重要演辭及資料



立法會七題:流動電話的識別碼

以下為今日(十二月十二日)立法會會議上單仲偕議員的提問和商務及經濟發展局局長蘇錦樑的書面答覆:

問題:

據悉,由於智能流動電話轉售價值甚高,流動電話的失竊及搶奪案件近年大幅上升;該等罪案在二○一一年有5 787宗,較前一年的4 892宗上升18%。為遏止該等罪案,不少海外國家(例如新加坡、英國、澳洲、法國及德國)已設立資料庫,貯存遺失或被盜的流動電話的「移動通訊國際識別碼」(識別碼),而當地的流動電話服務營辦商不會就該等流動電話提供服務。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)鑑於設立識別碼資料庫可以令盜竊及搶奪得來的流動電話的回收價值因電話不能在本地使用而下降,從而有助減少有關罪行,當局會否重新考慮設立該資料庫,並將資料庫公開,以便市民及回收商人在購入二手流動電話前可以查閱;

(二)當局會否考慮修訂《電訊條例》(第106章)或《盜竊罪條例》(第210章),明文禁止修改流動電話的識別碼;及

(三)鑑於現時流動電話服務營辦商的服務牌照有一項條款訂明,若通訊事務管理局發出指示,它們不得為擁有或使用盜竊得來或懷疑盜竊得來的無線電通訊器材的人士提供服務,該局(或其前身電訊管理局)曾否發出該等指示;若否,原因為何?

答覆:

主席:

議員提出的問題部分涉及保安局的工作範疇,在諮詢該局後,我綜合回覆如下:

(一)當局留意到一些外地的政府部門或通訊服務提供者設立了中央資料庫,利用流動電話內置的「移動通訊國際識別碼」(識別碼),防止失竊流動電話在當地再被使用。早於二○○四年,警方已向前電訊管理局(即現時的通訊事務管理局辦公室(通訊辦))了解於香港成立識別碼資料庫以防止失竊流動電話再被使用的技術可行性。經向警方了解匪徒的犯案手法及作初步的技術研究後,通訊辦告知警方在本港成立識別碼資料庫以防止失竊流動電話再被使用,從而減低匪徒盜竊及搶掠流動電話的誘因的效果成疑。原因包括:

第一,流動電話的識別碼是可以被輕易地更改的,因此以原來的識別碼防止失竊流動電話再被使用未必奏效;

第二,部分流動電話生產商出產的流動電話並沒有內置有效的識別碼(如整批出產的流動電話均使用同一識別碼或使用非獨一無二的識別碼),因此如流動電話服務營辦商不向內置某個識別碼的流動電話提供服務,有機會對其他內置了同一識別碼的流動電話之使用者造成影響;及

第三,在香港失竊的流動電話很可能會被運出香港以外地區使用,即使本港設立了識別碼資料庫亦不能有效減少盜竊及搶掠流動電話罪行。

與此同時,隨着現時智能電話的普及以及相關技術的日趨成熟,用戶可以透過自行安裝保安軟件,或使用流動電話服務營辦商所提供的保安服務計劃,在遺失智能電話的情況下追蹤失機、鎖機及遙距刪除電話資料。這些軟件或計劃的應用漸趨普遍,不但令使用盜竊及搶掠得來的智能電話的難度有所增加,亦能保障流動電話上的私人資料免被竊取,而且在失竊的流動電話被運往香港以外地區後也能夠發揮其保安作用,比設立識別碼資料庫及相關系統令失竊或被盜的流動電話不能在本地使用更具效益。

(二)如上文所述,即使設立識別碼資料庫,失竊的流動電話在毋須修改識別碼的情況下仍可在香港以外地區繼續使用。再者,有部分流動電話生產商沒有在流動電話內置獨一無二的識別碼,令識別碼不能有效地識別每一部獨立的流動電話,因此禁止修改流動電話的識別碼並不能對防止流動電話失竊發揮有效作用,故當局現時無意對《電訊條例》(第106章)或《盜竊罪條例》(第210章)作有關修訂。

(三)如上文第一部分回覆所述,以識別碼驗證及確認失竊流動電話存在各種技術問題,因此通訊事務管理局並未曾根據問題所述的牌照條款發出禁止提供服務的指示。

2012年12月12日(星期三)

Speeches and Presentations



LCQ7: International Mobile Equipment Identity numbers of mobile phones

Following is a question by the Hon Sin Chung-kai and a written reply by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, at the Legislative Council meeting today (December 12):

