Executive in Council granted Digital Broadcasting Corporation Hong Kong Limited (DBC), Metro Broadcast Corporation Limited (Metro) and Phoenix U Radio Limited (Phoenix U) sound broadcasting licences to provide digital audio broadcasting (DAB) services. The three commercial broadcasters, together with Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK), provide a total of 18 DAB channels in phases. As an independent statutory regulatory body, the Communications Authority (CA) is responsible for monitoring the licensees' compliance with the requirements of the relevant legislation and licence conditions.

The sound broadcasting licences of the three commercial operators require them to formally launch their service within 18 months after the licence grant date (i.e. by September 21, 2012). In the licence of DBC, the company is required to provide seven 24-hour programme channels (including a "Talk Radio" Channel, an Ethnic Minorities Channel and two Music Channels, and three other channels which can be a News and Market Update Channel, Leisure Life Channel, Community Channel or Music Channel) at its formal launch. DBC soft launched its services in August 2011 and had formally launched its services by the deadline as required by the licence. Meanwhile, the other three DAB operators (i.e. Metro, Phoenix U and RTHK) have also formally launched a total of seven programme channels, and this number will progressively increase to 11.

The Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA) received a written notification in the afternoon of October 10 from DBC on matters relating to its cessation of operation as from 8pm that day. Since other relevant information was not provided in DBC's written notification, OFCA wrote to DBC immediately that evening to restate the licence requirements and request DBC to provide detailed information. In the afternoon of October 12, OFCA received a written notification from DBC that it would resume broadcasting on October 15. OFCA had written to DBC on the same day to seek more details on its resumption of broadcasting and remind DBC of its obligations to comply with the licence conditions and the Telecommunications Ordinance (Cap. 106). After receiving the reply from DBC and gaining more details of the incident, OFCA will take appropriate follow-up actions in accordance with licence conditions and the Telecommunications Ordinance. According to the Broadcasting (Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance (Cap. 391) and the relevant licence, CA may impose penalties, such as financial penalty or suspension of licence, if any breach in licence conditions is established.

Since we became aware of the disagreement among the shareholders of DBC, we had followed up closely on developments, maintained contact with its management, and reminded the company to comply with licence conditions. The Commerce and Economic Development Bureau had also twice written to DBC for clarification on media reports, and met with DBC management upon request for more than once. However, we reiterate that individual licensee has the responsibility to handle its internal affairs properly. It is inappropriate for the Administration to interfere with the internal operation of media organisations, nor to play the role of commercial mediator to resolve disagreements on capital injection among the shareholders of a private company. We have time and again appealed that the shareholders of DBC should take into account the expectations and interests of the audience and to resolve their disagreement in a pragmatic manner. Relevant parties can lodge complaints relating to broadcasting services to the independent CA through established mechanism for investigation and follow-up.

We reiterate that it has all along been the Government's policy to support the development of DAB and to strive to enhance the service standard of DAB. This is a clear policy which remains unchanged notwithstanding the recent incidents. Since the grant of the DAB licences, the Government has implemented a series of supporting measures to promote the development of DAB, including the development of infrastructure (e.g. allocating over $46 million to install re-broadcasting system for DAB in 11 Government tunnels, allowing the increase in the transmission power after frequency coordination with the Mainland Authorities, etc.) and organising promotional and publicity activities.

DAB is a new broadcasting service. The recent disagreement among shareholders of DBC has resulted in operational problems in the company and affected the development of DAB. But RTHK and the other two commercial broadcasters are currently providing DAB service according to their plan or licence requirements. We hope that the audience will give time and space for this new service to continue to develop.

Wednesday, October 17, 2012