Question:

It has been learnt that, owing to the high resale value of smart mobile phones, the number of cases of theft and snatching of mobile phones has risen substantially in recent years. There were 5 787 cases of such crimes in 2011, representing an increase of 18% as compared with 4 892 cases in the preceding year. In order to crack down on such crimes, quite a number of overseas countries, eg Singapore, the United Kingdom, Australia, France and Germany, have set up databases to keep the International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) numbers of lost or stolen mobile phones, and the local mobile phone service operators in those countries will not provide services to such mobile phones. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) as setting up an IMEI database may reduce the recycling value of stolen or snatched mobile phones because they cannot be used locally, and thus may help reduce such crimes, whether the authorities will reconsider setting up such a database and making it public, so that members of the public and recyclers may access it for reference before purchasing second-hand mobile phones;

(b) whether the authorities will consider amending the Telecommunications Ordinance (Cap. 106) or the Theft Ordinance (Cap. 210) to expressly prohibit the alteration of IMEI numbers of mobile phones; and

(c) as there is a condition in the licences of mobile phone service operators which prescribes that the licensees shall, where directed by the Communications Authority (CA), refuse to provide service to any person who possesses or uses a radiocommunications apparatus which is stolen or suspected stolen, whether CA (or its predecessor, the Office of the Telecommunications Authority) has ever issued such directions; if not, of the reasons for that?

Reply:

President,

Part of the Member's question relates to the programme areas of the Security Bureau (SB). Having consulted the SB, my consolidated reply is as follows:

(a) The Administration is aware that some overseas government departments or communications service providers have set up central databases of the built-in International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) numbers of mobile phones to prevent the reuse of stolen mobile phones. As early as in 2004, the Police approached the former Office of the Telecommunications Authority (now the Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA)) to understand the technical feasibility of setting up an IMEI database to prevent the reuse of stolen mobile phones in Hong Kong. After understanding from the Police the modus operandi of culprits and conducting preliminary technical assessment, OFCA informed the Police that the effectiveness of setting up an IMEI database in reducing the culprits' incentives for theft and snatching of mobile phones by preventing the reuse of stolen mobile phones was in doubt. The reasons include:

Firstly, the IMEI number of a phone can be changed easily. Hence, it may not be effective to rely on the original IMEI numbers of the stolen mobile phones to prevent them from being reused;

Secondly, some of the mobile phone manufacturers do not embed valid IMEI numbers in the mobile phones (eg all mobile phones manufactured in the same lot may share the same IMEI number or may be embedded with non-unique IMEI numbers). Therefore, if mobile service operators refuse to provide service to a mobile phone with a particular IMEI number, users of other mobile phones which share the same IMEI number may also be affected; and

Thirdly, mobile phones lost in Hong Kong may likely be shipped out of Hong Kong for use. Thus, the setting up of an IMEI database in Hong Kong would not be effective in reducing the crimes of theft and snatching of mobile phones.

Meanwhile, with the increasing pervasiveness of smart phones and the advancement of relevant technologies, users of such phones may install mobile security software by themselves or subscribe to security service plans provided by mobile service operators in order to locate their lost or stolen smart phones, lock the devices or remotely delete the data on the lost phones. As the applications of such software and plans become increasingly popular, not only would it become more difficult to reuse stolen and snatched mobile phones, but it would also improve the protection against theft of personal information. In addition, the security effects of these alternatives will continue even when the stolen mobile phones are shipped out of Hong Kong, making them more effective solutions than setting up an IMEI database and relevant systems by which the mobile phones can only be made inoperable locally.

(b) As mentioned above, even if the IMEI database is set up, stolen mobile phones can still be used outside Hong Kong without the need of altering the IMEI numbers. Moreover, some mobile phone manufacturers do not embed unique IMEI numbers in mobile phones, rendering the IMEI numbers ineffective in identifying individual mobile phones. As a result, prohibiting the alteration of IMEI numbers of mobile phones cannot effectively prevent the theft of mobile phones. Hence, the Administration currently has no intention to make relevant amendments to the Telecommunications Ordinance (Cap. 106) nor the Theft Ordinance (Cap. 210).

(c) As mentioned in part (a) of the reply, verification and identification of stolen mobile phones by means of IMEI numbers involve various kinds of technical problems. Therefore, the Communications Authority has not issued any directions to prohibit the provision of services under the licence condition mentioned in the question.

Wednesday, December 12, 2012